Sunday Food Prep for week of July 14-20 + Iced Toddy

I promise one of these days I will actually have this Sunday Food Prep posted on Sunday but, today is not that day and tomorrow isn’t looking too good either (Seinfeld quote, anyone?!). For now I guess we can call it Monday’s food prep because I basically did all my food prep today.  Before, I go on and forget to tell you. I can’t believe I completely forget to tell you that on our plane ride back to LAX,  Z finally got his wings! It was so cute. The stewardess gave all the kids their very own set of wings to take home.

zgothiswingspicmonkey

Now, back to the food. My goal has always been to every week to try a new recipe that I have never made before. Some weeks are better than others. I also always ask my hubby if he has any requests, Paleo approved of course, and this week he was in the mood for Mexican. So, typical me, I went searching on Pinterest  and found a recipe that I had never heard of before, but sounded interesting, Plantain tostados w/ cilantro-lime chicken, ranchero sauce and guacamole. I plan on making them tomorrow, will let you know how they turn out. *fingers crossed*

Grocery list:

  • roasted/salted sunflower seeds (Sprouts)
  • banana chips (Sprouts)
  • Thompson seedless raisins (Sprouts)
  • chipotle chili powder (Sprouts)
  • organic canned fire-roasted tomatoes (Sprouts)
  • Thai Kitchen coconut milk (Sprouts)
  • Organic raw cacao powder (Sprouts)
  • Sunflower seed butter (Sprouts)
  • celery stalks (Sprouts)
  • Cherries (Sprouts)
  • fresh cilantro (Sprouts)
  • Green leaf lettuce (Sprouts)
  • avocados (Sprouts)
  • lemons (Sprouts)
  • limes (Sprouts)
  • plantains (Sprouts)
  • red bell peppers (Sprouts)
  • red leaf lettuce (Sprouts)
  • red seedless grapes (Sprouts)
  • rutabaga (Sprouts)
  • sweet potatoes (Sprouts)
  • oranges (Sprouts)
  • bananas (Sprouts)
  • coconut oil (Sprouts)
  • Italian chicken sausage (Trader Joe’s)
  • Jalapeno chicken sausage (Trader Joe’s)

Food Prep:

  • hard-boiled eggs (snack-extra protein)
  • wash and cut celery (snack-w/sunflower seed butter and raisins)PicMonkey Collagefoodprepusethis
  • assemble tuna salad (canned tuna + celery + red onion + paleo mayo + Italian parsley)
  • steam broccoli (w/ garlic salt + Italian seasonings)
  • roast veggies (peel, cut into cubes and toss w/ EVOO – sweet potatoes + golden beets + carrots + rutabaga (didn’t get to the last 2))
  • make deviled eggs (HB eggs + paleo mayo + yellow mustard + salt + paprika)
  • paleo mayo (Well Fed)
  • rinse olives (snack-healthy fat)
  • rinse lettuce (lunch)
  • Make Iced Toddy (see recipe below)

Breakfast ideas:

  • eggs w/ veggies (same old)

Lunch ideas:

  • Tuna salad on red leaf lettuce w/ black olives
  • egg salad (if need an extra lunch idea)
  • chicken sausages

Dinner Ideas:

Snack ideas:

  • deviled eggs w/ olives
  • ants on a log (celery+ sunflower seed butter  + raisins)
  • cherries/grapes
  • trail mix (banana chips + sunflower seeds + raisins)

**Yes, I am currently obsessed with sunflower seeds and raisins, as you can tell.

If you have been following my Instagram or FB account today I posted a picture and wanted you to guess what I was making. Do you have a guess? I will show you the picture again in case you missed it:

icedtoddy

ICED TODDY!

No, this does not contain any alcohol. Sorry! Iced Toddy is a cold-brewed coffee. By making the iced coffee, cold brewed, there is 67% less acidity than your normal hot brewed coffee. Toddy is made through a process of soaking coarsely ground coffee beans in water and letting it sit for 12-24 hours. You can make this in a regular pitcher and strain it using a fine mesh strainer, but I wanted the real thing! I went on Amazon last week and ordered me one of these:

toddyfromamazon

Making this Iced Toddy brought back some good memories of when I worked at a local drive-thru coffee shop years ago. If you didn’t know me back in my coffee shop days, well then you missed out! Just kidding! Even when I was in high school I was obsessed with coffee. I was a senior in high school when this little drive thru coffee shop was opening up and I thought, “How perfect is this, a coffee shop right down the street from where I live, it’s not Starbucks and I need a job!”. I worked there from when I was a senior in high school until I was about 23 (?) years old, off and on towards the end. I know, lame, I worked there for so long, but it paid my bills (at the time), helped feed my caffeine addiction and I loved the people I worked with. It made my appreciation of a good cup of coffee grow even stronger. Sadly, it has been closed for several years now. Once the Starbucks drive-thru boom hit that area, it was very hard to bounce back. I hate that our only choices now are the big corporate chains. I get so excited when I am visiting another city and I find a local coffee shop because it reminds me of the old Coffee Shop days.

Iced Toddy recipe:

  • Toddy brewing system (or a pitcher (that holds 7+ cups of liquid) and fine mesh strainer)
  • 12 oz coarsely ground coffee beans (I used Peet’s dark roast beans)
  • 7 cups of filtered water

Instructions:

  1. Assembly filter and plug as instructed with brewing system manual
  2. pour 1 cup of water into the container
  3. add 6 ozs of the ground coffee beans
  4. slowly pour 3 cups of water
  5. add the remaining 6 ozs of beans
  6. in a circular motion add the last 3 cups of water
  7. make sure all grounds are covered by the water (use a spoon to push the grounds down)
  8. cover with foil
  9. let sit for 12-24 hours (I did 16 hours)
  10. pull plug and let drain into the glass carafe that came with the brewing system
  11. Took about 1 hour for all the liquid to drain through
  12. Finished product: Toddy concentrate

PicMonkey Collageicedtoddysteps

 

 

To make an Iced Toddy:

  1. Manufacturer recommends a 3 to 1 ratio (milk/milk substitute/water to toddy concentrate)
  2. I wanted stronger coffee. I used a 2 to 1 ratio
  3. 1/2 cup toddy concentrate + 1 cup filtered water + paleo creamer (to taste) + cacao powder (not cocoa-completely different) + cinnamon
  4. Stir everything together and ENJOY!

What did you have to eat today?

Do you have a favorite local coffee shop that you visit regularly?

This entry was posted in New Recipes, paleo, Sunday Food Prep, Uncategorized, Whole30 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Sunday Food Prep for week of July 14-20 + Iced Toddy

  1. Amanda says:

    Mmmm that sounds awesome!!!

  2. Ha! I totally thought that you were doing a different version of the ‘Hot Toddy!’ Even though it has no alcohol 🙂 it still sounds delicious! I also noticed that you bought a few of your shopping list items at Trader Joe’s. I really wish we had one. The closest to me is about 3 hours away.

  3. Yay for your food prep! I must confess, blogging on the weekends is sort of… ah! I refuse to do it for a reason… I like to relax! So, put up your food prep whenever you please!
    How adorable, I remember getting wings and being so happy! I bet he felt super special! 🙂 Interesting way to make coffee… Looks good! Rebekah buys that Trader Joe’s sausage and I bought her some the other day… She loves it! 🙂 I am a Starbucks brat… I’m a gold member, I get coffee allllll the time from there. I can drink my coffee black, and I do most days, from home, but I still absolutely love my Starbucks. 🙂

    • I know I used to be a Starbucks addict. At least for these 30 days I am only going to Starbucks once a week after my long run! After the 30, I can’t make any promises. Yeah I think I’m going to be doing Monday food preps from now on, I like to have my sunday afternoons free 🙂

  4. MikeW says:

    Great ideas on your blog, lists and photos. Inspiring better eating!

  5. In my next life I am going to be as organized with my food prep as you are! 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear how the Mexican recipe turns out! Of course you may have already written about it and I don’t know since I’m so far behind on reading my favorite blogs!

  6. Pingback: Pin-it Party #3! | onemotherofaday

  7. Pingback: {Paleo} Food Prep + Meal Planning: 8/11-8/16/14 {Bonus: The Perfect Mayo recipe} | onemotherofaday

  8. Pingback: Food prep…..what’s yours? | thewhitedish

Leave a Reply

