Father’s Day and Sunday Food Prep week of 6/16-6/22/13

Yesterday was Father’s Day. Father’s Day always makes me think how I am a lot like my Dad, even though sometimes I don’t like to admit it.  I have his determination, drive, passion and stubbornness. These can all be positive and negative attributes to have, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I have always looked up to him growing up and still do to this day.

We  didn’t do anything special here, just our usual Sundays: running in the am, prepping IMG_3597food for the week and spending time together, but I did make a couple special things just for my hubby. I made homemade soft pretzels on Saturday and homemade pizza for Sunday’s dinner. Both turned out really good. The pretzels took a couple (unsupervised) hours to make and they were gone in less than an hour (even though my hubby will disagree with how long they lasted 🙂 ). There was a period of almost a whole year where I was making all our breads from home, using my bread machine, and after this weekend it made me miss making dough from scratch.

Enough of all my dough talk. Were you worried the whole post would be on dough? Don’t worry I will worn you at the beginning, if it is. I can bore you later with that stuff. I know you were reading every single word 🙂

Here is what you have been waiting for, my Sunday food prep for the week!

Grocery list (as always, this list does not include all of our weekly shopping, only contains food items):

  • Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf (whole beans) (Costco)
  • Organic baby spinach (Costco)
  • Bananas (Costco)
  • Black Olives (Lindsay-extra large) (Costco)
  • Boneless skinless chicken breasts (Costco)
  • Granny Smith Apples (Costco)
  • Eggs 2 -18 count (Costco)
  • Sweetened banana chips (Sprouts)
  • Thompson seedless raisins (Sprouts)
  • Oven roasted turkey breast deli slices (Sprouts)
  • Coconut milk (Thai Kitchen) (Sprouts)
  • Crushed tomatoes (Sprouts)
  • Blueberries (Sprouts)
  • Fresh Mint (Sprouts)
  • Cilantro (Sprouts)
  • Italian Parsley (Sprouts)
  • Organic golden beets (Sprouts)
  • red bell peppers (Sprouts) (4 for $1-what a steal)
  • Yellow peaches (Sprouts)
  • Red yams (Sprouts)
  • Yellow onions (Sprouts)
  • Chobani Flip (Ralphs and Target) (I think I am driving their stock up! –if they are publicly owned I don’t know if they are or not?)

Snacks:

  • homemade applesauce
  • Flavored H2O—>fill a pitcher with water + fresh mint  + sliced cucumber  or try mintcucumberwaterwater + fresh basil + fresh sliced strawberries
  • Chobani Flip
  • Trail mix – banana chips + sunflower seeds + raisins
  • Olives + hard-boiled eggs

Breakfast:

  • eggs w/ starchy veggie  I know same old boring eggs 😦

Lunch:

  • turkey roll ups —  turkey slices + spinach  + carrots  + yellow mustard
  • hot dogs
  • leftover dinners
  • breakfast for lunch

Dinner meals:

Father’s Day Food:

Home made pizza — (will post recipe this week–I promise!)

IMG_3613

 

 

Home made pretzels

IMG_3593

(recipe here->>Food Network’s Almost Famous Soft Pretzels)

***I will post the recipe for the pretzels and the pizza some time this week along with things I would do differently and/or change***

Food prep:

  1. Brown Italian sausage (Frittata and pizza)foodpreppic
  2. Roast bell peppers and onions -here is my recipe below
  3. Boil eggs (Hard-boiled)
  4. make homemade applesauce
  5. Flavored H2O
  6. Roast golden beets –> rinse off outside of whole beets + place in shallow dish with 1 inch of water + cover with foil  + bake at 400 for 65 minutes (or until fork easily pierces through)

 

 

 

Recipe for the roasted peppers and onions:

  1. Slice peppers and onions drizzle with salt and balsamic vinegar (1-2 TBL-depends on the quantity of veggies)
  2. lay out onto a foil lined baking sheet 
  3. roast at 400 for 40 mins  
  4. stir after the first 20 mins and again at 10 minute increments 
  5. Enjoy!

 

As you can tell I haven’t been eating as strict as I want to be. Today I am doing better with my eating. I have been thinking about doing the Whole30 again because I want to get back on track. I notice a huge difference in the days I eat 100% Paleo and the days I don’t. I like how I feel when I am eating Paleo and that is why I keep going back to it. Will keep you updated! I know you will be on the edge of your sit 🙂

What did you do for Father’s Day?

Have to leave you with this picture. We saw this as my running buddy and I weIMG_3595re driving home from our Sunday morning run and I had to take a picture! Too funny!

A huge bubble bath 🙂

This entry was posted in New Recipes, paleo, Sunday Food Prep and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Father’s Day and Sunday Food Prep week of 6/16-6/22/13

  1. Your Father’s Day pizza and pretzels look great! Are those really soap bubbles outside that house?

    • It is a water feature that is at the entrance of a housing development , that someone probably poured in some kind of soap/bath bubbles /etc. surprisingly, this isn’t the first time I have seen this.

  2. megbek says:

    Soft pretzels? Homemade? And homemade pizza? Lucky man, that husband is!
    I totally feel you with regard to diet. I don’t keep paleo, as I’ve said before, but have another way of healthy eating. I can tell almost instantly when I’m putting bad things in my body. Why, oh why, do I do that?! Lol.
    S’ghetti squash is the best, it literally goes with anything. I am with you on the same old boring breakfast. I would say I change up my breakfasts 4 times a year. It’s always one of the following – eggs, oatmeal, overnight oats, Greek yogurt, or smoothie. 🙂 Fruit, too, if I’m lucky. But anyway, it’s always the same and that’s how I like it!
    Oh what I wouldn’t give for a giant bubble bath!

  3. Food prep/grocery list….definitely a must. This is what I am working on now! (PS. Thanks for popping by my site!).

  4. Homemade pizza is amazing! It’s hard for me to get the crust right though, so I usually use a tortilla 🙂

  5. Pingback: Whole30: What, How, Why, When and Where? | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

