EXCITING & HUGE ANNOUNCEMENT!!! You won’t believe it….

15 years ago to the day, Seinfeld’s series finale aired! Yes I know, I didn’t realize it had been that long ago! And yes, time flies! No, not what you were expecting? Don’t worry that isn’t the huge announcement, but don’t think I couldn’t write a whole post on Seinfeld because I could! Jerry and I go way back. Yes, Jerry Seinfeld, we are on a first name basis. For as many times as I have seen him do his stand-up I feel like I know him personally.

(source-Pinterest-Seinfeld quotes)

What do you think it is? Some of you know, some of you don’t……I am officially………

(source-Pinterest Barney Stinson quotes)

going to start training for my very 1st full marathon!!!

(source)

 That’s right! You heard it here first folks! Sorry, to disappoint some of you if it wasn’t what you thought it was…:) My 5 month training schedule started today (Tuesday). I know 5 months is probably on the longer end of training for a marathon, but I wanted to give myself as much time to train and prepare as I possible can.

Sorry in advance to my family and friends because for these next 5 months I am going to be pretty annoying. You think I already talk about running now, well wait until after these next 5 months. You will either not want to talk to me ever again, in fear of me somehow relating a conversation back to running, or you will become inspired to start running yourself. I hope it’s the latter, but if it isn’t I won’t be offended at all.

I’m sure many of you are wondering why? Why would you want to put yourself through all the training and then the actual event of running 26.2 miles, voluntarily? My answer is actually very simple, because WHY NOT! Ever since I started running over 8 years ago, I have always dreamt of some day, in the very distant future, that I would run a marathon.  I knew at some point in my lifetime I would, but I just didn’t know when. I knew when it was time to make that decision that it would be a clear decision and an easy one.

I feel that now is the right time, everything about my decision feels right. When going over the reasons on whether or not to go for it; I realized that the only reason I had, to not run a marathon, was because I am afraid.

  • I am afraid of starting my training.
  • I am afraid that I won’t cross the finish line.
  • I am afraid that I won’t have the endurance to run the 26.2 miles.
  • I am afraid of the hard work it will take.
  • I am afraid of the unknown.

The good thing is that the reasons listed above are all excuses and I don’t believe in excuses.

The reasons why I want to run a marathon are:

  • To prove to myself that I am strong.
  • To set a goal and actually reach it.
  • To prove to myself that I have the endurance.
  • To challenge myself.
  • To prove to myself I have the mental and physical strength that I know I have.
  • To push myself to new limits.
  • To get out of my comfort zone.
  • To say “I ran a marathon!”

(source)

If you are a runner, have you run any marathons? How many?

Have any tips or advice for me as I start out on my training?

Any Seinfeld fans?

Ready….Set….Go!

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to EXCITING & HUGE ANNOUNCEMENT!!! You won’t believe it….

  1. That is very exciting! Happy Training!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! I can’t wait to read about your training runs on here! Which marathon are you going to run? I’ve run either 40 or 41 marathons and one ultra; however, because of my back injury I’m limited to halves or shorter now. I’ll live vicariously through you! 🙂

  3. j! ayson says:

    Very exciting! and awesome goals!! I can’t wait to read about your training progress and how things are going, I definitely think it will inspire and motivate me to keep training for a marathon.
    And yup, I’m a Seinfeld fan. Me and the hubby love the show and every now and then will throw a Seinfeld quote into our daily conversation.. especially when eating .. “Stick a fork in me Jerry.. I’m done!”

  4. Kimberly says:

    Omg, I’m so happy for you! I know you can do this, SuperWoman!:)

  5. Congrats! I love how you have more reasons to run a marathon and you are going for it! Good luck and can’t wait to hear all about it.

  6. olivetorun says:

    I am so excited for you! I cannot wait to follow you through it 🙂

  7. megbek says:

    HOW EXCITING!!!!!! ❤ Congratulations for signing up and wanting to do one – that's a big deal and it is such a fun journey. Your reasoning for running a marathon is similar to mine and girl, I totally crossed that finish line (slow as my time was and tired as I was) with the biggest grin on my face and tears in my eyes. I can't wait to follow you with this training, you are a champion!!!! YAY! My only advice is pick the best plan for you and STICK TO IT. I had an injury toward the end of my training so I wasn't able to feel fully prepared for mine. Also, same as half training: never neglect your stretching and cross training. YAYY FOR YOU!!!!!

  8. That’s awesome! I’ll be visiting often 🙂

  9. This is SUCH exciting news, and I love your reasons for wanting to run a full marathon!
    I’m shocked it has been that long since Seinfeld ended. Kind of makes me feel old!
    I’ve run a few marathons and then a couple at the end of Ironmans. I can’t wait to read about your training!

  10. cldem says:

    So exciting! I’m still a little scared to do a full, so I give you HUGE applause for setting your mind to do it! Can’t wait to read your training experiences.

  11. Gardengirl says:

    That’s really great! My brother has run a few marathons including the Chicago marathon a couple years ago. I’m very proud of him, but am not inspired to run that far. You may however, inspire me to go for the local 5K this year. I’ve been saying I will, but never have. Keep your goals always in the front of your mind and squash the excuses! Go for it and good luck!

Leave a Reply

