New Recipe Alert! Crock Pot Chipotle Chicken “tacos” w/ sweet and spicy salsa!

I know it has been a while since I have done a recipe post and I really wanted to share this new recipe that I tried out yesterday. I found the chipotle chicken recipe on Pinterest and the salsa recipe from one of my Food Network Chef’s cookbook. I did adjust both recipes, so I didn’t follow the recipes exactly, but it actually turned out really good. I use the word “taco” very loosely, because instead of a tortilla I used lettuce leaves.

Enough of me talking, here are the recipes:

Crock Pot “Chipotle” Chicken (credit:—–>>>original recipe from this blog):

For the paste:

  • 3 dried california chiles*
  • 2 dried new mexico chiles*
  • 2 chipotles in adobo sauce*
  • 1-2 tsp cumin
  • couple dashes of salt
  • 1 medium yellow onion (quartered)
  • 4 garlic cloves (whole)

note: *indicates a change I made from the original recipe.

Rest of ingredients to make the “tacos”:

  • 3 lbs ~ boneless skinless chicken breasts (cut into bite size pieces)
  • Iceberg lettuce (any type of lettuce would work)
  • avocados

Directions:

  1. Can start this recipe a day before by boiling the dried chiles in water and letting them soak overnight in the water (until the chiles are softened) **I didn’t do this ahead of time, so the chiles really didn’t have that much time to soften, but it still turned out good.
  2. After chiles have softened: scrape out the seeds and put in food processor along w/ rest of the ingredients.
  3. Process all ingredients until they start to form a paste and then drizzle just a bit of the extra virgin olive oil until desired consistency is reached.
  4. Place chopped raw chicken in bottom of Crock Pot
  5. Place chile paste on top of chicken
  6. Add roughly 2 cups of water in Crock Pot
  7. Place on High for 5 hours. ***I should have checked it at 4 hours because I think the chicken was a little too dried out for my taste.

While the chicken was cooking, Z was having fun in the sun!

20130516-130033.jpg 20130516-130015.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

Sweet & Spicy Salsa (credit: Marcela Valladolid (Food Network Chef) find original recipe here—->>>>Roasted Tomatillo and Apple Salsa:

  • 1 lb tomatillos (husked, washed, and quartered)
    tomatillos

    Tomatillos

  • 1 red onion (quartered)*
  • 2 green apples (quartered-skin on)
  • 2 jalapeno (halved and seeded)
  • 3 garlic cloves (whole)*
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Cilantro (a handful or 2)
  • Salt
  • Apple cider vinegar*
  • 1 green apple (peeled and chopped into small pieces)*

*indicates I changed either the quantity or added an ingredient

Directions:

  1. Prepare top 5 ingredients as indicated and place on foil lined baking sheet and drizzle olive oil and dash of salt over the prepared items
    preovenveggies

    Before going into the oven

  2. Roast @ 450 for 15 minutes
  3. Reduced temp to 400 for 10 minutes
  4. Then popped them back in the oven but in the broiler for 5 minutes to get them a little crispy.
    roastedveggiesoutoftheoven

    After being in the oven

  5. Combine into food processor, process until mostly blended.
  6. Slowly add the apple cider vinegar (about 2 turns) while processor is going.
  7. Add handful of cilantro, process until combined.
  8. Just before serving salsa, add the 1 green apple (chopped) and a handful of cilantro
    salsapic

    Sorry doesn’t look the most appetizing, but I promise it tastes delicious!

  9. Enjoy!

***If I had to do the roasting over again, I would have put them in the oven at 400 for 15 mins and then turned the broiler on high for 10 minutes, to get them a little more crispy.

 

 

Assembly:

  • Rinse the lettuce leafs (try to keep them intact)
  • Chop the avocados
  • Scoop a spoonful or so of the “chipotle” chicken mixture onto each lettuce leafdinnerfinishedproduct
  • Spoon the salsa onto the chicken
  • Add the chopped avocados on top (if desired)
  • Enjoy!!
     
    Finished product!!

 

 

 

***Double bonus!! This recipe is actually Paleo approved and 21 Day Sugar Detox approved as well! (as far as I know, unless I am over looking something??) ****

 

To my bloggers that are reading this: Do you use any plugins that you use for recipes (recipe cards) ? I have tried a couple, but they don’t seem to work. I don’t know if it has anything to do with that I am not self-hosted. Thank you for any help!

Anyone try out any new recipes this week?

Any plans for vacations this summer?

side note: If the recipes above are not clear or just something isn’t making sense, please leave a comment below and let me know. Thank you! 🙂

This entry was posted in 21 day sugar detox, chicken, paleo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New Recipe Alert! Crock Pot Chipotle Chicken “tacos” w/ sweet and spicy salsa!

  1. Kimberly Morganstern says:

    I must try this recipe soon! It looks amazing!

  2. Thank you!! This looks amazing!!

  3. megbek says:

    Wow, that looks like a wonderful recipe – though I feel like somehow I’d mess it up! So many unique ingredients that I rarely eat. 🙂 Lettuce wraps for taco shells are so good – I actually prefer them that way! I don’t know about plug ins but I just create .jpegs of recipes and upload them like that through picmonkey.com. I type them out and save them that way. Not a plug in, but looks fancy enough. It’s how I do my circuits and stuff that I post. I didn’t try a new recipe this week but enjoyed an old classic – spaghetti squash! 🙂 NOM! Have a great weekend! Adorable pics of Z, btw!

    • Thank you! I haven’t tried picmonkey yet, but will have to try it out. I have heard good things about it. I am so not tech savvy, I’m surprised I have been able to start up a blog. Oh yes I love spaghetti squash!

  4. Yum…. another good looking recipe to try! Thanks!

  5. Pingback: Recipe A Day is back! | Crazywonderfullife

  6. Pingback: A Chicken in My Pot | Writings of a Pagan Witch

  7. Pingback: Pin it Party #2 | onemotherofaday

  8. Pingback: 21-Day Sugar Detox book review! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

