Sunday Food Prep, but on Monday 5/6-5/10/2013

I know I am way late in posting this because it is almost the middle of the week already. Since we were out-of-town over the weekend everything gets a little thrown off. It is nice to get away for a few days, but it is also nice to come back home and get back into a routine. Where did the time go? Since this week is going to be a short one I only planned a couple of dinners w/ leftovers of course and a couple different lunch ideas.

Grocery list for the week (I did not include non food items and other items that are for just Z and/or hubby):

  • (3) Chobani yogurts – Sprouts (all meals)
  • GTS Kombucha guava- Sprouts (lunch)
  • half & half- Sprouts (coffee)
  • (2) dozen large eggs- Sprouts & Ralphs(had a coupon at Ralphs for a free dz eggs!)
  • Applegate Farms Organic Sliced Turkey – Sprouts (lunch)
  • Raw Honey – Sprouts (lunch)
  • NEW!! Sunflower seed butter (MaraNatha)- Sprouts (snack/all meals)
  • Broccoli crowns – Sprouts (all meals)
  • Golden beets- Sprouts (all meals)
  • (2) Red Bell Peppers- Sprouts (all meals)
  • Red Cabbage- Sprouts (all meals)
  • (1) Spaghetti Squash- Sprouts (lunch/dinner)
  • (5) medium sweet potatoes- Sprouts (all meals)
  • (3) yellow onions – Sprouts (all meals)
  • (4 lbs) strawberries- Costco (all meals)
  • (1lb) Organic Baby Spinach- Costco (all meals)
  • (3lbs) bananas- Costco (snacks)
  • Raspberries –Costco (snacks)
  • Starbucks Coffee –Costco (anytime!)
  • (9 lbs) boneless skinless chicken breasts – Costco (all meals)

Meals planned for dinners:

 

 

Meals planned for lunches:

  • Trader Joe’s chicken jalapeno sausage
  • Turkey roll-ups (sliced turkey w/baby spinach, carrots, avocado and rolled up w/ yellow mustard drizzled on top)

Monday’s Food Prep included:

  • Hard-boiled eggs (6) (when need extra protein for a meal or snack)sundayfoodprep
  • baked chicken (use in salads or in main meal/stir fry)
  • sweet potato fries (use as a side or when need a starchy side)
  • steamed broccoli (use as a side)
  • baked spaghetti squash (use in Pad Thai dinner)
  • sliced bell peppers (use in Pad Thai & snacks)

I think Sprouts is my new Target. Every time I go there for a few things I always come out with a cart full.  When we were in Costa Mesa there was this grocery store, Mother’s Kitchen, that was only about a mile from our hotel, so we decided to go check it out. I wish we had something like that around where I live because it was a grocery store/deli/cafe/juice bar/pharmacy and pretty much everything else you could think of all in one place. The store’s main selling point is that they are an all natural health food store. Obviously, I was in heaven because they even had a whole section of just raw food. Sadly, we didn’t buy anything. Prior to the store we had stopped at a food/produce ranch market to pick up some pre-race foods already. If I lived closer, I could see myself stopping at Mother’s almost daily, which I am sure my hubby is happy that we don’t. 🙂

Almost forgot to share two little nuggets I discovered at Sprouts yesterday. One being MaraNatha has a new butter, Sunflower seed butter,sunflower seed butter who knows it could have been out for a while, but it is new to me! It is cheaper than the almond butter, I used it in our Pad Thai dinner. Very yummy! I still need to get the Cookie butter from Trader Joe’s everyone is talking about! Next time I go to TJ’s I am definitely going to pick one up to see what all the rage is. Second nugget being these Jalapeno Chedder Cheese Focaccia muffins.jalapenochedderfoccaciamuffin I didn’t even know they existed until yesterday.  If you have a Sprouts near you need to try them. You won’t regret it. I promise!

 

 

I know it’s almost Wednesday already, but do/did you have any meals planned? How did they turn out? Recipes? I might have to steal some meal ideas 🙂

This entry was posted in Sunday Food Prep, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunday Food Prep, but on Monday 5/6-5/10/2013

  1. Marlene says:

    Glad to see all the veggies. Of course, Starbucks is still in the picture. I wish I had one here!

  2. I see that sunflower seed butter. I have yet to try that.

  3. wantneko04 says:

    How is the sunflower seed butter? And I’m sad Sprouts discontinued the pistachio muffins! 😦 I might just start protesting outside the store or something. (J/K!) Anyway, your food organization is SO cool! I hope I can get to that point. ^^

    • The sunflower seed butter tastes good. I also like that it only has 2 ingredients (sunflower seeds & salt). I love their muffins too. Haha.. Sorry to hear about the pistachio muffins. I have never tried them before. I need the organization so I am able to stay on track. Once you make it part of your routine, it will become second nature.

  4. megbek says:

    Can’t wait to replicate your Pad Thai. Just left a silly comment on that recipe page because I couldn’t contain my excitement! 🙂 I love your food prep – so many good ideas. I also keep boiled eggs for the week because they are the best quick snack! I typically cover them in hot sauce. My boyfriend LOVES sunflower butter so much! I like it also, but I have to mix up all my nut butters and don’t have a favorite. Cookie butter is so unhealthy for you but so good. It would definitely be an indulgent treat if you get it! I’m jealous of this place called Sprouts! I’ve never heard of it! 🙂 No recipes yet my dear, I’ve been hella lazy in the kitchen lately!

Leave a Reply

