1st time ever in my life! and {New Recipe Alert}

I wasn’t going to write a post today, but I had to share with all of you what I did for the 1st time ever today. Poached an egg! That’s right, you heard it! It is even more shocking because I have never been a fan of my eggs being runny. When I make eggs for breakfast they are always scrambled and as dry as possible. I am very picky to how I like my eggs cooked. Even if I fry an egg, I always fry it to where it is pretty much hard-boiled egg consistency.  So, you ask, “why did you pick a recipe where it consists of you poaching an egg and then actually having to eat it?”. Good question! Since going Paleo I have really opened up my food palette. I have tried things I would never think I would ever try and then actually liked them, for example: butternut squash lasagna, spaghetti squash w/ meatballs, taco lettuce cups, spaghetti squash carbonara and many other dishes.  It has been over 5 months since I have had pasta, rice and beans and the weird thing is I don’t miss them at all. Before going Paleo I could eat pasta every day of my life and I loved tortillas and rice, but now I couldn’t see going back to my old eating habits.

Every week I go in search of a couple new recipes to try out for the following week. Sometimes I do just stick with our favorites, if I don’t feel like experimenting with a new one, but this week I wanted to mix things up a bit. Recently, I found a Paleo blogger (as mentioned in previous post), Popular Paleo, and she has some great recipes. I don’t want to call it stalking, but I frequent her blog ( too many times a day to admit to) and she had posted a recipe for Deconstructed Spaghetti Squash Carbonara (paleo style). A good carbonara dish was exactly what I was looking for, since my go-to chicken carbonara dish is so not Paleo approved. I didn’t have high hopes for this recipe because I had never poached an egg, so I was expecting the poaching part to not go as planned. I am happy to report, my first egg poaching was a complete success!

I actually followed this recipe by the book and didn’t stray from it. Maybe that is why it turned out so good.
Enough of me gabbing, here is the famous recipe.

Deconstructed Spaghetti Squash Carbonara (Paleo-style) by Popular Paleo:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 cup chopped bacon or pancetta (I used bacon)garlicscallionsparsley
  • 4 sliced garlic cloves
  • 1 TBL chopped flat leaf parsley
  • 1/4 cup sliced scallions or shallots (I used scallions (green onions))
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup bacon or pancetta fat (I actually used a little less than 1/4 cup)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 4-6 poached eggs (1-2 per person)
  • garnish with chia seeds, optional ( I didn’t use any)

Instructions:

  1. Spaghetti squash- cut lengthwise, seeded and put cut side down in baking dish w/ about 1/4 cup water on the bottom and foil covering the dish. Bake at 375 for 45 minutes or until fork tender. Let squash cool, scrape out strands and place in colander to drain excess moisture.
  2. Bacon- brown bacon and reserve fat to use later on.
  3. Poached eggs- bring water/white vinegar to a simmer in a medium saucepan. Use a 1 cup to 1 tsp white vinegar ratio. Once simmering, gently slide egg into water (make sure to swirl the water and try to drop egg into the middle). Let egg cook for 3 minutes then remove and place onto paper lined plate to drain.
  4. Saute sliced garlic w/ the reserved bacon fat in a saute pan until garlic starting turning.bacongarlicsquash Add the spaghetti squash in with the sautΓ©ed garlic.
  5. Once the squash and garlic/fat are combined, add the scallions, parsley, chopped bacon and 1 tsp white wine vinegar.
  6. Stir to combine all ingredients and let simmer for a couple of minutes.
  7. Plate the squash and place 1 or 2 poached eggs on top.
  8. Enjoy!!

Go to Popular Paleo’s blog to get better instructions. She lays out all the prep work a lot better than me. And she was right, there is nothing better than the smell of garlic sauteing in bacon fat. Yummy!!finishedproduct

 

I was very surprised how all the flavors melded together nicely. The poached egg gave the dish its creaminess and the bacon and garlic made the whole dish complete.

 

tiny jarBefore I sign off, I had to share this cute little jam jar that I received in one of my subscription boxes. I don’t think I have ever seen a jar so small. It is so cute!!

 

 

 

 

How do you like your eggs?

What is your favorite pasta-type dish?

This entry was posted in New Recipes, paleo, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 1st time ever in my life! and {New Recipe Alert}

  1. HaHa! I like my eggs scrambled and dry, just as you describe them! I must admit your finished product looks delicious and I’d probably love it. I, too, need to open my palette up a bit!

  2. PopularPaleo says:

    You rock! That looks awesome! So glad you liked it πŸ™‚

  3. Marlene says:

    I am glad you are expanding your palette. It happens as we get older, anyway!

  4. Fancy food presentation!
    I generally like my eggs scrambled, but after eating a gross egg in china I’ve been turned off them for a while:(

  5. Kimberly says:

    I’m an egg slut! I love it any which way!

  6. Well happy first egg poaching!! πŸ™‚ I remember my mom often made them that way. I am lazy and just flip mine over-easy.

  7. Pingback: Paleo Butterfly Chicken with Mandolin Courgette | PALEORAMA

  8. loloslunch says:

    I like eggs runny but have never poached one before myself. Thanks for the recipe I’ll give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

