Recap of the Whole30: I finished!

Now, I do have to admit I was not perfect during the 30 days. My goal of this Whole30 was to cut down on my Chobani and “coffee shop” drink consumption. Prior to the Whole30 I was getting a little out of control with my Iced Caramel lattes and my Chobani Flips. I need to warn any “Whole30-paleo police” out there because if having “cheats” during the whole30 really bothers you than don’t continue reading the rest of this post. For those of you who don’t care if I had a few “cheats” then read on….

By the Numbers: Cheats

(6) Chobani FlipsPicMonkey Collagewhole30cheats

(10)  “coffee shop” drinks

(1) slice of chocolate cake (My Dad’s birthday!)

(1) Juice It Up Detoxifier juice blend

 

 

 

Chobani Flips

When I started this Whole30 I was going to include my Chobani flips as part of my exception. By the end of Day 2 I quickly realized that was not a good idea and had already consumed 4 of those bad boys!

During the first week I had received some Chobani Flips to review from Chobani. I felt that I had to try them out because they were in my fridge. I am happy to report that after the 30 days I still had 10 out of 12 of those guys still in my fridge. Normally, those would have been gone by day 4 of getting them in the mail! I was very happy with myself that I had a lot of will-power to not feel the need to eat them all. My goal for next week is to try the new flavors that I received and do a review post on them. Be on the lookout for that post!

 

GOOD EATS

Since I was a total slacker and didn’t do a post on the food I ate on my last days on the Whole30, here you go:

Days 21-30

PicMonkey Collagedays21-30

1.) Breakfast Meatza – PaleOMG (dinner)

2.) scrambled eggs + bacon + maple sage roasted butternut squash (Beyond Bacon)

3.) Turkey Cuban Roll-up + salame + black olives +hard-boiled egg + fresh mango (lunch)

4.) Stuff Peppers w/ Spanish sticky “rice”- PaleOMG (dinner)

5.) ground beef patty w/ roasted/balsamic peppers & onions & bacon + broccoli & bacon (dinner)

6.) Apple & bacon stuffed Pork chops – Beyond Bacon-Paleo Parents (dinner/lunch)

7.) Spaghetti squash sausage bake – PaleOMG (dinner)

8.) Hot plate-grilled chicken w/ Dijon green beans on a bed of spinach – Well Fed- Melissa Joulwan (http://theclothesmakethegirl.com/) (dinner)

9.) scrambled eggs + roasted carrots & sweet potatoes (breakfast)

Favorite Snacks

PicMonkey Collagewhole30snacks

Favorite Breakfasts

PicMonkey Collagebreakfasteats

Favorite Lunches

PicMonkey Collagewhole30lunch

Favorite Dinners

PicMonkey Collagewhole30dinner

Whole30 RECAP

MOOD

Overall good. I will admit at the beginning I was getting a little crazy about not having my Chobani Flips; it was almost like an addiction.

Cravings

No strong cravings. I believe the 21 Day Sugar Detox really helped me in managing my huge sweet tooth I had.

Physical (running)

My recoveries have been much quicker. Less sore for shorter period of time.

Physical (overall)

Feel slimmer and more muscular, even though the scale doesn’t show it (lost 4 lbs). This just proves that it is just a number on the scale. You shouldn’t go by the number on the scale; you have to go on how you feel physically, emotional and mentally. Don’t worry about if you are in the “normal” range for your height and age. Don’t worry if you have only lost 2 pounds in the last 2 weeks or haven’t lost anything at all. Keep in mind: muscle weighs more than fat!

Energy level

When I did “cheat” I was tired and bloated the rest of the day. During these 30 days, there were some afternoons where I didn’t even have my coffee!

Post-Whole30 guidelines (FOR ME)

1.) Keep breakfast, lunch and dinner strictly Paleo (unless out of town)

2.) Indulge in a few treats here and there!

3.) If I want a yogurt or an Iced Caramel Latte then I will have it!

Head on over to Whole30’s website for some great resources on what to do when you finish the Whole30: Nutritional Off-Roading , Whole30-Timeline (what to expect each day of the program)

One of these days I will do another Whole30, but my goal will be to go without any “cheats”! Maybe I will be doing another one in the near future, who knows!

Check out my other posts I did for the Whole30: Whole30 intro postWhole30 Days 7-13, Days 14-20

I know I have been MIA lately!   What have you been up to this week?

Training for any races?

Any Paleo people out there? Have you done a Whole30?

This entry was posted in paleo, Uncategorized, Whole30 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Recap of the Whole30: I finished!

  1. Kimberly Morganstern says:

    Yay! You can do anything you put your heart too, Bravo!

  2. Marlene says:

    I am glad you made it through.

  3. Wow, I still don’t know how you can be so good for 30 days! I cracked up at your “cheats.” Those were pretty minor all things considered!

  4. Kaitlin says:

    I’ve been wanting to monitor and kick my sugar habit (at least a little) this might be good!

  5. Pingback: WIAW #7: Post-Whole30 + Chobani Flip Review | onemotherofaday

  6. Pingback: Monday Food Prep Week of 9/1-9/6/13 + Whole30 Round 2 | onemotherofaday

  7. Pingback: Pin-it Party #3! | onemotherofaday

  8. Pingback: Paleo is a lifestyle, not a diet! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

