Before the sun comes up

This morning my alarm clock goes off at 5:15, then at 5:20, I could have waited for the one at 5:25 to go off, but I didn’t. I knew if I waited for the last alarm I wouldn’t get out of bed. So, it is now 5:35, I come downstairs to get my running gear toget018her. I think I hear the rain outside, I feel a little twinge in my knee, I feel sleepy, it will be too cold out, my hands will be freezing out there, I am looking for any and every excuse to not have to walk out the front door and turn on my watch and iPod and just go.  I know if I don’t go for a run now I will regret it for the rest of the day.  I then stopped making excuses and walked out the front door, running down the dark street in a light mist, my lungs filling with the cool crisp morning air, hearing the pounding of my shoes striking the asphalt and knowing this is where I need to be at this moment in time.  Once I get about half a mile out, I start getting into a comfortable pace, listening to my music and am glad that I walked out the front door.

If I make an excuse each time I have to go for a run or workout then I would never do anything.  It takes a lot of will and determination to set a goal for yourself and to keep that goal, but once you reach your goal all the hard work is worth it in the end. Before the sun comes up, I am one day closer to reaching my goal.

 

To keep my runs fresh, I like changing up my route and my playlist. I am looking for some new song suggestions, preferably upbeat and high energy.

My current running playlist is:

  • Ho Hey –  The Lumineers
  • Everybody Talks – Neon Trees
  • Glad you came – The Wanted
  • Lights – Ellie Goulding
  • Sweet Nothing – Calvin Harris
  • One More Night – Maroon 5
  • I Cry – Flo Rida
  • Daylight- Maroon 5
  • Beauty and a Beat – Justin Bieber
  • Wild Ones – Flo Rida
  • Pumped Up Kicks – Foster the People
  • We Are Young – Fun.
  • Let Me Love You – Ne-Yo
  • Halo – Beyonce
  • Forever – Chris Brown
  • Tell Me- Smilez & Southstar
  • Skyfall – Adele
  • Anything Could Happen – Ellie Goulding

Dont judge me on the Justin Bieber, it is a good song to run to.

 

Do you currently have a goal you are working on?

What drives you to keep reaching for your goal?

What songs get you motivated?

I encourage any comments, suggestions, questions, etc. Even if you don’t have anything to contribute to the questions above, leave any random thought because it might give me inspiration for an upcoming post.

Paleo Pad Thai recipe coming soon…..Is the anticipation killing you?

In the coming months, I will be featuring posts with my favorite running gear, kitchen appliances, paleo products, cookbooks, toddler toys/books and many more!!

Stay Tuned!

Have to go, sorry if there are any grammatical errz standing on chairors, Z has decided to be a little daredevil!

 

 

This entry was posted in playlist, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Before the sun comes up

  1. Kathy says:

    No Z ain’t being a daredevil just a kid. Wish I could show you pictures of Jon when he was that age he’s scrunched up on a shelf of a bookcase we have standing in a washing machine and hanging upside down like a monkey from his bunk-bed he had when he was little. Enjoy all that he does because once he’s grown you can never recapture those moments and they grow up so fast. Spend as much time as you can with him as when he grows up he’ll start hanging out with others and you won’t see him as much.

  2. debrunsfit says:

    I love your writing style. I felt like I was heading out the door with you for your morning run! 🙂
    My spring goals are my three upcoming races: GW Parkway 10-Miler, Virginia Wine Country Half-Marathon, and TKO Melanoma 5K.
    Having raised two sons, the photo of your son looks like any other photo taken “in the day of a mom of a son!!!” They are such little daredevils!

  3. Pingback: Pin-it Party!! | onemotherofaday

  4. I love a lot of the songs in your playlist but I don’t have them on my itunes yet. Pinning this!

Leave a Reply

