21-Day Sugar Detox book review!

I had the privilege of receiving an early release copy of the 21-Day Sugar Detox book that comes out next Tuesday, October 29th. The author, Diane Sanfilippo, that wrote this book is the same author of Practical Paleo, which is the first Paleo book I had purchased before I started my Paleo journey. I also highly recommend buying that book as well. The 21DSD book was first an e-book that came out a couple of years ago and Diane has made it into an easy to use book that outlines the program’s guidelines and provides detailed information on helping you get through the 21 days and beyond.

Since receiving this book a couple of weeks ago I have only made one recipe from it, so far. Isweetandspciy2 know, I am a total slacker, but in my defense it wasn’t the perfect timing because I was in “marathon mode” and I couldn’t really focus on anything else. Fortunately, I am now back to my normal life and in the next couple weeks I am going to try many of the recipes in the book. The one recipe I did make was very simple but also very good! The total time it took me was 60 minutes and that was from prepping/chopping to sitting down at the table to eat it. I was very proud of myself because usually when a recipe says it takes only 30 minutes it usually takes me triple the time because I am a slow chopper and that is always my weakness.

photoshotofchicken

The recipe for the hot and sweet ginger-garlic chicken can be found here.

Don’t get scared!

Don’t get scared by the title of this book. I know many people associate the word “detox” with extreme “dieting” cleanses (for example, the cayenne, lemon, water detox or the juice cleanse). This detox is the exact opposite! The program is based on eating WHOLE FOODS and by the end of the 21 days being able to get rid of your sugar cravings.

Outline of the book

(Divided into 3 sections)

1. Program basics:

Science of sugar, 21-DSD preparation checklist, what to expect day-by-day, supplement recommendations, daily success log, replacing foods (guide), dining out (guide)

2. Different levels and meal plans:

Deciding which level works for you, Level 1, 2, & 3 (21-day meal plan, the yes/no foods, energy modifications, autoimmune modifications)level2meal

3. Easy recipes:

over 90+ recipes( from coconut milk smoothies to grain-free banola to almond butter cups), includes printable shopping lists that follow each meal plan

pancakes

 

Bonus material

  • guide to figuring out your carb count
  • 15 egg-free breakfast ideas
  • starchy carbohydrate vegetables
  • websites and blogs
  • and much more!

Best feature!

One of the best features of this book is the 21DSD preparation checklist. She provides detailed instructions on what to do in the 7 days leading up to-day 1 of the detox. She makes it fool-proof so you can succeed through out the whole 21 days.

prepchecklist

This blog post doesn’t do the book justice as to how informative this book really is. Even if you don’t want to commit to the 21 days then just buy it so you can get a better understanding of how sugar really affects your whole body and find some great recipes along the way.

Most Important!

My own advice if you want to give this 21DSD a chance is to PLAN AND PREP your meals at the beginning of each week. It is vital for any type of lifestyle change if you want it to be successful and make the change last long-term.

My own experience

As some of you remember I did attempt this 21dsd back in April of this year (go here, here  here or here for some of my #21dsd posts) and it didn’t go completely as I planned. By the end of the first week I was sick. I tried to stick with the program as much as I could. It was difficult because when you are sick you don’t normally feel like eating your “normal” foods. Even though I didn’t follow the program as strict as I wanted to.  In the end I did accomplish what I had hoped the program would help me with: stopping my sugar cravings! Still to this day, I don’t get many “sweet cravings”. I used to have a huge sweet tooth, where I would get angry if I didn’t have my chocolate or my cookie in the afternoon and evening. Now don’t get me wrong I still indulge in sweets, but it isn’t because I am craving them. I am eating sweets now just because they are in the house. The irony of it all is that I am the one buying these sweet treats!  Since my marathon I have completely gone off the Paleo wagon! My sweets to regular food ratio is completely out of balance. This is why I have decided to give the 21DSD another go at it!

November 4th is going to be day 1 of the next round of the 21-Day Sugar Detox for ME!! Will you join me?

I have a board on Pinterest completely dedicated to the 21-Day sugar detox with tons of recipes!!

Now since you have all the information, go out and buy it already!!! I promise you won’t regret it! Do it for your own health and your family’s health!

Amazon.com

Barnesandnobles.com

Would you consider buying this book?

It wouldn’t be a post without some pics of Z!!

zplayingwithcars2 zplayingwithcars

This entry was posted in 21 day sugar detox, New Recipes, Product reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 21-Day Sugar Detox book review!

  1. I am so excited to get her book. Thanks for sharing this!!!

  2. Reblogged this on sassyandpaleoish and commented:
    Only 6 more days until Diane’s book comes out. I am super excited to get it!!! Is anyone else grabbing one??? Thanks Onemotherofaday for sharing this! :)

  3. Rebekah and I were talking about this yesterday because we both need to break the sugar in our lives. I am in much more need of it than she is, but we could do it together! My only sentiment is that during my longs runs (of which I have several left) I NEED that sugar filled goody to get me through to the next point and I am not willing to try new things to replace my current candy regimen. Hm. So anyway, this is definitely on the horizon for me, I just have to work through when I can figure it out. Rebekah reminded me that you followed the Whole30, which is similar, except for during your long runs and I think I might try and do that too. :) Yes, your ears should have been red and warm, we were talking about you! :)
    Have a great weekend!

    • While I was training for my races I did make exceptions when it came to my long runs. I still had my gels/chews/Nuun, etc. I also found that yams/sweet potatoes worked well for my pre-long run fuel. Everyone is different though, just have to find what works for you!
      Yes you should do the 21dsd with me!!!they even have a big group on line starting the same day I am(nov 4th). There is also an online forum that will help you along the way!!
      You know now that you say something my ears were burning the other day!! 😃😃❤️
      Have a great weekend!!

  4. Ugh, I’m sure that I DO need to do this. Sugar and sweets are my downfall. The book looks very interesting and I need to look into it. Thanks for the review!

  5. Pingback: 21-Day Sugar Detox Week One: Mini Food Prep! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

