The wait is over!

The other night I wanted to try a new recipe, paleo of course, to potentially add to my meal rotation. I found this recipe out of one of my favorite paleo books “Well Fed: Paleo recipes for people who love to eat” by Melissa Joulwan. I have used  this book so much that I have to use a binder clip to keep the pages from falling out. You can find many of her recipes that are in the book on her website, www.theclothesmakethegirl.com. I love her book because she makes eating paleo very easy. At least 2 times a week I spend prepping veggies and cooking any meat that I will need for my meals I am planning. I try to only cook 3 times a week and get at least 2 meals out of each recipe so I am not cooking daily.  Since I had prepped some of the ingredients the previous day, while Z was napping it is always a race against time to get things done while he is sleeping, I didn’t have to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.

Here is the recipe:   Pad Thai (paleo)

  • 1 batch Sunshine Sauce (I doubled this recipe-had a little left over so I used it to season Z’s chicken for his lunch the next day. Or can use it for a salad dressing)
  • 2 large eggs (3 extra-large from Costco)
  • 2 tsp coconut aminos (4 tsp)
  • 2 tsp + 1 tsp coconut oil (4 tsp +2)
  • 1/2 medium onion thinly sliced about 1/2 cup (1 medium)
  • 1 cup snap peas-thinly sliced lengthwise (didn’t have snap peas on hand, used 2 cups shredded cabbage and 1 cup steamed broccoli)
  • 2 cups roasted spaghetti squash (4 cups)
  • 6-8 ozs grilled/baked chicken breasts or thighs (about 16 oz of chicken breasts)

opt. garnishes: chopped toasted cashews or almonds, sunflower seeds, sliced scallions or minced cilantro

Sunshine Sauce (credit: Wel Fed book):

  • 2 Tbl lime juice (4 Tbl)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (2)
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (kept it the same since I was going to fed Z too)
  • 1 Tbl coconut aminos (2)
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger (1/2)
  • 1/2 tsp rice vinegar (1 tsp)
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seed butter-no sugar added (used only 1/3 almond butter -raw)
  • 1/4 coconut milk (1/2 cup)
  1. Combine all ingredients except the coconut milk into food processor until well blended
  2. add coconut milk, blend until it is smooth

The original recipe only serves 2, so I doubled the recipe, those numbers reflected to the right of the original ingredients.

Roasted spaghetti squash recipe (credit: Well Fed book):

oven temp: 375

1 spaghetti squash –

  1. cut in half lengthwise
  2. seeds scooped out
  3. cut side face down on baking dish
  4. fill baking dish with about 1/2 cup of water
  5. cover with foil
  6. bake 30-40 mins- the time can vary-start checking it at 30 mins and  continue baking until the squash is fork tenderspaghetti squash 1
  7. once fork tender, let cool until able to handle, use fork to scrape the insides, will resemble spaghetti like noodles

Instructions for assembling the Pad Thai:

  1. scramble the eggs and coconut aminos together then pour into hot skillet with 3-4 tsp coconut oil
  2. let eggs spread out like a pancake, reduce heat to low and cover skillet for a couple of minutes until the bottom begins to brown, flip over and lightly brown other side.
  3. remove eggs from skillet and cut into strips with a sharp knife
  4. add 1-2 tsp coconut oil to same pan, saute onion and snap peas (or any type of veggie you want) until they are crisp-tender
  5. add spaghetti squash, chicken, and cooked egg to pan
  6. cook all ingredients until heated through about 3 minutes
  7. add the sunshine sauce to pan and stir until well blended
  8. sprinkle with desired garnishes and serve!

Here is what my Pad Thai turned out like:

017

It didn’t turn out quite like the picture in the book, it looks like a hot mess, but I promise you it tastes delicious. By the way, my husband hates when I use the term “hot mess”, so I try to use it as often as possible. 🙂  My one piece of advice would be to make sure you squeeze out as much liquid as you can from the spaghetti squash. I think that is why the recipe turned out looking like a “hot mess”.

I do have to share with you one last thing before I go. I subscribe to organic1lb onion produce delivery company and in my box last week was a 1 lb 5 oz yellow onion and yes I weighed it. They told me I was going getting 1 lb of onions, but I didn’t realize it was just 1 onion that weighed over 1 pound.

Better call it a night, going to lose an hour of sleep tonight!

Don’t forget to change your clocks 1 hour forward!

 

Have you ever forgotten to change your clocks back during day light savings time? If so, did it make you late for something?

 

 

This entry was posted in chicken, paleo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The wait is over!

  1. Marlene says:

    What is coconut zminos? Onion looks HUGE?

    • It is a soy-free type of soy sauce. You can’t tell the difference, but you can easily sub regular soy sauce. You can find coconut aminos in the international section of you grocery store. Yes, I couldn’t believe how big the onion was either.

  2. debrunsfit says:

    Thanks for the spaghetti squash recipe! I’ve been meaning to try it, but never think to look the recipe up.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Food Prep, but on Monday 5/6-5/10/2013 | onemotherofaday

  4. megbek says:

    Just saw this from your post today linking to it. Pad Thai is my FAVORITE FAVORITE Thai food (if that’s even what it really is) and I adore spaghetti squash! Good idea to make the noodles dry, they are always fairly soggy which makes spaghetti a hot mess, also! 🙂 Bookmarking this page for a night when I’m craving it without trying to be bad about it! YAY! So happy about this!!!!

  5. Pingback: Monday Food Prep: Week of July 21-27 | onemotherofaday

  6. Pingback: A Day in the Life of……One Mother of a Day | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

