Day10: 21DSD: Proudest 2 mile run.

Day 10. I am not even going to post my day 9 food because yesterday was a day I don’t want to re-live. I woke up this morning to run my 2 miles as scheduled on my training plan. I didn’t complain, I didn’t make excuses, I didn’t think twice about not running. I was actually looking forward to running this morning, even though it was just 2 miles. At 5:45 this morning I went out for my run alone, wearing my 2013 Surf City half marathon shirt, yet I didn’t feel like I was running alone. I knew that there were others running at that same time somewhere around the country. Those 2 miles were my fastest I have run in a long time and the proudest.  No matter the distance between runners, there is a sense of unity among runners. I knew that I had to give it my all because there are people who my never be able to walk again after yesterday’s events. As long as my body and mind are able and willing, there are no excuses anymore. I will never take for granted what I have in my life.

IMG_2525

Ran in this shirt for my 2 miler this morning

IMG_2526

Wore this shirt for the rest of the day. This was from my 2nd race I had ever ran.
April 19, 2009 A Run Through Redlands

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have decided to make a moderation in my 21DSD in order to be able to complete this detox. The only moderation is to add banana chips and raisins for snacks. I did okay with regards to food.

Food/exercise for today:

2 mile run: 18:28 ; 9:12/mile

Pre-breakfast: coffee w/ paleo creamer023

Breakfast: 2 eggs w/ spinach sautéed in bacon fat; 1/4 cup roasted veggies ( sweet potatoes/carrots); 2 slices of bacon; 1 more cup of coffee w/ paleo creamer024

40 minutes power walking/interval training

Midmorning snack: iced latte

Lunch: Cheerios; 2 slices toast w/ honey and cinnamon

Afternoon snack: coffee w/ paleo creamer; trail mix027

Dinner:    Slow cooker  sauerkraut & beef kielbasa (paleo)  (turned out really good and super easy); homemade applesauce (recipe below): 028 030

  • Peel and roughly chop approx. 11 granny smith apples.
  • Toss apples with lemon juice (approx. 1 TBL) and cinnamon (own preference).
  • Place apples in crock pot on low. approx. 3 1/2 hours.
  • Start checking on them after 2 1/2 hours. Depending on how chunky you want the applesauce.
  • Enjoy!

Bedtime snack: peppermint tea; trail mix; homemade applesauce

 

Z was even sporting his race “onsie” today. He wouldn’t give up the Garmin, he kept taking it off his wrist and putting it back on. Maybe a future elite marathoner, who knows! 🙂

IMG_2537

Z getting ready for his run. His Garmin is locating satellites.

IMG_2531

Z even got a shirt (onsie) when my husband ran his 1st marathon last December!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Did you run today?

If you wore a race shirt, what race was it to? Any special memories from that race?

This entry was posted in 21 day sugar detox, paleo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day10: 21DSD: Proudest 2 mile run.

  1. It’s so sweet that Z wore his race shirt today to honor Boston! I wore my 2010 Boston Marathon jacket.

  2. Pingback: Day 11: 21-DSD=23 Day Sugar Detox | onemotherofaday

  3. Pingback: Day 15, 16 & 17: 21-DSD: In the home stretch w/ a major coffee addiction! | onemotherofaday

  4. Pingback: Day 18, 19 & 20: 21-DSD T-minus 3 days!! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

