Farm Fresh To You: All Veggie Box 5/9/13

Christmas came early again for me yesterday morning! I love getting my produce box delivered right to my front door every couple of weeks. I love waking up and running down stairs to see if I was left a box of goodies. I know to some of you getting a box of produce doesn’t get you excited, but I love seeing what new veggies I will be cooking with next week. On their website they do give you a list of the possible produce you will be receiving that week, so I do have some what of an idea. I shouldn’t look online at all and be completely surprised, but that probably won’t happen because I am very impatient and don’t like surprises.
Anyways, let’s get to all my goodies I received this week. I chose the veggie only box because while I was doing the 21dsd I obviously couldn’t eat the fruit, so I had changed to the veggie only a month or so ago and haven’t switched it back.

May 9, 2013 “Veggie only box” contents:deliverycontent

  • (1 bulb)  Fennel
  • (1 bunch) carrots
  • (2) green bell peppers
  • (2 lbs) zucchini (summer squash)
  • (1 bunch)  Radishes
  • (2) Hass Avocados
  • (1 bunch) Red Leaf Lettuce
  • (1 lb)  baby bok choy
  • (1/2 lb)  fresh green beans
  • (2)  artichokes

Note: Farm Fresh To You’s produce are all 100% organic.

This post might get a little lengthy today because I am going to list all the vegetable’s nutritional facts and along with some ideas on how to use them. Sorry in advance if vegetables aren’t your thing, it’s ok you can just skim through the rest of this. I won’t take any offense if you don’t read it all. Up until about 6 months ago, I hardly ate any vegetables and the vegetables I was eating were usally deep-fried and covered in batter. Now, the majority of what I buy at the grocery stores are vegetables, meats and some fruit (mostly for hubby and Z).  It does take time to get used to eating differently, you can take baby steps. Once you start incorporating more vegetables into your “diet” it will become second nature.

  Fennel:   1 cup sliced (serving size)fennel

Nutritional facts: dietary fiber (11 %RDV) , very low in cholesterol, good source of Niacin, Calcium, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Copper, Vit C, Folate, Potassium and Manganese

What to do with it?: thinly slice and roast w/ sweet potatoes, slice and add them raw to any salads.

(www.ebfarm.com)

Carrots:  1 (7″ long) carrot

Nutritional facts: excellent source of Vit A (110 % RDV), Good source of Dietary fiber (2 g) and Vitamin K (13 %)

What to do with it?: snack on them raw and/or guacamole (or plain avocado), slice them on a salad, roast w/ olive oil, cinnamon and lil cumin

Fun facts: “This veggie gets it color from an antioxidant carotene, which the body converts to vitamin A.” (www.ebfarm.com)

(source of all values: www.ebfarm.com)

carrotsandpeppers

Green bell pepper:  1 medium (srvg size)

Nutritional facts: Dietary fiber 2 g, excellent source of Vit A (440%) and Vit C (160%), good sources of Vit K (11 %) and Vit B6 (13%)

What to do with it?: slice into strips and snack on them raw w/humus or plain, roast, saute in a stir fry

Fun facts: Bell peppers are one of the best veggies to get your vitamin C in.

(source for all values found at: www.ebfarm.com)

Zucchini (summer squash): 1 cup chopped

Nutritional facts: excellent source of Vit C (39%), Vit A & C, good sources of Manganese (12 %), Vitamin B6 (11%) and Folate (8%)

What to do with it: grilled, sautéed

Fun Facts: Vitamin B6 “is important for the breakdown of protein, fats, and carbohydrates in the foods we eat and also in the production of antibodies to keep our immune system strong” (www.ebfarm.com)

(source http://www.ebfarm.com)radishesandzucchini

 

Radishes: 1/2 cup sliced (srvg size)

Nutritional facts:  low in saturated fat, Vit C (12%), very good source of dietary fiber, Vit C, folate and potassium

What to do with it?: picked, sliced, eaten raw, salad

(source of values: www.nutritiondata.com)

Avocados:  1/5 avocado (srvg size)

Nutritional facts: Has close to 20 vitamins, minerals and phytonutrients

What to do with it?: sliced on top of a salad, eggs, snack, added into a smoothie, anything!

Fun Facts: They are on of the only sugar-free fruits! 🙂

(source: http://www.ebfarm.com)

avocadogreenbeansbokchoy

Red Leaf lettuce:  1 cup shredded

Nutritional facts: Vit A (42%), Vit K (49%)

What to do with it?: salads, taco shells (in place of tortillas–try it you will be surprised how good it is–I will even post a recipe soon for these)

(source: www.nutritiondata.self.com)

Baby bok choy:  1 cup shredded

Nutritional facts: excellent source of Vit C (75%)

What to do with it?: stir-fry  (that’s the only thing I have used them in so far)

Fun Fact: “bok choy has more Vit A, carotene and other flavonoid polyphenolic anti-oxidants than cabbage, cauliflower, etc” (nutrition-and-you.com)

(source: http://www.nutrition-and-you.com)

Green beans:  1 cup (srvg size)

Nutritional facts: dietary fiber (15%), Vit C (30%), Vit K (20%) and Manganese (12%)

What to do with it?: sautéed in bacon fat w/ garlic (or shallots, onions, etc), stir-fry

(source: www.nutritiondata.self.com)

Artichokes:  1 medium

artichokes

Nutritional Facts: dietary fiber (41%), Protein 3 grams, Vit K (22%), Folate (27%)

What to do with it?: steamed (any other ways to cook with them?)

(source: www.nutritiondata.self.com)

***DISCLAIMER*** the nutritional values that is listed above are approximate and based on the standard 2,000 calorie daily intake.

Congrats!! You made it to the very end of the post! I didn’t think you would do it, but of course I am glad you read all the way down or least pretended to 😉  You wouldn’t want to miss an explosion of Z pictures! Your welcome, in advance!

Have a great weekend! Tomorrow I will be working on my food prep for next week. I will not be cooking on Mother’s Day!!

It is starting to warm up where I live. How is the weather where you live? Feeling like summer or still like winter?

Do you like being inside or outside?

zinthebushes zplayingoutside

Z  and Dexter  THE END!!

Z and Dexter
THE END!!

 

 

This entry was posted in farm fresh to you deliveries and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Farm Fresh To You: All Veggie Box 5/9/13

  1. Marlene says:

    I love all the veggies except the artichokes. I never liked the taste of them I live the pictures of Z!. Keep up the good work!!

  2. What a fabulous bunch of veggies! The fennel and carrots look especially awesome. 🙂 I’ve always wanted to do a produce delivery box, but they’re insanely expensive here in DC (as is everything else…oh well)! Have a lovely weekend!

  3. loloslunch says:

    I’m jealous you got green beans in your boxes, none up here yet. I’d like to learn how to roast artichoke. Some restaurants split small artichoke in half then roast them. I’m wondering if it can be done with full sized ones too. Great photos of Z. Looks like he’s got a good pal in Dexter!

    • That would be interesting to try to roast them. Might have to do a little research and try that. Yeah, they are BFF’s. More one sided friendship (Z enjoys Dexter alot more)

  4. What a great and informative post! I love the picture of Z sitting in a way that I don’t know if I was EVER able to get my legs into! 🙂

  5. Kimberly says:

    Thank you! I love to read on how good and important veggies are in my lifestyle!

  6. Pingback: Mother’s Day post & Sunday Food Prep 5/12-5/17/13 | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

