Never in a million years! Week 9 + 10 Marathon Training + Running Playlist

Hello All! I know it has been pretty quiet on my blog this week. And I know I keep saying I am going to be more organized and consistent with my posts obviously, that hasn’t happened. I guess it is just wishful thinking.

Anyways, I do want to go over the last 2 weeks of my training and my current running playlist as of now. I know you all have been dying to know how many miles I have been running lately and what I listen to on my runs. *insert sarcasm here*

Week 9 training went good. I did all my scheduled runs for the week. Since, coming back from our Cleveland trip I have been still trying to adjust to our air quality/temp during my runs. I can’t completely blame the air and temps for my struggles during my runs but, I don’t know what else it could be? The one positive about my week 9 training was that my long run on Sunday, the following morning after we got back from Cleveland, was really good. My goal for that run was minimum of 8 and maximum of 12 and I ended up running 10 for that Sunday which, I was really happy with.

Week 9 Training (7/7-7/13)

Sunday, July 7: 10 Mile run 1:37.08 (9:43/mil) (159 bpm)

10milecollage

Monday, July 8: 1 hour walking/interval training/cardio

Tuesday, July 9:   1 hour walking/interval/cardio ;   2 mile run 19:31 (pace 9:44/mil) (151 bpm)

Wednesday, July 10:  1 hour walking/interval/cardio

Thursday, July 11: 1 hour walking/stroller barre

Friday, July 12:  1 hour walking/interval/cardio  ;  6 mile run 58:20 (9:43/mil)

Saturday, July 13: REST

Total miles for the week: 18 miles

Week 10 started off really good with a 14 miler that I ran on Sunday. Sunday was a big day for me, running wise, because 14 miles is the farthest I have ever ran in my whole life. I never would have thought in a MILLION YEARS that I would ever run more than 13.1 miles or ever WANT to, for that matter. Every time I am coming close to the finish line in a half marathon, I am always thinking, “there is no way I could ever run more than this!”. Then on this last Sunday, I just crushed any doubts I ever had. After I ran 13.26 miles (the distance that most of my half marathons have measured) and was coming to the end of my 14 miler, with my hubby and Z running along side of me, I knew that my dream of running a marathon wouldn’t be a dream much longer. Running for some reason makes me emotional, I don’t know why but, it does. I always get a little salty discharge whenever I am running for long distances and coming to the end of a long run because just thinking about how much I have accomplished on my own with how much mental and physical strength I have, makes me emotional. Don’t get me wrong, after my 14 miler, my legs were killing me but, you forget about all the pain you are in when you have accomplished so much.

Enough of all this emotional talk, onto one of my worst runs I have had in a while. I asked myself today, “how can I have a life-changing run and a really bad run all in one week?”. The answer, “I have no idea!”. My 2nd run of the week didn’t go so well. This should have been my 3rd run but, in typical Lindsey fashion I made too many excuses to go out and run a measly 2 miles on Tuesday. Maybe that is why my 6 miler on Thursday sucked so bad. I waited until  the sun was setting so it wouldn’t be too bad (temperature wise) and headed out on my 6 miler. By mile 2.5 when I had to go up hill, a little, my legs felt extremely weak and very wobbly, along with my whole body feeling weak. I hadn’t felt like that in a very, very long time. I actually had to stop and walk several times during the course of only half a mile. Needless to say, I powered through and by mile 4 I was feeling back to normal and finished my 6 miles.

Week 10 Training (7/14-720)

Sunday, July 14:   14 mile run  2:13.59 (9:34/mil) (158 bpm)

PicMonkey Collage14miler

Monday, July 15: 1 hour walking/interval training/cardio

Tuesday, July 16: 1 hour walking/interval/cardio

Wednesday, July 17: 1 hour walking/interval/cardio

Thursday, July 18: 1 hour walking/interval/cardio ;  6 mile run 59:11 (9:51/mil) (147 bpm)

Friday, July 19: 1 hour walking/interval/cardio

Saturday, July 20: REST

Total miles: 20 miles

In regards to my running, my short-term goal for this coming week is to run all my scheduled runs and to not make excuses.

I am officially less than 3 months out from running my very FIRST FULL MARATHON! I really have to get serious now about my training! NO MORE EXCUSES!!

Before I sign off, I promised to show you my current running playlist:

#Beautiful (Mariah Carey)

Treasure (Bruno Mars)

I Need Your Love (Calvin Harris)

Same Love (Macklemore & Ryan Lewis)

Get Lucky (Daft Punk)

Blurred Lines (Robin Thicke)

Pour It Up (Rihanna)

Mirrors (Justin Timberlake)

Can’t Hold Us (Macklemore & Ryan Lewis)

I Love It (Icona Pop)

Suit & Tie (Justin Timberlake)

I Cry (Flo Rida)

Beauty & a Beat (Justin Bieber)

Sweet Nothing (Calvin Harris)

Lights (Ellie Goulding)

Take Back the Night (Justin Timberlake)

Thrift Shop (Macklemore & Ryan Lewis)

Skyfall (Adele)

Down (Jay Sean)

Break your Heart (Taio Cruz & Ludacris)

Baby (Justin Bieber & Ludacris)

Wild Ones (Flo Rida)

Give me everything (Pitbull)

Happy (Leona Lewis)

What are your favorite songs?

What is the farthest you have ever run?

Am I the only weird one that gets emotional on a run?

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Never in a million years! Week 9 + 10 Marathon Training + Running Playlist

  1. Aunt Amy says:

    Exciting stuff. I got I to Nike woman’s marathon on October 20th did my ten mile run this morning. This morning I hit my restart button. And yes when I run I get that same teary feeling. 😉

  2. Oh, I can so relate. I have not passed the 13.1 mark yet as I am only in week two of marathon training. I know about the emotions though. I have cried on more than one occasion and they were mostly all tears of joy! Great job!

  3. Yay!!! Congrats on your 14-mile run!!! Your marathon will be here before you know it! My longest run was my JFK 50-Miler… a crazy moment in my life! 🙂

    When I PR’d at the Steamtown Marathon and realized that not only had I PR’d, but I’d run even faster than my goal time, I broke down and sobbed as soon as I crossed the finish line. I immediately found a spot so I could be alone and people wouldn’t ask me if I was OK.

  4. wantneko04 says:

    Good luck on the marathon training! 😀 Blurred lines=SUPER catchy *stuck in my head!*
    I’ve been back on the Pac Electric trail this week, it’s been crazy finding parking at the trail head!

  5. Pingback: Pin-it Party #3! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

