Day 15, 16 & 17: 21-DSD: In the home stretch w/ a major coffee addiction!

I am finally close to the finish line. It is still a ways a way, but I can see it in the distance. After today I have T-minus 6 days until I am done with the 21-DSD, remember I added on 2 additional days because there were a few of them where I was struggling. I haven’t posted in a couple of days because I decided to give you guys a break and me a break too from posting daily. I have actually had a good couple of days; have tried out a few new recipes and ran a great 10-miler on Sunday morning.

 

Exercise/food for Day 15 (Sunday, April 21, 2013):

Pre-run: coffee w/ paleo creamer; 1/2 green-tipped banana; 1/2 cup sweet potato friesday 15 amcoffee day 15 preruncarbs

I totally need to give credit to Samantha over @ http://sweatlikeagirl.wordpress.com/ for the sweet potato fries recipe. I followed her very simple and easy recipe and they came out tasting delicious!!

Sweet potato fries recipe:

  1. slice sweet potatoes in thin (fry-like) strips
  2. Toss with olive oil, cayenne pepper, cinnamon and salt
  3. bake @ 450 for 20 minutes.

Thanks again Samantha!! Go over to her blog and check out her posts about Paleo living, running, living a healthy lifestyle and much much more!!

10 mile run: total time 1 hr 37 mins 35 sec ; 9:45 min/mile ; 159 avg BPM

Post-run: Venti Iced Caramel Latte (Starbucks) –Hey I just ran 10 miles I think I deserved that!

Lunch: 2 eggs w/ baby spinach sautéed in bacon fat/ homemade applesauce

Afternoon: coffee w/ paleo creamer ; trail mix (banana chips, coconut chips, raisins and sunflower seeds)

Dinner: broiled salmon w/ avocado salsa (turned out really good-it is like deconstructed guacamole) ***I didn’t follow the recipe exactly I broiled it on high for 10 mins and left out the coriander (didn’t have any on hand) **still turned out good!**day 15 dinner 4

Bedtime: trail mix

 

Exercise/food for Day 16 (Monday, April 22, 2013):

am: coffee w/ paleo creamerday 16 am coffee

Breakfast: 2 eggs / 1/3 cup sweet potato friesday 16 breakfast

 

1 hour stroller barre (it was killer, I am still feeling it, a day later)

Post-workout: Iced coffee w/ light creamday 16 midmorning coffee

 

Lunch: (leftover) salmon w/olives, lettuce, hard-boiled egg, sunflower seeds and avocado oil/lemon juice dressing ; dill pickles; 6 ozs Kombuchaday 16 lunch

Afternoon: trail mix (banana chips, coconut chips, raisins and sunflower seeds)

Dinner: beef patties (no bun) w/ avocado salsa and pickled radishes ; marinated beets day 16 dinner2 bestone

 

Bedtime: applesauce ; trail mix

 

You have to try the recipe for the marinated beets. I don’t know if it was the way I cooked them or that the balsamic vinegar made them taste that much better. I normally peel and cube them and cook @ 400, but this recipe had me keep the beets whole (skin on) @ 450 for 75 mins ( small beets about 60 mins) and they turned out perfectly. Z even liked them. I do have to keep reminding myself for the next few days when I go to check Z’s diaper not to be alarmed of the pinkish/red hue that comes out of him. Sorry, I should have warned you, that might be a little TMI! Those red beets get me every time! 🙂

 

Exercise/Food for Day 17 (Tuesday, April 23, 2013):

am: large coffee from Coffee Bean – will explain laterday 17 amcoffee

 

Breakfast: 2 eggs / 1/2 cup marinated beetsday 17 breakfast

 

1 hour power walking/ interval-training

Midmorning: Iced Americano w/ light half and halfday 17 iced americano

 

Lunch: Chicken power salad (chicken, 1/2 avocado, black olives, grape tomatoes, 1 hard-boiled egg, red leaf lettuce, spinach) w/ lemon juice/avocado oil dressing ; 6 oz Kombucha (Guava flavor–yummy!) ; 3 dill pickles ; 4 capsules fermented Cod Liver Oilday 17 lunch

 

Afternoon: coffee/ trail mixday17afternooncoffee

Dinner:  Southwest Frittata ; homemade applesauceday17dinner2

**the frittata recipe I used, I found through this blog: http://www.changeofpaceforme.com/2013/04/whole30-day-14.html  In this specific post she used the recipe from this site and modified it a little. I even modified the recipe even more:

  • I omitted the sweet potatoes, garlic and jalapeno (had none at home)
  • Instead of using 12 eggs (per original recipe) I used only 10
  • I switched out the ground beef for mild italian sausage
  • I broiled the frittata on low for 10 mins or until eggs are set, instead of in the oven @ 350. Turned out really good!

You need to make your way over to http://www.changeofpaceforme.com/ . She has tons of paleo friendly recipes. Her blog has given me many new recipe ideas to add to my weekly meal rotation.

Also, need to check out http://everydaypaleo.com/ where the original southwest frittata originated from. I actually have one of her paleo cookbooks and love the easy and simple recipes she has come up with.

Bedtime: tea and trail mix

 

Today did not start well. I go downstairs to make my coffee and I guess I must have bumped the glass decanter  and it falls on the floor and shatters everywhere. My first thought isn’t “oh boy, look at this mess!” it is, “Oh man! what am I going to do about my morning coffee!”. That is a normal response, right? Of course, I cleaned up the glass then made a bee line to my nearest coffee shop, which is Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf. Luckily for me I was already planning to make a trip to Target today, so I picked up a new coffee maker. I was going to just buy a replacement decanter, but for the same price I could get a brand new coffeemaker; I chose the new coffeemaker. day 17 new coffeemaker

 

Z also had a big day today. He got his first drink at Starbucks all for himself.zdrinkingstarbucks Don’t worry, it was one of their non-coffee drinks, strawberries & cream. I, of course, had to take the first sip to make sure it tasted ok. It passed the test, yummy. Z drank about 1/2 of the drink, he was more entertained with flicking the straw with the whipped cream out of the cup and getting it all over himself.

 

 

 

 

Oh boy, have I consumed a lot of coffee in these last 3 days!? No wonder why I have been in a good mood. Everything is better with coffee.

This is completely off topic, but I am in the market for an (inexpensive)  espresso machine. Is there anyone that currently owns one and is happy with their purchase? What is the brand/model? Pros/cons?

Do you think you consume more coffee than me based on this post?

 

This entry was posted in 21 day sugar detox, paleo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 15, 16 & 17: 21-DSD: In the home stretch w/ a major coffee addiction!

  1. Aunt Amy says:

    Heck ya everything is better with coffee…

  2. Yay that your 21-day detox is almost over! How were your pickled radishes?

    I don’t like coffee, so my coffee intake has been less than yours! 🙂

  3. Kimberly Morganstern says:

    I agree, coffee is better with everything! That frittata looks so yummy, I must try out the recipe! Keep up the good work! Just sixteen days!

  4. Kimberly Morganstern says:

    Oops, I meant six more days! Thank you, goodness!

  5. megbek says:

    You are doing SO well with your sugar detox – and all your meals are things I would eat. Really, you’re going to be a large part of my reasoning when I decide to do this. And hey, coffee is what makes the world go around. I think you’re in the clear! Hooray again for that 10 miler – such a great pace too!! Wish I could help with the espresso, but I just have a regular coffee machine. 🙂 I’m going to look into those sweet potatoes but it’s so hard to find white sweet potatoes down here in GA.

    • Thank you! I’m here to help, if you decide to do the detox or paleo. I didn’t even know there was a difference between sweet potatoes and yams until a few months ago. At my grocery store (sprouts) they are right next together. Sweet potatoes are more nutritional dense than yams. Yams would work great too!

  6. First of all, Z is such a cutie! I also love your salmon with avocado salsa…if something has avocado in it, I am immediately sold! As for coffee, shockingly I don’t drink it. I just never got into it. But I do enjoy the smell of it if that counts 🙂

  7. THose beets look so good! And gotta love Kombucha 🙂

  8. Pingback: Day 18, 19 & 20: 21-DSD T-minus 3 days!! | onemotherofaday

  9. Marlene says:

    Never had beets that way. I will have to try that!

Leave a Reply

