Week 2 Marathon Training and Week in Review!

It feels like I have been training for months already, yet it has only been 2 weeks. It is going to be a long 5 months. Week 2 and I have already missed a scheduled run and have pushed back another run to the following day. Luckily, Sunday starts a new week and I can get back on track.

The last 2 weeks of running/cross-training looked like this:

Week 1:

Mon. 5/13: XT (cross-train) (1 hr)

Tues. 5/14: XT (1 hr) & 3 miles (29:41 /  9:53min/mil  / 160 bpm)

Wed. 5/15: XT  (1 hr)

Thurs. 5/16: Stroller Barre (1 hr)

Fri. 5/17:  XT (1 hr) and 5 mile run (49:18 / 9:51 min/mil  / 157 bpm)

Sat. 5/18: REST!

Week 2:

Sun. 5/19: 8 mile run (1:16:25 /  9:33 min mile   /   158 bpm)

Mon. 5/20: XT  (1 hr)

Tues. 5/21: XT (1 hr)

Wed. 5/22: XT (1 hr)  and 4 mile run (38:58:54 /  9:44 min mile  /  159 bpm)

Thurs. 5/23: Stroller Barre (1 hr)

Fri. 5/24: XT (1 hr)

Sat. 5/25: REST!

It seems every week I am always discovering new foods, recipes, blogs, sites, etc. They may not necessarily be brand “new”, but they are new to me. Every Saturday, I plan on sharing with you my finds of the week. Don’t worry I will keep you updated on the latest and greatest, so you don’t feel out of the loop. I know I feel out of the loop sometimes and am always a month or so behind everything. I found out about Cookie Butter from Trader Joe’s (that I still haven’t tried yet) and the different flavors of Chobani yogurt through other bloggers.

New Food Finds for the week:

1. Chobani Flip (Target)

Speaking of Chobani yogurt. Have you heard of Chobani Flip? Well, I hadn’t until I saw them at Target this week and of course had to try them. I love trying out new products!

chobaniflip

OMG!  These may be my favorite snack of all time!!

They were totally worth the 230 calories and 22 grams of sugar. I think I consumed this yogurt in 2 minutes flat. This delicious little yogurt treat contained coconut yogurt in one compartment and in a little compartment next to it had sliced almonds and dark chocolate pieces that you spooned into the yogurt. Yummy!! The coconut yogurt with something sweet (dark chocolate) and salty (almonds) was the perfect combination. You have to go out and try it for yourself! I promise you won’t be disappointed.

2. Schar Gluten-Free Vanilla Wafers (Sprouts)

These little vanilla wafers melted in my mouth the moment I took a bite. foodfindsThey are like little light pieces of buttery, sugary heaven.

3. Justin’s Almond Bar (Sprouts)

These I have yet to try. The whole bar is 230 calories so I will wait until I finish my 9 mile run on Sunday.

4. Oregon Chai Tea concentrate

This isn’t a new item, but it has been a very long time since I have bought it and have never tried the “slightly sweet” ones. I can’t wait to make an iced Chai tea latte!

Favorite lunch and breakfast combos for this week:

Breakfast: sweet potato hash w/ fried egg and pork sausage

breakfastcombo

Lunch: turkey roll-ups (spinach, carrots, avocado and yellow mustard), black olives, hard-boiled egg, kombucha, Chobani yogurt and my Green pastures’ butter oil/fermented cod liver oil

lunchcombo

Favorite coffee drink of the week:

favcoffeedrink

(it is a quad shot, when I get the large size 🙂 )

New Iphone app find:

Charity Miles: I know this has been around for quite a while, but I just heard about this app recently. It is a free app that you download on your phone. Has a dozen or so different charities where you choose one charity for an activity (running, walking or biking) that you are going to do and they will donate a certain percentage to that particular charity. On Sunday I will be running for Feeding America to help out the people in Oklahoma after the devastating tornado that ripped through Moore, Ok.

parktime

This week we have spent a lot of time outside, the weather has been perfect. Z has gotten a lot of outside playtime, which he loves.

 

 

Tomorrow I will be back with my Sunday food prep post. I will leave you with some more pictures of Z, I have been taking pictures like crazy this last week.zpictures

I would love to hear from everyone on any new foods you have discovered recently or ones you have kept secret from everyone!

Please share!

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

This entry was posted in Food finds, Marathon training, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 2 Marathon Training and Week in Review!

  1. This Little Runner says:

    I’ll definitely be downloading Charity Miles! I’ve never heard of it, but it sounds awesome!

  2. Thank you for reminding me about Charity Miles! I had just added it when my phone died and I forgot all about putting it on my new phone when I switched over to my new iTunes account….

    Have a great rest of your weekend!

  3. Pingback: Pin it Party #2 | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

