Top 5 Friday: Reasons why I love running & why you should too!

After Monday’s tragedy it got me thinking about why I run and why I love to run. Yes, I said it, “LOVE”. I love to run, but I didn’t realize that it is love and not like until this week.

The Top 5 reasons “why I love running and why you should too”:

  1. Community
  2. Freedom
  3. Challenges me
  4. Sense of accomplishment
  5. Makes me stronger

The first one is community, hands down, and especially after this week, showed how strong the running community really is. Even though most of us run solo, when we come together, there is a sense of pride, camaraderie and unity. One of the main reasons why I run in races because it gives me a feeling of unity. It makes me feel not alone, that there are others out there training when I am training.  When there are 10,000+ people lined up at a start of a race  I always get goosebumps all over my body because to have this many people come together for one common goal, to run a race, it feels amazing. It is hard to explain in words to someone who has never ran in a race,  but once you run your first one, you will be hooked for life.

I love the freedom running gives me. To just lace up your shoes and just go. There are no worries, no cares, you just run until you can’t go anymore.

 

“It’s a treat being a runner, out in the world by yourself with not a soul to make you bad tempered or tell you what to do.” -Alan Sillitoe

I love how running challenges me. I never thought I had the mental or physical strength that I do because of running. Everytime I go for a run or run in a race I am being challenged every second of that run. I love the challenge of trying to beat a race time or see how far I can go. runningnevertakesmorethanitgivesback

(source)

I love the feeling of accomplishment; every time I cross the finish line at a race or complete mile 5 on a 5 mile run. I always ask myself when I am waiting in the “corrals” at a race, “why am I here, why did I pay someone so I can run 13.1 miles on public streets, why did I wake up at 4 in the morning to drive an hour away so I can run 13.1 miles?” I always have so many questions for myself at the start, but when I cross that finish line and knowing I give it my all, I don’t have any questions anymore. It was all worth it to have that sense of accomplishment.

pre quote 1

(source)

“You have to wonder at times what you’re doing out there. Over the years, I’ve given myself a thousand reasons to keep running, but it always comes back to where it started. It comes down to self-satisfaction and a sense of achievement.” -Steve Prefontaine

Lastly, I love running because it makes me stronger: mentally, emotionally, physically and psychologically. Every run tests every fiber of my being. peopleaskwhyirun

(Pinterest-under running quotes)

real purpose of runnig

(source)

Why do you love to run?

If you aren’t a runner, what is stopping you from starting? (I can’t, is not an answer!)

This entry was posted in running, Top 5 Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Top 5 Friday: Reasons why I love running & why you should too!

  1. I loved this post, and your reasons why you love to run! I LOVE to run for the same reasons, and I also love to run because it makes me feel care-free, like a child! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Pin-it Party!! | onemotherofaday

  3. Those are ALL great reasons to run. One of my favorites is, there is no drama. It’s just me and the pavement. All the crap of the rest of the days is pushed aside. I always say I wish I could be as optimistic the rest of the day as I am when I’m running….

  4. Pingback: National Running Day + Running Pop Quiz ! | onemotherofaday

  5. Pingback: Move Nourish Believe Blogger Challenge: Week 1 Recap | onemotherofaday

  6. Pingback: National Running Day 6.4.14 {I run because…} | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

