Marathon Update: Final decision!

Less than 2 days until Race Day! It has been a long journey to get to this point. I have put in a lot of time, miles, energy, sweat and tears into training for this Day. Over the last 2 weeks I have gone back and forth with what my decision would be. I have weighed the pros and cons of running this marathon.

PicMonkey Collageprosandcons

My Decision

I’m running my first full marathon!! I know I would regret not running the second everyone crossed the start line and I wasn’t one of the runners out on the course.

I wish the last 4 weeks didn’t play out the way it did,  but that is life and it has already happened.

I am not happy with my fitness level, it isn’t what it should be, but if I keep coming up with excuses as to why I shouldn’t run this race than I never will and will always regret not going for it.

2 mile easy run

After 9 days of not running I wanted to get back out on the streets one last time before the race. It felt great to get out on the open road and pound the pavement again. When I got back from my run, my hubby commented how happy I looked and what a great mood I was in. I did feel great after my run. I know it was only 2 miles, but in those 2 miles my knee didn’t hurt and it gave me some hope that maybe I can run this race. I know I haven’t been in the best mood lately. It has been extremely tough knowing I can’t go out and run like I used to.

Running is my “ME TIME”.

Running is my escape from reality.

Running is my freedom.

Running is my strength.

Running is my calm.

Running is my mind and body up against each other and seeing who wins.

I know I will never be 100% comfortable with my decision to run this race, but then again who really is 100% comfortable running 26.2 miles on a Sunday morning by their own free will!  People must think I’m crazy wanting to do this, but it is something I can’t really explain. I have so many things going against me right now and that just makes me want to go out there even more. To prove to myself that I can do anything that I set my mind to.  I just can’t give up that easily…

marathonmotivation

 

Who is racing this weekend?

Complete this sentence and leave answer in comment:

Running is my____________________.

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Saturday weekly review, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Marathon Update: Final decision!

  1. Marlene says:

    I am glad you came up with your decision. Good luck and take your time. Most of all, enjoy the experience.

  2. Running is my happy place!

    Good luck to you on Sunday! Hope you have an awesome race!

  3. Good luck!!! I think you made a good decision 🙂 Even if you have to walk, or if you have to drop out, at least you tried! But, I think you’ll pull through and proudly cross that finish line!
    Running is my sanity and peace!

  4. Running is my time alone! Well, unless I have the kid in the stroller… good luck on the race!

  5. Pingback: Run, like how you live your life, with no regrets. | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

