{New Recipes Alert!} Pizza and pretzel recipes + Mini Food Prep

I was not going to do any food prep yesterday because I just didn’t feel like being in the kitchen all afternoon. By mid-afternoon, I started to freak out because I soon realized what were we going to have for meals this week? Since I wasn’t going to do my normal food prep I decided to spend an hour in the kitchen just to make a few things for us this week. We are going on vacation next week, so our meals are going to be pretty simple this week, just trying to use up all our food in the fridge. Even our grocery shopping was short.

I know I promised you a couple of recipes from last week’s post. I will get to those at the end. Don’t worry. I know you have been on the edge of your sit all week 🙂

Here is our short grocery list for the week:

  • Eggs (Target)
  • Chobani Flip (Target)
  • sweet banana chips (Sprouts)
  • Thompson seedless raisins (Sprouts)
  • Kerrygold grass fed butter (Sprouts)
  • Applegate organic turkey slices (Sprouts)
  • sunflower seed butter (Sprouts)
  • uncured bacon (Sprouts)
  • baby carrots (Sprouts)
  • blueberries (Sprouts)
  • organic red beets (Sprouts)
  • red seedless grapes (Sprouts)
  • sweet potatoes (Sprouts)
  • bananas (Sprouts)

Farm Fresh To You (valley box) organic produce delivery content:

  • Seedless watermelon
  • Valencia oranges
  • Hass avocados
  • Green beans
  • cucumber
  • bag of mini sweet peppers
  • purple Globe eggplants
  • celery
  • red kale

Food prepped:PicMonkey Collagefoodprep

  • hard-boiled eggs
  • roasted sweet potatoes
  • cut up watermelon
  • fried bacon
  • cut up celery

Meal ideas:

  • hamburgers/hot dogs (sans the buns)
  • grilled Dijon mustard chicken w/ grilled eggplant
  • leftover frittata

snack ideas:

  • “ants on a log” – celery + sunflower seed butter + raisins
  • Kale chips
  • Chobani Flips

I’m not going to write out the whole recipe for the pretzels since I basically followed the exact recipe. I didn’t make the sauce because I felt that the pretzels alone would be enough, but feel free to make the sauce as well. Enjoy!

Food Network’s Almost Famous Soft Pretzels

PicMonkey Collagepretzeldough

The recipe for the pizza I used the ingredients from Joy of Cooking cookbook, but I baked the crust differently than they had instructed. I used to make my pizza dough with my bread machine, but the bread machine does not work anymore 😦  This was the first time I made the dough using my stand mixer, which actually turned out to be a lot quicker and easier.

Homemade Pizza Dough (Joy of Cooking):

Yields: 2 – 12 inch crusts

Inactive time: 90 minutes

Active time: 25 minutes

Total time: close to 2 hours

Ingredients:

1   1/3 cups warm water (105-115F) water

1 package (2 1/4 tsp) active dry yeast

3 1/2-3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 TBL olive oil

1 TBL salt

1 Tbl sugar

Instructions:

  1. Combine water and yeast in the bowl of a heavy-duty stand PicMonkey Collagepizzadoughpart1mixer or large bowl + let stand until yeast is dissolved (5 mins)
  2. Add remaining ingredients, in order, to yeast/water mixture + low-speed for about 1 minute.
  3. Using dough hook knead dough on low to medium speed until dough is smooth and elastic (15 mins)
  4. Transfer dough to an oiled bowl
  5. Cover with plastic wrap and let rise in warm place until dough is doubled in size(1 – 1 1/2 hours)
  6. Once dough has risen, punch down dough and divide in half
  7. I only used half of the recipe, so I wrapped the dough in plastic wrap and put in a freezerPicMonkey Collagepizzadoughpart2 bag and into the freezer for later use.
  8. The half I was using I transferred to the counter top and let the dough rest for about 20-25 minutes and loosely cover with a towel or plastic wrap.

 

 

 

 

 

Baking the pizza crust:

  • Preheat oven to 450
  • roll out/stretch dough to desired thickness/size
  • place dough onto cookie sheet that is sprinkled with cornmeal + stretch out dough more if needed.
  • brush dough with olive oil and poke with fork (helps to cut down on the dough bubbling)
  • Bake at 450 for 7 minutes + additional 6 mins at 475 (until lightly browned)

Pizza Toppings:  Italian sausage + goat cheese + roasted bell peppers + roasted onions

Assembling the Pizza:

  1. Once crust has been pre-baked (per instructions above) take PicMonkey Collagepizzafinishedproductout of oven and top crust with pizza sauce and any other additional toppings you want.
  2. I added sausage + goat cheese + roasted bell peppers + roasted onions
  3. Bake pizza at 475 for 5-7 minutes or until cheese has melted and/or toppings are heated through.
  4. enjoy!!

After making many home make pizza crusts in the last year I have learned that it is the easiest when you pre bake the crust before putting the toppings on because then you know that the crust is cooked through all the way. I always hated getting the pizza all ready and baking it, then taking it out of the oven, cutting it into pieces and finding out that the middle of the pizza crust isn’t cooked through all the way. Major fail 😦  I promise if you do follow my instructions you will get a delicious pizza and  you will never want to get Pizza Hut again !

Sorry, these recipes are obviously not Paleo at all! Next recipe will for sure be a Paleo recipe. I have been thinking I might start another round of the Whole30 again (in a couple weeks). Would anyone want to join me?

picofz

No real reason for this picture of Z, I just love his expression! I couldn’t keep this picture all to myself 🙂

 

Do you have any good recipes for some good homemade bread?

How was your weekend?

Did you do any food prep this weekend?

This entry was posted in New Recipes, Sunday Food Prep, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to {New Recipes Alert!} Pizza and pretzel recipes + Mini Food Prep

  1. Pingback: Meal 4 – Pizza | Rafferty's Rules

  2. megbek says:

    So many delicious carbs in this post! I do love some good and starchy bread foods! My mouth is now watering. I wish I had the patience to make either of those dishes, but unfortunately, I rely heavily on eating out when it comes to pizza/pretzels. There are these rolls that are becoming famous in Atlanta – pretzel rolls – which I’m sure are known everywhere but new to me. They are SO SO good and now I want to go out to lunch and get one. Yikes! Yay for traveling, even if it’s with a toddler!
    I would love to join you on the Whole30 but alas, I do not eat meat and that makes for a very minimal diet = cranky Meghan. 🙂 Yay for doing it again, maybe, though!!

  3. I once made a pizza using the Bisquick mix lol. 🙂 I was surprise it turned out good. LOL
    I’m going to copy your recipe!

Leave a Reply

