Whole30 Round 2: Week 1 Eats! + Unpleasant hangover

The

I will make this short and sweet! I am already done with the first week of the Whole30 and almost a third of the way finished!

Overall the first week went really well with the exception of the lunch I had at my parents on Labor Day and then on Thursday when the hubby and I went out to dinner in Long Beach, CA. Other than those 2 times I have followed the Whole30.

Unpleasant hangover

After Thursday’s dinner, I told myself I would not stray off  the whole30 the rest of the time because I felt the worst I probably have felt in a long time. Don’t get me wrong dinner was really good! I could have done without the “hangover” type feeling the next morning. I always hear people who are strict Paleo talk about the “Paleo Hangover” (when they eat something non Paleo the effects they feel) and I always thought it was a myth. It is no myth!

True Story.

Hubby and I shared a spinach and artichoke appetizer, both had the filet mignon with a side of starchy potatoes and fresh veggies and to end the meal a very sweet cinnamon apple pie w/ a scoop of ice cream on top. I thought my stomach was literally going to explode! The only thing that was Paleo was the filet and the veggies! So you can imagine how my body was not going to be happy with me! By the end of the night, both my hubby and I were not feeling that great. I woke up the next morning feeling like I had been out the night before drinking the night away (no alcohol was consumed!).  My hubby even commented that I looked hung over. Once I got some coffee into my system I was good to go for the rest of the day. I guess the myth is true!

PicMonkey Collagethereef

 

Whole30 R2: week 1 Eats!!

If you follow me on Instagram some of these already look familiar.

PicMonkey Collagewek1eats

 

2. Paleo Egg “McMuffin”   Breakfast (Nom Nom Paleo)

3. Applegate Organic Salami + black olives + hard-boil egg + fennel carrot slaw + side salad ( Zen blend (Sprouts)/red onion/cherry tomatoes/ balsamic vinegar+olive oil) (lunch)

4. deviled eggs (snack) (hard-boil egg + Paleo mayo + paprika)

5. leftover rotisserie chicken + steamed broccoli (dinner)

6. Spicy Mexican stuffed peppers (PaleOMG) + fennel/carrot slaw dinner

7. Antipasti Salad (lunch) (Gather)

8. Fruit salad (banana + orange + blueberries) (snack)

9. scrambled eggs + baked sweet potato + Applegate breakfast sausages (lunch)

My meals really aren’t that exciting, but they keep me feeling full and happy!

On a sad note, I noticed this past week that coconut milk has been bothering me and may have to eliminate it completely from my “diet”.  I use the canned Thai Kitchen brand and put it in my coffee in the morning and it has been making me cough, like there is something irritating my throat. I don’t know if it is the guar gum in the coconut milk or what? The Thai Kitchen and the Sprouts brand are the only ones that I can find that only have 3 ingredients in them.

For you Paleo enthusiasts: where do you buy your coconut milk from and that has only coconut and water as the ingredients?  

Any good recipes that you have tried out recently?

Have you ever been to Long Beach, CA? What did you do there?

This entry was posted in New Recipes, paleo, Uncategorized, Whole30 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whole30 Round 2: Week 1 Eats! + Unpleasant hangover

  1. Marlene says:

    I didn’t know food could effect people that much!

  2. I’ve never been to Long Beach. I’ll bet it’s gorgeous there!

    Our bodies really are fine tuned machines, and yours doesn’t want any low quality fuel added! 🙂

  3. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures says:

    Um, I disagree, your meals are NOT boring at all! That Paleo stuffed pepper looks yum – though I don’t like peppers, I imagine the fillings are delish!
    I absolutely 100% know all about the paleo hangover, it’s totally real! It’s real with any diet, really – once you eliminate something completely and try to go back to it just once, you feel sick. It happens to me with several kinds of foods and I hate the feeling and always feel like it’s never worth it… But I still always do it! Ha!

Leave a Reply

