Long Beach ICB Marathon Recap!

I’m sure you have heard by now I ran and finished my very first full marathon on Sunday, October 13, 2013 in Long Beach, CA.  It was quite an experience. It still doesn’t seem real even 2 days after it happened. The whole experience was very surreal! It was a dream that I never thought would ever come true!

I will try to make this recap not too boring. Don’t worry I wont re-live every mile for you.

Here we go–

Leading up to the race:

  • 2 weeks prior- had to stop my training- only a single 2 mile run
  • 1 week prior- had to stop going to Stroller Stride classes= no strength training
  • 1 week prior- thought I was trying to get sick the whole week (hubby had been sick!)
  • Thursday before the race-went to the doctor– I was having trouble taking a full breath and prescribed an inhaler to use just in case.

1 day before the race: Arrive in Long Beachlbharbor

  • Didn’t spend time @ expo– got our bibs and I bought a long sleeve shirt to commemorate my first marathon!
  • went back to the hotel to rest for the day.

 

 

The Big Day!

  • woke up @ 4 am
  • didn’t sleep well at all: one reason being I was soooo nervous. second reason: Z decided he didn’t want to sleep in his crib and wanted to sleep with my hubby and I. That was fun! Did anyone tell Z that 3 is a crowd, especially the night before a race! Yikes!

Getting to the start line:

Long story, short. We had to walk to the start from our hotel. We were given bad information from the hotel staff about transportation to the race. Nothing like walking 1 1/2-2 miles in the dark @ 5 in the morning to then run for 26.2 miles. Sounds like fun to me {insert sarcasm}!

The Marathon

  • Before the race even started I thought I was going to throw up. I was so nervous!
  • I didn’t run the whole time, that would have killed me!
  • Between mile 13-14 I got stung by a bee! Yeah, that was fun! Luckily I’m not allergic to them!
  • Mile 15- I started walking more than running because when I tried running more than a 1/2 mile at a time I started having trouble taking a full breath and didn’t want to have to use my inhaler. I had never used an inhaler during training and didn’t want to try now.
  • Due to my breathing, I know I was probably too conservative with my walking/running ratio, but my main goal was to cross that finish line.
  • The one piece of advice my hubby gave me before we crossed the start was: “Always keep moving forward, don’t stop!” I remembered that throughout the whole race.
  • I cried after I crossed the finish line when I saw my hubby. Hubby had already crossed about 2 hours before me. His official time: 4:05:45
racepic2

This is the moment before I crossed the finish line when I saw my husband!

racepic1

 

  • My official finish time: 6:01:43

racepic3

 

Mixed emotions

I have mixed emotions on my finishing time. I am glad I finished. I am not happy with my time. I know if I hadn’t gotten hurt a month out from the race I would have been much more prepared, at least that is what I hope would have happened. I know if I felt as good I did during my 18 mile training runs I would have given myself a better shot at a faster time.

Isn’t it ironic?

Ironically, my knee didn’t bother me at all! My legs (glutes/hamstrings/quads) were killing me very early on (mile 10). It was at mile 10 when I realized that I had completely neglected keeping up the strength training for the rest of my body in that last week. As mentioned above, I was struggling with controlling my breathing. Throughout my training, these 2 areas didn’t bother me at all, yet those were my problem areas in the race. I was so consumed with my knee injury that I lost focus on everything else. I do have some regrets, but the one thing I don’t regret is starting and finishing the marathon. I will always have that with me.

Recovery

The whole rest of the day (Sunday) I could barely walk. I really wished we didn’t live in a 2 story because those stairs were brutal. I told my hubby on Sunday that I refused to go up the stairs that day, only to go to bed. Monday was a little better. I wasn’t as sore, but my legs were still very stiff. I went on a couple of short walks just to help loosen my legs. I felt the most pain when I would be sitting for a while and then try to get up and move.

Stroller Strides (Fit4Mom)
As I am writing this now (Tuesday) I feel much more like my self today. I am hoping to get back to Stroller Strides tomorrow. I miss those mamas! I do have to give a lot of credit to those Stroller Strides classes because I didn’t realize how much those classes helped me in my strength training. I know many people have a misconception of Stroller Strides being an easy, breezy walk in the park for an hour a day, but it is far of it! Trust me!

Maybe, if I get ambitious one of these days I will do a post on these Stroller Strides Mamas and how much they have impacted my life.

Harder than childbirth!

Even though this marathon was extremely difficult I am glad I went for it! Of the many thoughts that went through my head during the race one thought kept popping up: I would rather go through childbirth again than to do this! Yes, it is true. I compared running a marathon to childbirth. For many reasons I believe childbirth would have been easier. One reason the duration was shorter. My active labor was only 3 hours! That is half the time that it took me to finish this race!

ourfamily

My Family!

 

Did anyone run any races this weekend?

Any 1st time marathoners out there?

Question for women who have gone through childbirth and run a marathon: Which was easier for you? or not comparable?

This entry was posted in Marathon training, race recaps, running, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Long Beach ICB Marathon Recap!

  1. Kimberly says:

    I love the pics! Your race pics looks amazing! You sure order it, esp. The second one! Congrats to you both, sharing the same passion must make your life easy!

  2. Marlene says:

    Love the pictures. It will help you remember later in your life!

  3. Congratulations again! Your first marathon is always such a memorable one! Even if it didn’t go as planned- you did it AND you crossed that finish line! Congrats to your hubby, too!
    I can’t believe you got stung by a bee! Thank goodness you aren’t allergic!
    Enjoy training for fun for a while!

  4. I cannot believe you were stung by a bee!! Crazy! I’m so glad you finished and good for you for sticking to it. You had so many things going against you but your determination shines. I know I told you already over on Instagram but CONGRATULATIONS on your first marathon!

  5. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures says:

    Dudeeeeee congratulations x 1 million trillion billion! You are amazing for following through on this in spite of the odds and everything working against you. I am so proud of you and I can imagine how proud you are of yourself. I even saw that you got in a long ish run yesterday – congrats! You are amazing!!! How in the heck did you get stung by a bee and keep on running? I would have called it quits immediately, ha! 🙂 I hate bees. I cried too when I crossed the finish line of mine… It’s such an out of body experience – like you don’t realize what you’ve just done because you’ve been in motion for tons of hours! Good job finishing and finishing strong, I’m so happy for you! 🙂

  6. Congratulations!!! 🙂 I love first marathon stories! So inspiring! My husband is doing his first marathon in November and me, next year! I will share this to him and save it for inspiration next year! 🙂 Awesome job!!! 🙂 You are now a Marathoner! Here’s to more races!!! 🙂

  7. Janelle says:

    Congratulations on your first marathon complete! I have yet to run a marathon or bear a child…but you’ve certainly given me some perspective! 🙂

  8. Yay!!!!! You started and finished! I am so excited for you! Congrats!! I can’t believe your knee didn’t bother you when that was such a big deal a couple weeks out!!!! I hope recovery is going well and you are breathing better now! 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes I was so focused on my knee issue and that wasn’t even what bothered me during the race. I have gone on a couple runs since and have had no knee pain (just crossing my fingers).

  9. Congrats!!!!! Seriously, you got stung by a bee during the race? What horrible luck. Don’t worry about your time. You finished a race that a couple of weeks ago you didn’t even know if you’d be able to run. For that, you should be very happy and proud!

  10. Pingback: 2013: My year of running! | onemotherofaday

  11. Pingback: 2013: My year in Review (Picture Edition) | onemotherofaday

  12. Pingback: My ONE year Blogaversary!! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

