Tea Time! and Sunday Food Prep for week of May 19-24, 2013

Well, I actually did the majority of my food prep for the week yesterday because I knew today I was going to be gone most of the morning. This morning started off with a nice 8 mile run with my running buddies and then came home in just enough time to get changed for a tea party with some of my girls from my mom’s workout group I am a part of. I actually got *dressed up* for this outing, it doesn’t happen very often where I get to wear clothes that match and that are not yoga pants and a tank top. Funny Confession Ecard: When my family sees me wearing something other than yoga pants they ask why I'm so dressed up.

 (source)

This tea house we went to was so cute and the food was delicious. The tea time consisted of 4 different types of tea we got to consume: raspberry peach, tirimisu, peppermint and teatimepic

apple spice, potato soup which was super delicious, Quiche, cranberry scone and ended with a variety of croissant sandwiches, lemon squares, chocolate covered strawberries and mini cake balls (that tasted like fudge).crossiantpic

I can’t remember the last time I ate this much food at once and in such a short period of time.  It is safe to say I am still very stuffed, some 3 hours later.

Enough of all this tea time talk, onto my food prep for the week:

Grocery list (does not include all non food items and food for Z or hubby):

  • eggs  (Costco) (all meals)
  • Starbucks coffee (Costco) (anytime-always a staple)
  • Ground beef (Costco)
  • Boneless skinless chicken breasts (Costco)
  • Banana chips (Sprouts) (snack)
  • Kerrygold butter (Sprouts) (decided to treat myself this time to some grass-fed butter)
  • Yellow Mustard (Sprouts)
  • Applegate Farms Organic all beef Hot Dogs (Sprouts) (lunch or dinner)
  • Applegate Farms Organic breakfast pork sausage (Sprouts) (breakfast)
  • Applegate Farms Organic turkey deli slices (Sprouts) (lunch)
  • bulk pork sausage (Sprouts) (all meals)
  • Smoked bacon (Sprouts) (all meals)
  • 1 lb baby carrots (Sprouts) (lunch/snack)
  • fresh cilantro (Sprouts)
  • garlic (Sprouts)
  • Green Kale (Sprouts) (snack)
  • Green onions (Sprouts)
  • Sweet Potatoes (Sprouts)
  • Spaghetti squash (Sprouts) (dinner/lunch)
  • Bananas (Sprouts) (snack/pre-run)
  • Yellow onions (Sprouts)
  • Chobani yogurts (Target) (lunch/snack)
  • Spinach (Sprouts)

Food Prep:

  • make hard-boiled eggs (snacks/extra protein)
  • Roast carrots/sweet potatoes (@ 375 for 45 mins,  check every 20 mins or so until foodprepcooked)
  • Roast green beans —>>>check out recipe over at NomNomPaleo
  • Make sweet potato hash for this recipe—>>>>Sweet Potato hash w/ fried eggs
  • fry bacon (snack)
  • bake chicken (all meals)
  • bake kale chips–(still need to make)go check out this blogger, Popular Paleo for the Seasoned Kale chips recipe I am going to use. She has tons of great Paleo recipes to try out!

Breakfast ideas:

  • sweet potato hash w/ fried egg (see above link)
  • dinner leftovers
  • scrambled eggs w/ roasted veggies

Lunch ideas:

  • hot dogs
  • turkey slices w/ mustard, spinach, carrots & avocado
  • breakfast or dinner leftovers

Dinner ideas:

Snack ideas:

  • kale chips (see link above–^^)
  • Kombucha fruit snacks
  • hard-boiled eggs/olives (protein/fat)

As you can tell with my recipes for this week I have newly discovered another paleo blogger, Popular Paleo. Her pictures of her recipes always look so appetizing, I just hope when I go to make it they look at least half as good as her pictures. She even has a whole section on frittatas. Frittatas I have learned are one of the easiest meals to make and prepare ahead of time, they are always a good go-to meal.

Hope everyone has a wonderful week!

Have you ever been to a tea house? Today was my first time!

Did you do anything exciting this weekend?

This entry was posted in paleo, Sunday Food Prep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tea Time! and Sunday Food Prep for week of May 19-24, 2013

  1. Jen says:

    I love Costco too for so many of my staple foods and coffee of course! Sweet potatoes are one of my favorites, I think I’ll have to do the hash one day 🙂

  2. I do a sweet potato hash often with granny smith apples, bacon and red onion! I think I got it from a Paleo cookbook my son gave me! sweet potatoes are my new favourite food!!

    I just found your blog via running bloggers and definitely bookmarking it!

  3. Those are good looking food! 🙂 I love this idea of food prep. I may have to do this soon. 🙂

  4. I keep telling myself I must practice food prep and pre-cooking, but still need to do it! =)

  5. megbek says:

    One thing I absolutely love about Paleo is the totally diverse yet totally delicious recipes you can make. I mean, really, my roomie eats like that and she has made things I would never think of and am SO grateful for the Paleo recipes. Typically, everything she makes is spot on and I owe the broadening of my horizons to the Paleo world! 🙂 I love that you do food prep for the week! I do too, but you’re so much more thorough about it! Also, I need white sweet potatoes. They come to ATL every once in a while but they are SO expensive, seriously frustrating.

  6. love the eComic. totally describes me too haha

Leave a Reply

