Week 16 Marathon Training + Celebration week

Sorry for being MIA this week! I didn’t forget about you! This week has been hot and humid all week!! Allegedly there was at one point a monsoon warning out in the desert which was pushing the moisture out our way and in running terms means NO BUENO! Aside from the sucky weather, we also had a busy week in our household: beach trip, hubby’s birthday and our anniversary!

PicMonkey Collageweek16miels

Miles run this week: 27

Total miles for August:  102.81

Total Year to Date: 469.70

 

18 mile run

PicMonkey Collage18milerOh yeah I ran 18 miles last Sunday!! Longest run ever! This run was definitely the hardest mentally and physically so far. I know I said that my last 16 miler was mentally the hardest, but these long runs keep pushing me and pushing me. This run wasn’t the prettiest to watch, but I did finish. I stopped quite a few times during the course of the run. I started struggling at mile 11-12. The heat was really starting to bother me. It also didn’t help that at mile 4 the bottom of my right foot started hurting and it latest for another 10 miles, off and on. It’s weird that my foot didn’t bother me on my 6 miler the week before?! My hubby and Z met me at mile 13.6 with some ice-cold water and paper towels and finished the last 4.4 with me. I felt like I was such a failure because I had to stop so many times just to finish. I was really struggling with this run.

 

4 mile (HOT) run

My goal for this run was either a 6 or 7 miler, so I could get to 30 miles for the week. I PicMonkey Collage4 milerundid my run in the morning before Stroller Strides because I knew it was going to be a hot day and thought I was going to beat the heat a little. I was sure wrong! I started a little after 6 in the morning and immediately felt the hot sticky air surround me. I knew this run was not going to be a 6 or 7 miler. At this point I just wanted to run a minimum of 3 (to get to 100 miles for the month). I came back to the house about 37 minutes later, literally dripping with sweat. After this run I was just so tired of running in this humid hot weather.

A Day at the Beach

Since we hadn’t been to the beach all summer! I know, I couldn’t believe it either! We went for a couple of hours to our favorite beach. The weather was actually PERFECT!

PicMonkey Collagebeachday

 

Hubby’s Birthday Celebration!

Since it was the birthday boy’s day he got to choose what we had for dinner and what type of cake he wanted. He requested my home-made pizza (I added the bread sticks since I had extra dough) and ice cream cake. I’ll be honest with you, I owe him another pizza. I didn’t have pepperoni nor pizza sauce on hand so needless to say, the pizza was a little dry. The ice cream cake was a success since I didn’t make it :-/

PicMonkey Collagehubbysbday

 

 

Our 5th wedding anniversary!

We had our 5th wedding anniversary on Thursday. We didn’t do anything special because next Thursday we are going out to dinner and then will be seeing an old friend that we haven’t seen in several years. JERRY SEINFELD!! Yes, we go way back!! We are such good friends, he tells us to call him Jerry!  This will be the 4th time hubby and I have seen his stand-up and he never disappoints!!

PicMonkey Collageweddingcollage

 

 

Tomorrow is another 18 mile run. Wish me luck! I don’t have much confidence in the run since the weather still is horrible.

I also start another round of the Whole30 tomorrow!  I realized I feel SO MUCH BETTER when I follow a strict paleo lifestyle!!

What do you request for your birthday eats?

Anyone else out there a Seinfeld fan? I know I am not the only one!

How is the weather out where you live?

 

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Week 16 Marathon Training + Celebration week

  1. Happy fifth wedding anniversary – you were a beautiful bride!

    Our summers are almost always hot and very humid. It’s a bummer that you’ve got that humidity since you’re not used to it. It sucks the life out of you!

    Good luck on your 18-miler tomorrow! 🙂

  2. MikeW says:

    Happy Anniversary, and congratulations on Sunday’s 18 miler! Great work!

  3. Ugh! The humidity is ruining my runs. I hope it gets cooler soon. Awesome job for running 18 miles! 🙂 That’s awesome despite the hot steamy weather!
    Happy Anniversary to you guys! Lovely wedding pics! 🙂

  4. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures says:

    Don’t feel like a failure on your 18 mile runs, woman! You are running 18 miles and you’re doing it just fine! 🙂 I know it’s mentally super frustrating when you have to stop to walk but trust me, when it comes time to run the marathon, you’ll be in the best shape of your life because of these kinds of runs and you won’t experience those things. I don’t mean you’ll glide right through it, but you almost will because you’re going to be in a marathon-and no matter the time or pace, you’re freaking running a marathon! How damn cool is that?
    Anyway, congratulations on your 5 year anniversary! Beautiful pictures my dear. Yay for your Whole30, good luck!!

Leave a Reply

