Day 5: 21DSD

Day 5. Today could have gone better and could have gone worse. It started with not running the 4 miles that I was supposed to run this morning because I convinced myself that I didn’t need to run. Than about 20 minutes later I was already regretting my decision not to run. Good news, I didn’t have a headache again, 2 straight days. Bad news, my allergies started bothering me (not my autoimmune hives) and by the afternoon they were really irritating me. I already take 2 X 150 mg of Allegra and  4 X 50 mg of hydroxizine (prescription antihistamine) so I don’t know what else I could take to relieve my symptoms. The other bad news, I slipped up a little on my detox. I stopped for an iced latte at Coffee Bean and had some trail mix that included raisins and sweetened banana chips. I promise tomorrow I will do better.

Today I had gone back and forth as to whether I should even continue finishing this detox. The allergies really threw me off my routine for some reason. I was questioning why I was even doing this detox to begin with and who would care if I finished or not. I then talked myself into continuing the detox, that today’s slip ups wouldn’t discourage me from continuing on and finishing my 21-day sugar detox. I feel like doing this detox is similar to running. You are consistently reminding yourself why you are doing this in the first place; so much mental strength needed.

Enough with my complaining for the day. Here is my food/exercise for the day:

Pre-breakfast: 2 cups coffee w/ paleo creamer008

 

Breakfast: 1 egg w/ 1/2 cup baby spinach sautéed in bacon fat; 1/2 avocado; 1 hard-boiled egg; 1/2 cup roasted veggies (beets/sweet potatoes)009

 

1 hour cardio/interval training

 

Pre-lunch snack: Grande Iced Americano w/ my homemade paleo creamer (at home)011

 

Lunch: leftover frittata; 1/3 cup roasted veggies; 10 black olives; 2 dill pickles; 8 ozs kombucha; 4 FCLO 013

 

After lunch: peppermint tea w/lemon/fresh ginger/honey (just a little)016

 

Afternoon snack: Iced latte; 1 whole frozen banana treat; 1 single serving of Justin’s almond butter 017

**sorry, no picture of the latte and banana was on the road.

Dinner: leftover fajita chicken salad w/ lime cilantro vinaigrette

**again sorry no picture for this either, will try better with the pics tomorrow.

Bedtime snack: bedtime tea w/lemon/ginger/honey; trail mix (banana chips. raisins, sunflower seeds)

I’m hoping I wake up tomorrow and my allergies are better. This weather has been crazy this week, too much wind!

 

Are there certain times of the year where you get allergies? If so, what do you take to help relieve the symptoms?

This entry was posted in 21 day sugar detox, paleo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 5: 21DSD

  1. megbek says:

    Beets and sweet potatoes together? That actually sounds divine.. How’d you do that?

    • Peeled chopped both and cut them into about 1 inch cubes. Drizzled with olive oil on a foil lined baking sheet. 375 degree oven for total of 50 mins or so. I did cover them with foil for the first 20 mins. I finally learned to use golden beets instead of the red ones. Hope you like them! Enjoy!

  2. Carole Ramke says:

    Hi, Lindsey–I am looking for a few people who have allergies to take my challenge. I am tired of trying to sell my book, How to Stop Colds, Allergies & More, because most people don’t think it can possibly be true. But I just have to get my message out. Would you be willing to read my blog at howtostopcolds.wordpress.com and contact me at my e-mail address listed–about your comments or questions? Maybe in exchange for some solutions to your allergy problems you might help me figure out how to get my message across better?
    My website is http://www.howtostopcolds.com

Leave a Reply

