Marathon Training + Night Owl + Week in Review

Hi all!! I am back with my end of the week review and my marathon training workouts. I know I didn’t do a weekly review last Saturday, but we were out-of-town. After my first 3 weeks of training I had to re-evaluate my runs because I was not doing all my scheduled runs. I was missing too many runs during the middle of the week and I knew I couldn’t just rely on my one long run on Sundays. I was doing my runs in the early mornings because of my hubby’s work schedule, but now he is back to normal hours so I am able to have a choice of what time of day I run. I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try a run in the evening after dinner and before it gets dark.  I have been doing my weekday runs in the evening for 2 weeks now and haven’t missed a run. I am glad I made the switch. I still have my long runs on Sundays in the early morning because that is the only way to beat the heat for my double-digit runs I have.

Yesterday, I had to run 5 miles and decided to go out for my run a little earlier than normal at around 3:30 (when it is the hottest time of day) in the afternoon, when it was about 90 degrees out. I figured it is only 5 miles, how bad could it be? Well, it was the most miserable 5 miles of my life. The first 3 miles were, actually, not that bad since it was a gradual downhill and the wind was in my face. The last 2 miles when I changed direction, with no wind and the sun shining directly on me, I instantly felt my head pounding and the intense heat from the sun, which really slowed me down. Fortunately, when I got back powericefrom my run I still had a Power Ice popsicle from my StrideBox left, it really hit the spot after a very hot run.  Needless to say, I learned my lesson, and will never be running in the afternoon again (or at least during the summer). I thought I was doing myself a favor by getting my run done early for the day, I guess not.

full marathon training workouts:

Week 4

Sun June 2:    10 mile run (total: 1:35.32 / 9:33 mil   /  158 bpm)

Mon. June 3:     1 hour circuit class

Tues. June 4:   5.10 mile run (total: 47:15.74  /  9:15 mil  / 160 bpm) + 1 hr interval training

Wed. June 5:    3 mile run (total: 27:24.29  /  9:08 mil  /  156 bpm)  +  1 hr interval training

Thurs. June 6:  1 hr Stroller Barre

Fri. June 7: Rest/travel day

Sat. June 8: Rest

Week 5

Sun. June 95 mile run (total: 47:42.36  /  9:32 mil  / 151 bpm) (Sacramento, CA)

Mon. June 10: Rest/travel day

Tues. June 11: 2 mile run (total: 17:40.59  /  8:49 mil  /  150 bpm)   +  1 hr interval training

Wed. June 12:  Rest day

Thurs. June 13: 1 hr interval training

Fri. June 14:   5 mile run (total: 48:02.36  /  9:36 mil  /  157 bpm)  +  1 hr interval training

zootrip

This week has been a long week. It started with visiting relatives up in Sacramento.

While in Sacramento, we went to the Sacramento Zoo, where Z had a blast. It was the perfect size for Z to be able to walk, pretty much, the whole Zoo. He was very aware of the animals and was trying to talk to them.

Z was a busy guy last weekend.

We took him to a local park, so he could get out some energy out. I do want to add last Saturday in Sacramento when we went to the park at 9 in the morning it was already 88 degrees. I think it was about 108 that day. HOT! HOT! HOT!

parktime

Z even mowed my Aunt’s front lawn for her. 🙂

mowinglawn

We also stopped at Anderson’s Pea Soup Restaurant (Santa Nuella, CA) along the way and it was pretty windy, but I think Z really enjoyed the wind blowing in his hair. This is one of my favorite pictures of the trip!

IMG_3494

I am off to go make some homemade pretzels and pizza dough for Father’s Day tomorrow!! I will post recipes soon!

 What is the hottest temperature you have run in? I can’t remember the exact temperature, but recently yesterday’s run was the hottest (at 90).

What time of day do you like to run or have to run? I actually enjoy running in the early morning just as the sun is peaking up, but my body enjoys the evening runs.

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon Training + Night Owl + Week in Review

  1. Marlene says:

    I also like the wind-blown hair!

  2. megbek says:

    Yay for switching your running times up and finding something that’s working. I prefer running immediately after work, around 6, but this heat is killing me. I also ran in 90 degree weather yesterday and thought I was going to faint. I really don’t know how I’m going to train for things with the weather being so evil. Aw, that is definitely an awesome picture of Z! How wonderful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

