Monday Food Prep 8/18-8/23/13 + Hatch Chile Time!

It’s that time of year again!! It is hatch chiles time!!! I was so excited when I was at the grocery store and saw they were carrying the hatch chilies! I know I am a nerd, I get excited about produce! These hatch chilies are like the mackinaw peaches of the Seinfeld world. They are only available for a short period of time and then they disappear until the next season. They are available in 3 different heat levels: mild, medium and hot. I get the mild ones because I am a wuss and I blame Z for ruining my tolerance of spicy foods. My hubby gets the hot ones!

Hatch Chiles

The tapered green chiles known as Hatch chiles are exclusively grown in the farmlands of Hatch, New Mexico. Hatch chiles are in season from late summer to early fall and are a beloved pepper for chile fans due to their robust and spicy flavor. Sprouts website

Actually, this is only the 2nd season since we have discovered these little gems. My hubby has gotten quite good at roasting these bad boys. He wanted to make sure that I give him credit on here for his great roasting abilities. I told him, don’t worry I will! What is with these guys?  They are all of a sudden very concerned that I am not going to give the proper credit (my Dad first and now my hubby!). Love you both!

Disclaimer: The following instructions for roasting these chiles are completely 100% my hubby’s!!!

Roasting Hatch ChilesPicMonkey Collagehatchchiles

  1. Pre-heat oven @ 400
  2.  rinse the chiles and dry them completely with a paper towel.
  3. place chiles on a foil lined baking sheet
  4. roast in oven for 10 minutes (or until the tops are starting to blister).
  5. once chiles are blistering, flip them!
  6. roast for another 7-8 minutes (again, until tops are starting to blister).
  7. once both sides are blistered, remove from oven
  8. place immediately in a freezer bag and seal shut for 5-10 minutes
  9. once they are cool to the touch, start peeling off the skins and de-seeding the chiles.
  10. You are done! Use in any dish that you want to add a little heat and some smoky flavor to!

So far these are the different dishes I have used the hatch chiles in:PicMonkey Collageusesforhatchchiles

1.) Steak fajitas (PaleOMG) – instead of the poblano peppers I used the hatch.

2.) Hatch chile omelet

3.) Topping for a hamburger

Now onto my food prep for the week

Farm Fresh to You (organic delivery service) contents:

  • heirloom tomatoesPicMonkey Collagefarmfreshtoyou
  • Bartlett pears
  • gravenstein apples
  • red seedless grapes
  • red plums
  • zucchini
  • celery
  • green leaf lettuce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Food prep

  • hard-boil eggs (extra protein/snack)PicMonkey Collagemondayfoodprep
  • balsamic zucchini/summer squash (Beyond Bacon) (side dish)
  • marinated beets -red and golden (NomNomPaleo) (side dish/starchy veggie)
  • fry bacon (extra fat)
  • grill chicken (protein)
  • cut up celery (snack-w/ sunflower seed butter and raisins)
  • roast hatch chiles

Breakfast ideas

  • eggs + marinated beets + broccoli + bacon
  • leftover biscuits and gravy (Beyond Bacon)

Lunch ideas

  • salami + olives + hard-boiled egg(s) + turkey roll-up (PaleOMG)
  • leftovers from dinner

Dinner ideas

  • Coffee marinated steak fajitas (PaleOMG) (I didn’t use the specific cold brew brand they state in the recipe–regular brewed coffee worked great!)
  • Hamburger (sans bun) + heirloom tomato + roasted hatch chiles + balsamic zucchini
  • Biscuits & gravy (Beyon Bacon)
  • slow cooker kielbasa & sauerkraut (PaleoPot)

Snacks

  • HB egg(s) + olives + bacon
  • trail mix (sunflower seeds + raisins + banana chips)
  • Ants on a log (celery + sunflower seed butter + raisins)

**I know my snacks don’t really change from week to week!

PicMonkey Collagepictureofz

Does your grocery store carry hatch chiles? Have you tried them?

Is there anything that you look forward to, whether it be food or otherwise, that is only around for a short time?

This entry was posted in farm fresh to you deliveries, Food finds, New Recipes, paleo, Sunday Food Prep, Whole30 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monday Food Prep 8/18-8/23/13 + Hatch Chile Time!

  1. Your steak fajitas look soooo good! 🙂 I tried the hatch chiles before. I cooked it with a pasta I made from months ago.! 🙂 My hubby and I love anything spicy! 🙂

    • the fajitas were so easy to make!! my hubby warmed up a tortilla since he isn’t 100% paleo. The steak also didn’t have a strong coffee flavor either, otherwise my hubby wouldn’t have liked it.

  2. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures says:

    I love all the PaleOMG recipes and I’m glad you’re trying all of them out! She’s really super creative and her recipes are always a success! 🙂 Haha, I love that you gave him credit where it was due! And your little man is the cutest in the entire world.
    I have to applaud you and your diverse food intake – I like to think I do a good job incorporating different food groups but you own it girl! You are always using colorful and different flavors in your cooking and I love it!

  3. Pingback: Pin-it Party #3! | onemotherofaday

  4. Pingback: Paleo is a lifestyle, not a diet! | onemotherofaday

  5. Pingback: Saturday weekly round-up series #1 | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

