Sunday Food Prep for week of 4/28-5/3/2013

Back in January when I had started the Whole30 I knew I needed to be organized from the start, in order for it to work long-term. I wanted to make going Paleo a lifestyle not just a fad diet. I hate the word diet and I will never refer to Paleo as a diet either.

On Sundays, I do majority of the food prep for the week and then again mid-week I usually have to boil more hard-boiled eggs and roast some veggies to get us through the week. I plan 2-3 meals for dinner for the week and have a couple different options for lunches.

Here is my grocery list for this week (I will not list everything, just the food items, no one cares what kind of toothpaste I am buying or what shampoo):

  • 2 dozen large eggs     (all meals/snacks) 
  • GTS Kombucha – strawberry & mango (new flavors for me) (lunch)
  • Sliced turkey breast – Applegate Farms (lunch)
  • Black olives –(snack/lunch)
  • coconut milk – Thai Kitchen (paleo creamer)
  • Beef Stick –Oregon Trail (snack)
  • Sauerkraut –Sprouts (Breakfast/dinner)
  • Bacon – Sprouts (breakfast/snacks)
  • Skirt steak – Sprouts (dinner/lunch)
  • Smoked sausage – Sprouts (breakfast/dinner)
  • 1 lb carrots- Sprouts (all meals/snacks)
  • 4 broccoli crowns- Sprouts (all meals)
  • 6 medium/large red beets- Sprouts (all meals/snacks)
  • spaghetti squash – Sprouts (lunch/dinner)
  • sweet potatoes – Sprouts (all meals/snacks)

Veggies I had in my organic produce delivery:

  • red leaf lettuce
  • springs onions
  • baby Bok choy
  • zucchini
  • green beans
  • spinach
  • basil

Today’s food prep included:

  • Marinated beets – will use for a side to any meal
  • Roasted carrots & sweet potato- use as a side
  • hard-boiled eggs- use when need extra protein for a meal or even a snack
  • baked chicken- snack, salad or need extra protein for a meal
  • fried bacon- breakfast, salads or snacks002
  • sautéed greens w/ spring onions & bacon fat– use as a side w/ any meal
  • Steamed broccoli —use as a side w/ any meal
  • Rinsed spinach & red leaf lettuce – salads for lunch or dinner

 

Meals planned for dinner:

  • spaghetti squash and meatballs- leftovers for dinner or lunches
  • Kielbasa (smoked sausage) & sauerkrautleftovers for dinner or breakfast
  • Skirt steak stir-fry –leftovers for dinner or lunches

***Will post the spaghetti squash & meatballs recipe along with the skirt steak stir-fry later on in the week, as I make them.

Meals planned for lunch:

  • Turkey roll-ups : turkey slices w/ spinach, sliced baby carrots, avocado rolled up w/ yellow mustard drizzled on top.
  • Trader Joe’s chicken jalapeno sausage
  • any leftovers from dinners

By planning our meals every week and prepping as much as I can on Sundays, it helps me stay on track. I always make sure I have snacks ready in case I get hungry between meals.

After I complete my 21 DSD tomorrow, I plan on staying with the paleo lifestyle, but if I want a couple of cookies or some chocolate (or a pound, same thing-same thing) I will not beat myself up about it and just move on.

I am looking to mix up my breakfast, getting a little tired of eggs. Need some suggestions.

What do you eat for breakfast?

Do you have the same thing for lunch every day or do you mix it up?

 

This entry was posted in paleo, Sunday Food Prep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday Food Prep for week of 4/28-5/3/2013

  1. megbek says:

    I feel ya on the organization of food during the week. I usually prep similar items to last throughout the week because otherwise, I’ll end up eating out – NO! How do you marinate your beets? My co blogger and I struggle with breakfast for that same reason – the eggs! She’s been getting good at Paleo smoothies and Paleo pancakes to switch things up. They, surprisingly, don’t take too long to make if you have the right appliances.
    Sadly, for lunch I eat the same salad everyday. But, it keeps me sane and I don’t hate it. 6 days til your half marathon! WOO HOO!

    • For the marinated beets, there should be a link on the post to take you to the website. I hope I did it right!? If not, let me know. This is my new favorite way to cook beets!

  2. loloslunch says:

    When I was following a true Paleo lifestyle I also did food prep on Sunday. Was the only way to stay on track. And I agree with your diet comment!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Food Prep Inspiration 16

  4. Pingback: Whole30: What, How, Why, When and Where? | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

