It is a marathon, not a sprint!

Today for lunch Z and I met my husband at El Torito. I had gone online to their menu to make sure there was something I could eat that would be paleo-friendly and luckily there was. I had their grilled chicken and avocado salad with no beans. It was very tasty. I would have taken a picture, but I was too busy digging into the salad with one hand and using my other hand to fend off Z from flinging food everywhere. We rarely go out to eat anymore, even fast food I couldn’t even tell you the last time I went through a drive thru. One of the reasons is because it isn’t relaxing going out with Z to a restaurant, but the main reason is I would always feel so bloated, tired and get headaches after eating out.  Two months ago, if you were to ask me what I would order at El Torito, it would definitely not have been a salad.

It is funny how things change in life.  I chose this new lifestyle for several reasons. One being, I was tired of being tired all the time and having no energy during the day. Another reason, I wasn’t eating as healthy as I should have been. Being that I am a runner you would think I would have watched what I put in my body, but that was not the case. When I started eating paleo I did a 30 day challenge which was a strict paleo lifestyle, except for the half and half that I would put in my coffee, I had to live a little. Now I am at about 75% paleo living on most days. If I have some chocolates or a couple of cookies (or a whole box of girl scout shortbread cookies, samething) I don’t feel bad or that I failed, I just move on and continue with my day. If I want this paleo lifestyle to last long-term I can’t always be so strict with eating paleo 100% of the time, otherwise this will never work. Lastly, I went paleo because I was diagnosed with chronic autoimmune urticaria and angio edema. I was on several medications, one being a powerful drug that could potentially affect the kidneys and liver and that I could only be on a short time, and I was desperate to find some relief. After hours researching the condition, the word “paleo” kept popping up. I did more investigating and decided to give eating paleo a try. I have been symptom free for over 3 months now. I can’t say if eating paleo helped or it was just a coincidence, I don’t know and I may never know the answer. I will probably never know the answer as to why I even had this condition to begin with, but I have come to accept it and have moved on with my life. If anything good has come out of this whole situation is that I now am living a much healthier and happier life!

So, what is paleo?

  • sugar-free
  • gluten-free
  • dairy-free
  • legume-free
  • grain-free

I know what you are thinking, than what can I possible eat? That is the reaction that I get from most people. In fact, eating paleo is easier than the traditional american diet (high carbs, high sugar, processed foods, chemicals added). You know you are eating paleo when, you don’t have to read the ingredients on a food label because there is NO label, it is a whole food.  

Some examples of paleo approved foods:

  • whole eggs
  • salmon
  • whole chicken
  • carrots
  • beets
  • spinach
  • almonds
  • sunflower seeds

 

You get the idea, eating paleo is a very simple plan. Getting used to eating this way takes some time and patience, but once you start incorporating these foods into your daily diet it will soon become second nature. It is a marathon, not a sprint.

 

 

A great site that I refer to often is www.balancedbites.com. She has guides that you  can print out for paleo approved foods, food quality and labels, healthy cooking fats, sweeteners, gluten and paleo carbs. There is so much information on eating paleo that I am still learning about. The basic concept is eating whole unprocessed foods.

 

I know I didn’t include any pictures in this post, I will make up for it in the next one!

Do you know anyone that has an autoimmune condition?

Have you had a make a lifestyle change?

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It is a marathon, not a sprint!

  1. Kathy says:

    Thanks Lindsey. That actually sounds like what I need now that I’m diabetic but I am to lazy. I hate looking at labels and trying to figure out if its what I want to eat or seeing all the carbs it has. When i was first diagnosed a year ago I did really good writing stuff down and keeping track of my carbs but then I got tired and said what the heck. I thought I would be able to get off the insulin but was told no that there was something with my kidneys thats why they took me off the pill and put me on the insulin. Maybe I’ll look into the Paleo stuff. Love you guys.

    • I think eating paleo would actually help control your insulin better because it is low carb and the paleo approved foods are designed to help distribute the amount of insulin your body produces and the rate insulin is processed in the body. I used to always be hungry an hour or so after I would eat a meal, I would feel weak and light headed. I couldn’t understand why because I was eating good sized meals, but I always felt tired. It is something to look into….I never thought i could change my eating habits as much as I have, but I can’t imagine going back to my old ways either.

  2. Pingback: Friday’s Favorite Five: Favorite Paleo “foods” while training for a marathon | onemotherofaday

  3. Pingback: Whole30: What, How, Why, When and Where? | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

