Day 21, 22 & 23: 21-Day Sugar Detox: Final days

When I finish writing this post I will go to bed and wake up tomorrow with having completed the detox. I didn’t think I was going to make it at the beginning. I had some rough days, especially with having a cold/allergies for almost 2 weeks, but I am glad that I stuck with it. It is funny, now that it is the end I don’t feel like stopping. At least until Sunday I probably won’t stray too far from the detox. In these last 21 days, aside from getting a cold, I have felt more energized, less hungry and even my mood is better, I feel like I have a more positive outlook. I have also learned to listen to my body, to understand why I am feeling certain ways. You only have one body in your lifetime, you might as well take care of it.

I have seen a huge improvement in my running since going Paleo. I started Paleo Jan 1st, 2013 and ran my 1st 1/2 marathon on Feb 4, 2013 since having my son, who at the time was almost 14 months old. I felt I ran it smart, effective and my body was running efficiently. After the race, was probably the best I had felt after just running 13.1 miles. In my past 1/2 marathons I am usually completely spent after wards. Since training for my 6th 1/2 marathon (May 5, 2013) I had been on the sugar detox for almost the last 3 weeks of it and have never felt better going into a race. My long runs during the training have been my fastest I have ever ran and I don’t feel completely wiped out.

Enough about my ramblings. Now onto my food/exercise for my last 3 days.

Food/exercise for Day 21 (Sat , April 27, 2013):

AM: coffee w/ half & half (not 21DSD approved)

Breakfast: 2 egg omelet w/ spring onions; 1/3 cup roasted sweet potatoes; more coffeeday21bk

Lunch: 4 slices Applegate Farms turkey w/ spinach, carrots, 1/4 avocado & yellow mustard; black olives; 1/2 cup steamed broccoli; 6 ozs kombucha (mango-yummy!); 4 capsules FCLOday21lunchrealone

afternoon: coffee; trail mix (banana chips, raisins, coconut chips & sunflower seeds)

Dinner: 3 ozs ground beef pattie w/ avocado salsa & pickled radishes; sweet potato fries; 4 small dill picklesday21dinner

Bedtime: peppermint tea & trail mix

Food/exercise Day 22 (Sun, April 28, 2013):

Pre-run: coffee w/ half & half; 1/2 green-tipped banana; 1/3 cup sweet potato friesday22prerunday22amcoffee 

8 mile run w/ tri-berry GU gels;  total time: 1:19:39  9:57 min/mil  157 bpm

After the 8 mile run! Still going strong!!

After the 8 mile run! Still going strong!!

Post-run: coffee (again!) w/ half & half; smoothie (1/2 banana, 1/4 avocado, handful spinach, 1/3 cup coconut water, 1 TBL gelatin (Great Lakes) & dash of cinnamon)day22postrun

Afternoon: iced caramel latte (I ran 8 miles, I think I deserved it!!)

Dinner: 3 ozs ground beef pattie w/ avocado salsa & pickled radishes; 1/2 cup marinated beetsday22dinner

Bedtime: trail mix

Food/exercise Day 23 (Mon, April 29, 2013):

AM: coffee w/ half & halfday23amcoffee

Breakfast: 2 eggs; 1/4 cup marinated beets; 1/4 cup steamed broccoliday23bk

Midmorning: Iced Caramel Latte (not 21DSD approved)

Lunch: 3 slices of (Applegate Farms) turkey w/ spinach, avocado, carrots & yellow mustard; 1 hard-boiled egg; 1/2 cup steamed broccoli; 6 ozs kombucha (mango); 4  capsules FCLOday23lunch

Afternoon: trail mix

Dinner: spaghetti squash w/ meatballs (recipe below):day23dinner

Spaghetti squash: cut in half, scoop out seeds, lay cut-side down in a baking dish w/ 1/2 inch of water, cover w/ foil, bake @ 375 for 60 mins or until fork tender

Meatballs & sauce:

  • 2 lbs ground beef
  • 1 yellow onion-diced
  • 6 garlic cloves-minced
  • Italian seasoning-based on your preference
  • 1/4 cup(approx.) Italian parsley-minced
  • 1 egg (can be left out, if not eating eggs)
  • 2 (15 oz) cans of tomato sauce
  • 1 TBL tomato paste
  • 2 TBL fresh basil
  1. Combine beef, 1/2 onion, 3 garlic cloves, italian seasoning, egg & parsley in bowl

    meatballs

    The finished product!

  2. Form into 2 oz balls and place in hot skillet w/ coconut oil (or oil of your choice)
  3. Cook them until browned then transfer them to a foil-lined baking sheet
  4. Bake in oven @ 375  for 10 mins or until cooked through
  5. Saute the other 1/2 onion, 3 garlic cloves in separate pan
  6. Add tomato paste, sauce & basil
  7. cook for 15 mins then add the cooked meatballs for everything to heat through
  8. Enjoy!!

Bedtime: trail mix

Over of the last couple days I have bought a variety of “treats”for me for when I finish the detox today. Don’t judge. I do have a race on Sunday, so I don’t want to go too crazy. It has been well over 5 months since I last had any type of yogurt, so I am excited to try the Chobani brand greek yogurts.

treats

raspberry yogurt pretzels, raspberry crumbcake, Chobani (pear & passionfruit), Chobani bites (caramel w/ pineapple chucks)

Before I go, I have to share with you a couple pics of Z, these are too cute to keep to myself.

zachfirstpooltimeofyear zachridingacar

 

 

 

Have you ever had yogurt covered pretzels? If so, what’s your favorite flavor?

What is your favorite brand of greek yogurt?

This entry was posted in 21 day sugar detox, paleo, running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 21, 22 & 23: 21-Day Sugar Detox: Final days

  1. Kimberly Morganstern says:

    Yay, you did it! I’m so happy for you! Congratulations, Lindsey! On the pretzel, peanut butter is my fav! On the yogurt, Fage is epic! It’s the creamiest and lightness to it! I just love me some Fage plain with a drizzle of raw wildflower honey, sliced almonds and mixed berries!

  2. morgantylar says:

    Trader Joe’s Greek yogurt is by far the best… in any flavor. Now if you are doing the Chobani, check out the Pineapple and Strawberry/Banana. Of course most of the flavors are good, though the honey was a bit of a turn off for me.

  3. megbek says:

    Your food always looks so wonderful. It’s so much fun to experiment with paleo approved recipes, as my co blogger and roomie always shares! 🙂 Where on this planet are you finding pickled radishes? I want some immediately! Also, I feel like in real life, I’d be really jealous of your shoes + compression sock combo – so cute!! Good job on that 8 miler!!!! I’m all about some Greek yogurt and Chobani is the best. I must confess, though, that their dragon fruit flavor is absolutely wretched and disgusting. Hopefully you disagree! 🙂 CONGRATS on your detox. Inspiring stuff.

  4. debrunsfit says:

    Yay and congrats! It’s cool that you feel so good that you want to stick with it!

  5. I admire your positive attitude. Proud of your accomplishments on this! 🙂

  6. Pingback: WIAW #9: Whole30 R2 “Oldie but Goodie” Eats + Sweet Potato fry recipe! | onemotherofaday

  7. Pingback: 21-Day Sugar Detox book review! | onemotherofaday

  8. Pingback: 21-Day Sugar Detox Week 2: Food Prep + Meal Ideas | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

