Day 3 Level 3 : 21 DSD

Day 3. I cheated today, my sweet tooth was giving me a real hard time. I had 3 pieces of fruit; 2 green-tipped bananas and 1 green apple. Ok, so I didn’t technically cheat but, under the 21DSD protocol they want you to limit your fruit intake to only 1 piece of fruit (green tipped banana or green apple). I made these frozen bananas with almond butter and coconut chips for a treat and I ended up eating the whole banana, they were soooooo good! I could have eaten  like 10 of these frozen banana treats.

Today I did really struggle with trying to overcome my sweet cravings. It also didn’t help when I was at Sprouts and decided to walk through their bakery, just to see what they had, and could smell the sweet, sugary baked goods. I don’t know why I like torturing myself like that. I was happy that I did have enough will power to walk away from all the treats the bakery had on their shelves. I am already making a mental list of things I want to have when I complete this detox. Is that bad?

I had a headache all day, it varied in strength throughout the day. At one point before lunch my headache got worse so I made a smoothie thinking it was due to being hungry but, my headache continued well after lunch. I did have some relief during the afternoon after I had my afternoon coffee. Everything is better with coffee, that is my motto anyways.

Exercise/Food for today:

3 mile run:  total time-29:54 ;  9:58 /mile pace  —avg. Heart Rate-163 /max HR- 183

***Felt very tired, had no energy and my legs were dead–which would explain my         high AHR. My AHR is usually in the 140’s.

Pre-breakfast: 2 cups coffee w/ paleo creamer001

Breakfast: 2 egg omelet with 1/2 cup baby spinach sautéed in bacon fat; 2 slices of bacon; 1/3 cup roasted veggies (golden beets/sweet potatoes) ; 4 ozs homemade bone broth 003

1 hour Pilates

Midmorning snack: Pumpkin pie coffee smoothie (1 cup cold coffee, 1/2 cup pumpkin puree, 1/4 cup ice, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1 green tipped banana, 2 spoonfuls of coconut milk (canned))004

Lunch: chicken power salad w/ EVOO, lemon juice, dash of salt; olives; 2 dill pickles; 2 ozs kombucha (wild berry)

***I did add an extra hard-boiled egg, olives and 1/2 avocado to my salad today. Wanted to get some extra protein and healthy fats for lunch hoping that would help with my headache.006

Afternoon snack: 2 cups coffee w/ paleo creamer; 1 whole frozen banana w/ raw almond butter/ coconut chips008

**It is hard to see the coconut chips sandwiched in between the banana but, don’t worry it is there. These are my new favorite treats!

20 minute walk with Z. It was a beautiful day today!010

Dinner – Part I: Thanksgiving frittata (bacon/olives/red bell pepper/spinach) from The Paleo Mom. She has a lot of good paleo friendly recipes on her blog! 013

Dinner- Part II: 1/2 cup roasted root veggies (golden beets/sweet potatoes) ; 1 medium green apple + 1 TBL raw almond butter

020 019

 

Bedtime snack: Bedtime tea ; 10 or so of my tea infused gelatin snacks021

 

As I am finishing up this post my headache is almost gone so, hopefully that is a good sign for tomorrow. This whole sugar detox has really been eye-opening for me because I didn’t realize how much of a sweet tooth I had and hoping that after finishing the detox I will be able to have my sweet cravings more under control.

 

Have you ever had to give up something? Or would you ever be able to give up something, even if it were for 21 days?  

This entry was posted in 21 day sugar detox, paleo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 3 Level 3 : 21 DSD

  1. Aunt Amy says:

    I gave up cigarettes, and replaced it with Oreo Cookies and the drug Chantix…it worked but I should have given up Oreo’s too. Took months to feel “normal” without really wanting a cigarette, so I don’t know if I could do it again or not. They say it takes 21 days to make or break a habit, I think it took longer than that…good job Lindsey…you keep rocking the Paleo & Sugar Free lifestyle.

    • yumm…I haven’t had an oreo cookie in years. I will add that to my mental list of things to eat after my detox. It is very hard to break a habit that you have had for so long. Coffee is one thing that I thought I could never give up but, then when I was pregnant with Z I had to completely stop and that was a lot harder than I thought it would be. I did still have 1 caffeine drink a week, just to keep my sanity. 🙂 Thank you Aunt Amy!

  2. wantneko04 says:

    I could eat entire sleeves of Oreos, which is why I can’t bring myself to buy them. Way to go on giving up sugar for so long! You have so much self-control! 😀
    We both had headaches yesterday, too! I think it’s because of the crazy weather changes lately. (Rain, overcast, hot, cold, and back to hot). I tend to drink a lot of tea when that happens (it’s a natural diuretic). Chamomile tea (specifically the “Sleepytime” variety) always helps.

Leave a Reply

