Here goes nothing!

Here is my first official post. I had been putting off writing my first post because, I don’t know, it would require discipline and time. I am very good at procrastinating, ask my husband.

I was going to be organized and professional and write out all the points I wanted to get across, what I wanted to accomplish with this blog in my first post but, than I realized that wouldn’t be real, it would be forced. I am a normal human being. I am a wife, a daughter, a niece, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, and most importantly a mother. I am a SAHM (Stay At Home Mom, I am just learning all these new abbreviations in the world of blogging) that takes care of the house, my son Z, runs errands, works out, runs, and just takes one day at a time.

This last Sunday, I went shopping for a new pair of running shoes. For me buying new running shoes is like when you are a kid waking up Christmas morning! Actually any running gear is like that. I went to a new running store that opened up sometime last fall, Fleet Feet in Rancho Cucamonga, Ca and I received great service. They watched how I walked, barefoot, and then brought out several different brands/types of shoes. The last 3 or so pairs of shoes I have bought have been New Balance. This time I wanted to try a brand I have never had before. The end result were the Asics gel Kayano 19.

zach with new shoes

It’s official, Z approved! I guess I can keep them then.

I am starting my Paleo “diet” over again after taking a week or so off. I hate the word “diet” it makes it sound like you are depriving yourself of something. I will call it a “lifestyle” instead! This time around I am doing things a little differently. I am not going to be as strict as I was the first time around. It is the time of the year where Target carries Robins Eggs and I can’t deprive myself of those, that would be just cruel.robin eggs pic
Secondly, I have added a few different items to my paleo lifestyle in the hopes that it would improve my digestive system and can keep my immune system from over stimulating itself. I added kefir, sauerkraut and Kombucha in my daily diet.

fermented foods pic

I made the mistake of introducing everything all at once for several days and my stomach didn’t appreciate that. I now only incorporate these new items a few times a week and to gradually get my gut accustomed to the new food I am feeding it. I will not get into the reason why I started living paleo in my very first post, I don’t want to bore you this soon, but I will eventually explain the reasoning.

I wasn’t going to make my very first blog so long, but I have to let you in on who my new best friend is. My new best friend is a website called Paleotrack.com. I found this site while surfing the web (people still use that term, right?). The site is created by Mark Sisson. He has written many books on primal living. The site is a food journal for people who are following the paleo lifestyle that provides your daily intake on vitamins, minerals, fat/carb/protein breakdown and my favorite an omega 6/3 ratio and potassium/sodium ratio. These are very important to know while following the paleo lifestyle. The site is also free to use, no fees!! Hope you enjoy.

Have a great week everyone! Who knows I might get crazy and write another post midweek! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Here goes nothing!

  1. Amber Valenzuela says:

    Great first blog Lindsey!! I look forward to reading more! 🙂

  2. Marlene says:

    Interesting and informative.

  3. Pingback: My ONE year Blogaversary!! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

