Week 17 Marathon Training + An unexpected workout + Runner Goodies

This week has been another hot one!! I only did 2 of my 3 scheduled runs. There was never a good time, temperature wise, to go for a run unless I wanted to run at 1 in the morning and even then it was still 80 degrees. This Thursday my hubby and I went to go see Jerry Seinfeld’s stand-up for the 4th time, which resulted in an unexpected workout (will explain later).

PicMonkey Collageweek17recap

Miles ran this week: 22

Miles ran this month (Sept): 22

Year-to-Date (2013): 491

18 mile run

This time around, the 18 miler was a little easier than the first time. The temperature was surprisingly nice, it was still hard don’t get me wrong, but I wasn’t having to deal with the hot hot sun like before.

PicMonkey Collage18miler

Labor Day Leisurely Swim!

For Labor Day we went over to my parents house to do a little pre-lunch swimming. The summer went by so fast that this was actually the first time we swam in their pool all summer!!! Z loves the water! He had no problem getting everyone wet. I was even able to get in a little swim time of my own after everyone was done swimming. I do miss having access to a pool on a daily basis when I lived with my parents. The pool felt extra good the day after my 18 mile run, it was therapeutic for my muscles.

PicMonkey Collagelabordayfun

4 mile stroller run

This was the 3rd time taking Z with me on a run in the last month or so. ThePicMonkey Collage4milestrollerrun temperature was so hot by the end that I felt like I was melting. Z was comfortable in his stroller, he slept the whole time! I chose to go on a stroller run in the morning after Stroller Strides as opposed to waiting until the evening because it wasn’t  going to be any cooler if I waited til later.  I figured I might as well get it over with. I am so tired of running in this heat!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

An Unexpected workout

Mission: To go see Jerry Seinfeld

I won’t go into detail about our whole ordeal in trying to find the venue, but I gave hubby bad directions. I blame Google maps!! I don’t know why I still use this app, it always disappoints!!! Needless to say, we got in a little workout prior to seeing Jerry Seinfeld. We walked through some questionable neighborhoods, but we finally made it to our destination!! Even though we have seen Jerry Seinfeld’s stand-up 4 times now, he did not disappoint!!!

unexpectedworkoutpicmonkey

Runner Goodies

Our mailbox was full of fun and one unexpected runner goodies today. My StrideBox subscription came in the mail, Runner’s World Magazine and my hubby got a little package from the Cliff company. Since we are married, what’s his is mine, right!!! I think he got the goodies from Cliff from signing up for the Long Beach Marathon, there must have been some promotional item for signing up at that time. I’m guessing!?!

PicMonkey Collagerunnergoodies

Do you subscribe to any monthly subscription boxes? Which ones?

Anyone running the Long Beach Marathon too? If not, what race are you currently training for?

Are you a Seinfeld fan? Favorite Character? If not, I don’t think we can be friends anymore! Just Kiddin’!! Maybe…

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 17 Marathon Training + An unexpected workout + Runner Goodies

  1. olivetorun says:

    I never watched Seinfield when it was actually ON because well… everyone else did. I tend to shy away from the majority. HOWEVER, I do watch it sometimes now after Ben and I saw Jerry in PA a year or two (can’t remember off the top of my head) ago and he was HYSTERICAL!! I’d definitely see him again.

    • Yeah…I actually only watched the last 2 seasons when it was ON and 15 yrs later still watch it several times a day. Yes! You should definitely go see him again!! We usually wait a couple yrs in between seeing him so he has some new material!

  2. Yes, we watched Seinfield when it was on. Now my sons enjoy watching the reruns and I occasionally watch it with them. We’ve never seen him do stand-up live, though.

    I’m glad this 18-miler was easier. Hopefully, the weather will improve for you soon!

  3. I’m so glad your 18 miler was better this time around! And swimming after that would be the best.

    I love happy mail too. I haven’t gotten my Runner’s World in the mail yet. I’m hoping it will be there today.

    I’m a Seinfeld fan too but I haven’t seen the show in years. I’ve never seen him live either. Maybe someday… 🙂

Leave a Reply

