Week 7 Marathon Training + No running for 5 days!

This week was a productive and unproductive training week. Productive in a sense that I worked out every day this week. Unproductive being that I only ran twice this week. I went 5 WHOLE DAYS of no running! It has been so long since I had gone that long in between runs.

Here is how my week of training (or lack of) played out:

The week got away from me. I usually do my weekday runs on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but this Tuesday I went to a HIIT class that was being offered through my mommy workout group. I am glad I went to the class because I loved it, I was dripping sweat half way through and left with more energy than when I started with. Since the workout left me with some sore legs and gluts the next day I wasn’t going to run. So, now it is Thursday, my next scheduled run, and then this happens….

thursdaytemp

 

There was no way I was going running in this heat and not after my last experience in 90+ temperatures. Since it was almost 7 at night and I don’t like running in the dark by myself, the run was not going to happen.  After Thursday, I knew I wasn’t going to run again until today’s 5k race because I wanted my legs to feel fresh for this morning’s race.  I was disappointed in myself because I had gone 5 days without running, but I guess I was more afraid that I was exercising too much and didn’t want to set myself up for injury. *knock on wood* I have been very fortunate that I haven’t had any injuries for years now.

This morning my hubby, Z and I ran the 2nd annual Little Heart Warriors 5k race. Well, technically Z didn’t “run” more like being pushed in a stroller by hubby. One of the directors of this race is a part of our mommy-workout group, so this race was very special.

Little Heart Warriors was created by a group of mothers with children with severe Congenital Heart Defects.  We want to share our story with others and educate our community, as well as pay it forward to help as many families during their own journey with Congenital Heart Disease as possible.

Little Heart Warriors Run will donate the proceeds to families at Loma Linda University Children’s Hospital’s Pediatric Cardiac Intensive Care Unit.  LLUCH’s mission is to continue the healing ministry of Christ, focusing on the physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual needs of children and their families…and seek to enhance the lives of our community’s children by delivering the promise of a healthier future today.  With 40,000 CHD babies born each year, CHD is the #1 birth defect in the United States. Little Heart Warriors website

(source)

These are some very strong mommas and their Little Heart Warriors! I am privileged to know one of the momma’s that started this organization and her little heart warrior, Evan. He is almost 4 years old, but going on 30. He is wise beyond his years 🙂
The race was very well-organized and had a great turnout.

There was some discrepancies with timing for the race, but that won’t stop me from running this race every year for as long as they will have it. I knew it wasn’t going to be a full 3.1 miles going into the race, so I was prepared to run what ever the difference was after crossing the finish line.

Little Heart Warriors 5K stats:

Official time:  25:58(total time)   8:23 (pace)  Placed 2nd in my division

Garmin time: 27:28 (3.11 miles)      8:51(pace)    165 bpm

Oh yeah, that’s right, I placed 2nd in my age group (25-29)!!! I didn’t know I placed 2nd until later this afternoon when I went to go online to check my time. I was very surprised. From what I can remember there has only been one other time in a race where I placed in the top 3 in my division. I am not very fast.

zandi

Week 7 training

Sunday, June 23: 12 mile run 1:59.14  (9:56 min/mil    152 bpm)

Monday, June 24:  1 hour interval training/power walking  +  Z’s 30 minute swim lesson

Tuesday, June 25: AM 1 hour interval training/power walking  + Z’s 30 min swim lesson

PM 1 hour HIIT (kid-free!)

Wednesday, June 26: 1 hour interval training/power walking + Z’s 30 min swim lesson

Thursday, Jue 27: 1 hour interval training/power walkig + Z’s 30 min swim lesson

Friday, June 28: 1 hour interval training/power walking + Z’s 30 min swim lesson

Saturday, June 29: Little Heart Warriors 5k race  (see stats above)

Any races or fun plans this weekend?

What is the longest you have gone in between runs?

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 7 Marathon Training + No running for 5 days!

  1. Congrats on your second place finish! I don’t know which I would like better, a 0K run or sleep yoga! HaHa!

  2. Lindsey, I just ran a local 5K today and finished in exactly the same time as you did in this race! 25:58… Clearly you should move to Virginia so we can run together! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Round-up #2: local race + kids blogs + new coffee app! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

