Week 20 Marathon Training: Lots of time to think!

These last couple weeks have been the hardest I have ever had to go through, running wise. My knee is still giving me problems. I have drastically reduced my weekly mileage and this week I don’t even think I’m going to try to run at all.

This is not at all how I pictured my last couple weeks of training going down.

PicMonkey Collageweek20training

Miles ran week 20:   15

Miles ran in September: 82

Total miles 2013: 551.98

**The above graphic is in honor of Dexter’s series finale this last Sunday! We are still 2 episodes behind, don’t tell me what happens!!

I have gone back and forth whether I made any mistakes throughout my training

–>>>Was I increasing my weekly long runs too quickly?

–>>>Was my average pace during my long runs too fast? Should I have slowed things down?

–>>>Should I have been stretching more?

–>>>Should I not have starting taking those yoga classes?

–>>>Should I not have gone on those runs with Z,  pushing him in the jogging stroller?

There are so many things going through my head these days.

And then I have actually questioned my body. Maybe my body just isn’t built to endure a 26.2 mile run or training for one!

#marathon #running #motivation

(source-Pinterest)

Good/Bad News

After 2 weeks of dealing with my knee I decided to go to the doctor. The turning point for me was on my Saturday morning run where on mile 4 my knee started hurting off and on again. This time the pain wasn’t just coming from the outside of my knee, now I felt something on the inside, below the knee and even the knee cap. The pain didn’t last long and like I mentioned it was an off and on pain (not constant).

So, back to my doctor visit.

I explained the situation I was in to the doctor. She basically said that I just need to REST the knee, but since I wasn’t willing to do that she suggested to use a compression sleeve and to take Motrin. I know she wasn’t thrilled with the idea of me running the marathon but it is ultimately my decision. The good news there wasn’t anything majorly wrong with my knee that would completely sideline me. The bad news is that her only advice was that I just needed to rest. My hubby even asked me, “what were you hoping for the doctor to say?”. The answer is I really don’t know what I was hoping for. I guess I wanted her to just snap her fingers and  my knee to be all better! I feel like this is a nightmare that isn’t ever going to end….

Marathon motivation @Lisa Phillips-Barton Jo Groft @nikki striefler Workman

(source-Pinterest)

Have you ever had an injury that completely stopped you from running? How did you deal with it?

bestfriendspic

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 20 Marathon Training: Lots of time to think!

  1. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    I’m just now seeing this and had no idea you were temporarily side-lined. I’m so bummed to hear this. How have you been since you wrote this?

    I love the picture of Z and the little dog. Is it a new pet? He’s adorable!

    • I’m doing ok. I haven’t ran in 8 days and don’t even know if I’m going to do the marathon…. I got a call from my dr on Friday the results from my xray of my knee and it showed some extra fluid around my knee… I don’t know if I should try running the race or just not try at all…..

    • And we have had that dog for 3 yrs now. Z loves the dog more than the dog loves him.

  2. Pingback: Run, like how you live your life, with no regrets. | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

