Week 8 Marathon Training: Wild Kingdom edition

Week 8 of my training was in Ohio. I knew I wasn’t going to do my long run on Sunday because that was the morning that we were flying out to Cleveland. My goal for the week was to just get in 2 runs while on vacation. I am happy to say that I did meet my  goal for the week. I always enjoy running, but I was even more excited because I knew we were going to be running in the Rocky River Metroparks. Rocky River is just one of the reservations that makes up the Cleveland Metroparks. The Metroparks span over 9,000 acres in nine unconnected reservations that include Rocky River, Huntington, Big Creek, Hinckley, Brecksville, Bedford, South Chagrin, North Chagrin and Euclid Creek.  Running through Rocky River is a wonderful change of pace.

On our last run, on Friday, I was set to run 6 miles that morning, a nice out and back. The three of us took off along the trail, with my hubby pushing Z in his jogging stroller. Starting off on the first mile, I felt a sense of tranquility. I left my iPod at the hotel. I just wanted to enjoy the sounds of nature.

trail3picmokey

I could hear the rustling of the trees from the rain drops falling from the sky. It was a peaceful sound. It made everything else not matter until….

We hadn’t even been running for a mile and already had seen more “nature” than I was intending. We came across a flock of geese (I think?!)  that decided to cross the road as a car was driving down, luckily the car stopped, but it was so cute to see them all “walk” across the road in a single file line.

duckscrossingroadusethisone

Sorry, I am from California we don’t see too much “nature” out here. Then within a quarter-mile of the geese siting’s, a deer came charging out of the woods and across the trail we were running on. Let’s just say, that scared me so much that I almost peed my pants. I was not expecting that at all. I was afraid it was going to come chasing after me. Again, I’m from California we don’t have deer that come that close. I was so traumatized after that, all I wanted to do was to get the h*** out of there. It didn’t help that I was already on edge, when I heard (not saw) the loudest frog I have ever heard. I was afraid it was like one of those giant mutate frogs that was going to attack me. The rest of the run, I had my eyes on constant lookout and sad to say I did not enjoy the rest of the run….

Six miles later, we were back at the car. Z was asleep. I was drenched in a combination of sweat and rain. Aside from seeing and hearing all the “nature”, running the six miles was pretty comfortable.

trail1picmonkeyusethisone

As we were heading back to the car, we spotted a white cotton tailed rabbit that Z was fascinated with. No need to take Z to the Zoo out in Cleveland, just take him to the Metro Parks for free 🙂

zwatchingrabbitpicmonkey

I enjoyed running in “nature”, but am happy to be back running on the dirt “trails” with the hot sun beaming down on me and breathing in the smoggy/polluted air *sarcasm*

Both my runs in the Metro Parks, my legs felt dead the whole time and I don’t know if that was because of the traveling and being off of my normal “diet” or if my body was trying to tell me that I needed to rest my legs more. The positive was that my HR was the lowest it has ever been during those runs and was easier to breathe comfortably. I don’t know if the reason for the low HR was due to the low elevation and/or the air quality. I didn’t think a 800 ft difference in elevation would make that much of a difference?!

picmonkey4milerun

Yes, this photo is staged. I had my hubby run out ahead of me, so he could get an action shot. Sorry, it is a little blurry, he isn’t used to taking pictures. 🙂

Week 8 marathon training:

Sunday, June 30:  Travel

Monday, July 1: no workouts

Tuesday, July 2:    4 mile run 38:48.64 (9:41 /mil) 153bpm

Wednesday, July 3: no workouts

Thursday, July 4: no workouts

Friday, July 5:  6 mile run 57:56.69  (9:39 /mil) 152 bpm

Saturday, July 6: Travel

Total miles: 10

Have you ever encountered any “nature” while running? the only “nature” I have to worry about is if a dog is going to chase after me.

Anyone been to the Rocky River Metro Parks? It is a must if you are ever in the Cleveland area. Watch out for the deer and the mutate frogs!

Do you have nice trails that you run on by where you live?

What is the elevation where you live/run at? 1,400 ft  home (Metro Parks=600 ft)

zcrackinguppicmonkey

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 8 Marathon Training: Wild Kingdom edition

  1. Marlene says:

    I glad you enjoyed the Nature you encountered here.

  2. Looks like a fantastic place to run! And that’s awesome your HR was low throughout.
    I don’t see many animals on my runs, except for geese! In Jasper it’s a different story though- from elk to deer to hawks to bears!

  3. I love your “staged” photo, and if you hadn’t told us, I wouldn’t have guessed it. But then I do it all of the time with the Cruisers! 🙂

    We have a lot of nature on our trails as you’ve seen from my posts. Today I’m still visiting my parents and I just got in from a run “out in the country.” I got a little frightened when I heard a noise along the road in the woods and wasn’t sure if it was a cow that was hoarse from bawling or if it “might” be a bear or cub calling the other. Let me tell you that my speed picked up a whole lot!

    We live about 300 feet above sea level, but my parents are about 2,000 feet. It’s hillier here, too, so I’m not sure if it’s the slightly higher altitude or the hills that always makes my runs more difficult when I’m visiting.

  4. Pingback: 2013: My year in Review (Picture Edition) | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

