1st official review! Larabar: sweet and salty Uber Bars

I am so excited about this post because it is my first official review of a product. I love trying out products that are new to me and telling others about them. I was given an opportunity to try one of Larabar’s newer bars, the sweet & salty Uber bar. The Uber bars are made up of whole fruits and nuts and have no more than 9 ingredients in each bar. I love how you can read the ingredients’ label and actually be able to pronounce and identify each ingredient (that is how it should be!).  These are the main reasons why when I do eat nutrition bars Larabars are the ones I choose.  When I started eating Paleo I discovered Larabars because the majority of their products are Paleo approved. This particular line is not 100% Paleo approved due to the brown rice syrup and roasted peanuts, but they were completely worth every bite.

Here is a breakdown of Larabar’s different products they offer:

Original Larabar (May 2000)*

blend of unsweetened fruits, nuts and spices + no more than 9 ingredients

Jocalat (Winter 2006)*

organic chocolate bar + fruits, nuts and fair trade certified chocolate + no more than 7 ingredients + no added sugar + free of dairy, soy & gluten

Uber ( Winter 2012)*

sweet & salty bar + whole fruits & nuts

ALT (Winter 2013)*

alternative protein bar + added protein + vegan + gluten-free + dairy-free + non-GMO + uses an alternative protein source: peas

*all these stats come from Larabar’s website: http://www.larabar.com/

I was given 4 different Uber flavors to try:

4flavorsfinishedproduct

apple turnover  + cherry cobbler + bananas foster + roasted nut roll

Disclaimer: These bars were given to me for free in exchange for a review of their product, but all my opinions are my own.

PicMonkey Collageappleturnover

Apple Turnover

 

First bite caught me off guard because it was sweeter than what I was expecting. After the first initial bite, the rest of the bar was gone very quickly. Surprisingly, I was able to taste the dried apples. I can’t say it completely tasted like an apple turnover, but I definitely got the idea of what they were going for. This bar contains 9 ingredients: walnuts, dried apples, brown rice syrup, raisins, dates, pecans, honey, sea salt, cinnamon.

 

PicMonkey Collagecherrycobbler

Cherry Cobbler

 

I loved the mix of cherries, almonds, pecans, raisins, cashews and dates. This bar satisfied my sweet tooth that I get in the afternoon without the added sugar rush that usually comes along with it. This bar contains 9 ingredients: almonds, dried cherries, brown rice syrup, pecans, raisins, cashews, dates, honey, sea salt.

 

 

 

 

PicMonkey Collagebananasfoster

Bananas Foster

 

This bar was actually the least sweet of all the bars. I have never had bananas foster, so am unable to compare the two. I was able to faintly taste the dried bananas. This bar was my least favorite. This bar contains: walnuts, almonds, brown rice syrup, dates, dried bananas, pecans, honey, sea salt, cinnamon.

 

 

 

PicMonkey Collageroastednuts

Roasted Nut Roll

 

Let me honest, I thought this bar was going to be my least favorite, but it turns out to be my favorite out of all of them. I don’t know if it is because the nuts were roasted. The roasting brings out their natural sweetness or the fact that it has macadamia nuts and peanuts which I haven’t had in FOREVER! This bar contains: roasted almonds, cashews, brown rice syrup, roasted peanuts, dates, pecans, roasted macadamia nuts, honey, sea salt.

Average Nutritional values for the 4 different bars:

200 calories + dietary fiber 11 % daily value + Sodium 6% DV  + Potassium 6% DV  + Total Carbs 6% DV  + Sugars 10g  + Protein 4g  + Calcium 3 % DV  + Iron 4% DV

For a nutritional bar these numbers are pretty good when you take into consideration that these are not supposed to act as a meal replacement just an additional snack to add to your daily intake.

Have one of these bars and a cup of coffee for an afternoon treat and you are good to go! 🙂

 

If you haven’t tried out Larabar, now is your chance!  Head on over to their website and print out a coupon: save $1 on 2 bars. How can you go wrong with that?

Have you tried any of Larabar’s products? What is your favorite?

 

GET CONNECTED WITH LARABAR:

Facebook page: Larabar

Twitter: @larabar

website: www.larabar.com

Pinterest: LÄRABAR

This entry was posted in Product reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 1st official review! Larabar: sweet and salty Uber Bars

  1. Marlene says:

    The store by my house only had the cherry cobbler. I would like to try the other flavors. They were good., but cherry is not my favorite flavor.

  2. Love Larabar! The roasted nut roll sounds yummy! I’ll have to find these and try them.

  3. Great review! I love their Uber bars, especially the cherry cobbler! They are pretty sweet, but taste so good if you’re in the mood for sweet!

  4. Pingback: Camping, Cameras, and Homemade Larabars | Fearless Food & Fitness

Leave a Reply

