Week 15 Marathon Training + Fastest mile yet!

I want to apologize in advance for the lack of pictures in this post. I didn’t realize that I really dropped the ball on picturing taking this week, until it was too late! Oh well!!

This week’s long run was part of my “recovery/easy” week.  At the beginning of my marathon training I had printed out a training plan from Runner’s World (free) Smart Coach that I have used to train for all my races I have ever done. I knew at the beginning I wasn’t going to follow the plan EXACTLY and would adjust the schedule accordingly. It was about a month or so ago, that I started following my hubby’s “training plan”, it seemed logical and made sense. I do still use my original plan for my weekday runs, but on my long runs on Sundays I am having an “easy” long run every 3rd Sunday. For example, this coming Sunday I am going to run 18 miles (YIKES!!), following Sunday 18 again and the Sunday after that will only do 10-12 miles. Of course, if I feel like I need to change the length based on how I am feeling I will do so, but so far I have  been able to finish all my scheduled long runs during this training. I haven’t decided if I want to do my 20 miler 2 or 3 weeks out from the race. Any thoughts or advice? Should I run (2) 20-milers before the marathon?

PicMonkey Collageweek15

Total miles run this week: 17

This month (August): 74

Year to date: 440

 

10 mile run (Sunday  “easy” run)

I never thought I would be able to say a 10 miler is my easy run! I think back to when I was training for all my half marathons and how hard it was to run even a 6 miler and now I am running double digits every Sunday. It has taken me a long time to get to this point and it is something I never thought was possible.

PicMonkey Collage10miler

1 mile sprint (for time)

It has been years since I have done a timed 1 mile sprint. I was feeling good on Tuesday so1miletimedpic instead of doing my 3-4 miler I substituted a 1 mile sprint. I was a little disappointed in myself because I felt like I could have gotten a faster time if I would have picked up the pace sooner than I did. I was under 8 minutes, but not by much. I know to most of you runners, your average pace is my fastest 1 miler, but it felt good to see how far I could push myself for that 1 mile.

 

 

6 mile run

Earlier in the week I made another trip to my local running store (Fleet Feet) for 2 reasons. One reason being I needed to load up on more gels/chews/Nuun. The second PicMonkey Collagehoneystingerflavorsreason was to see if I needed some inserts for my shoes. Since I have been running in my new shoes (Brooks Ghost 6) I have been experiencing some discomfort when go past 5-6 miles. I notice the pain when I go on runs that last 6+ miles and the pain will come and go for several miles. The pain wasn’t consistent but it would really affect me on my really long runs. The employee at Fleet Feet had me try on a couple different inserts and then she trimmed them down to fit my shoe. Of course I couldn’t tell if they were really going to work until I went on my next run. I normally don’t like going to Fleet Feet during the week because then I have to bring Z along and he just ruins the whole experience (sorry Z!), but they had a whole tub of toys for kids to play with while their parents shopped. That made the trip much more tolerable.  This run was my first one with my new inserts and I had absolutely NO PAIN!! Hopefully, this is a good sign for tomorrow’s 18 miler!!

Yoga into Shape

Strike a Yoga Pose: Wheel

I took my 2nd yoga class this week! This one was geared more towards strength training and muscle-building. I didn’t sweat as much as the first class, but still got a great workout. I also did my first ever Wheel (or full backbend) Yoga pose! I didn’t think I could ever do it, I am not flexible at all!! Obviously, this is not a picture of me. I don’t look that good while practicing yoga. I don’t think anyone wants to see me while in yoga class, I am quite a hot mess!! I just wanted to show you a visual of what the pose looks like for those of you who haven’t taken yoga yet, which I highly recommend you change that!

PicMonkey CollagedayinthelifeofatoddlerWhat is your favorite yoga pose?

Do you have to wear inserts too in your running shoes?

Any fun plans for the rest of the weekend?

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Week 15 Marathon Training + Fastest mile yet!

  1. MikeW says:

    Congratulations on your marathon training and your fastest mile yet! That is great news!

  2. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures says:

    Good job on your long runs so far! You really are sticking to a great plan and you seem to be avoiding injuries too, that’s a major perk!
    I personally would recommend doing 20 miles twice. I feel like the plan I followed didn’t set me up fully with only one 20 miler and a few other long ones. My perspective now is to get in a few 20 milers before my next marathon, and if I’m feeling it, one even longer. I hit the wall at mile 17 on the marathon course and I feel like a few more long runs would have prevented that – but that is just me. You adjust how you need to because at the end of the day, you’re going to run a marathon and you’re going to finish it! 🙂 That’s a SUPER fast mile, good work!

    • Ideally, I would like to run 2- 20 milers, but I don’t think that’s going to happen. I would have to run them back to back Sundays and the last 20 miler would be 2 weeks before the race?! The original training plan wanted me to run 5- 20 milers !! Yikes, I thought for me that would be too much…. I don’t know! Any plans on running another marathon anytime soon?? 😃Thank you for your advice! I really do appreciate it! 😃

  3. Congrats on your mile! Great work! I’ve wanted to do more with yoga but I just never make the time to do it. I was much better during my pregnancy but now that I am running again it seems that’s mainly what I do. Sometimes I sneak a few poses in as I stretch after running. I’m glad your inserts seem to be working and I hope that your 18 miler went well!!

  4. Congrats on your fastest mile!!! As a coach, I always love hearing runners say that they glad they’re “only” running ten miles today, when three months ago they were freaking out about having to run “that” far!

    I think the pigeon is my favorite yoga pose. It’s so good for my tight runner’s hips! And yep, I have to wear custom inserts in my shoes.

  5. Looks like you’ve had a really exciting week with your fitness! Awesome job on your long miles AND that mile sprint pace! Wow. I wish. I love your dedication and persistence! I’m sorry I’m no help with running advice. My advice would be don’t run, haha. Only because it’s the bane of my existence. Yay for your second yoga class. I’m not super in love with yoga, and my advice is take it easy for a while. Do not push yourself further into any pose or stretch than you’re comfortable with. A lot of instructors tell you to push deeper, but you can injure yourself just as badly doing that as you can picking up heavy weights the wrong way. We just did a hot yoga class last night and it was awful. Too hot, which sounds funny but it was. Meghan and I both got dizzy. I think part of it was that we had just worked out for an hour before. Also I hadn’t been in a while. Anywho, Z is freaking precious, as usual. Good luck with your run this weekend!

Leave a Reply

