21-Day Sugar Detox Week 3: Food prep + Week 2 eats!

I’m going into my final week of the 21dsd. I have 6 full days left on this detox. For some reason last week was the hardest for me.

I have a confession. I’m not going to lie to you because we need to have an open and honest relationship here.  I have had several Starbucks Iced vanilla lattes this past week and more than my 1 allotted a day green apple and green-tipped banana!!!

I know I know, how could I?!

Well, what can ya do?!

I’m already over it. I feel so much better now that I told you!

I don’t think I will be doing another 21dsd anytime soon. It is good to have a reset every once and a while. I’m glad I’m doing this because my sugar intake was WAYYYYY outta control!! Now I know that I just need to scale back on the sweets. When I start feeling tired and having no energy then I now know that I am just consuming too much sugary treats and need to start eating more protein, fats and veggies instead.

Food Prep: week 3

I was looking back from last weeks food prep post and realized that I did the same food prep for this week. Instead of boring you all to death I will not repeat myself.

Here is my food prep from week 2: https://onemotherofaday.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/21-day-sugar-detox-week-2-food-prep-meal-ideas/

Farm Fresh To You Delivery:

PicMonkey Collagefarmfreshtoyou

Week 2 Eats (from last week)

PicMonkey Collageweek2eats

1.  BBQ beef (or pork) “waffle” sandwich (dinner/lunch) (Well Fed 2)

2. Steak (marinated in olive oil + balsamic vinegar) + sautéed broccoli (dinner)

3.  Deviled eggs (snack/protein) (made with paleo homemade mayo)

4. chicken salad (mayo + parlsey +red onion + lemon zest + celery) + black olives (lunch)

5. sautéed kielbasa + sauerkraut + sautéed cabbage w/ onions (dinner/lunch/breakfast)

6. Frozen bananas w/ cacao (not cocoa) powder & coconut oil and macadamia nuts on top! (snack)

7. Meatza (dinner) (21DSD book-Balanced bites)

I know I have mentioned before that I finally figured out how to make homemade mayo. If you haven’t tried making your own you have to try just ONCE! I promise it only takes a couple of minutes and some bicep & triceps muscle but, it is well worth it. I will never buy store-bought mayo again! Even though the store-bought mayo companies will advertise them as “olive oil” mayo it is not just made of olive oil. One of the main ingredients is soybean oil and “natural flavors”! Yikes!  It always scares me when I’m reading the ingredient list off a product and they have “natural flavors” listed.  What is that?!? I dont know and I don’t want to find out! This is the recipe I use every time and the mayo always comes out smooth and creamy:http://www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/2010/06/03/the-secret-to-homemade-mayo-patience/

** The only thing I do differently is I don’t use a blender or food processor. I use a whisk and my arm! I have learned it is the only way to make sure the mayo turns out good when I have control of the speed myself.

Be on the lookout for an upcoming post on My Paleo Staples in my kitchen!

It wouldn’t be a OneMotherofaDay post without a picture of my son, who is turning 2 yrs old next month!! I  can’t believe I will have a 2-year-old in the house!

zreadingathetable

Reading at the dinner table, just like his Uncle Ryan!

For the parents: How old are your children? How terrible were the “terrible twos”?

 

This entry was posted in 21 day sugar detox, farm fresh to you deliveries, paleo, Sunday Food Prep, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21-Day Sugar Detox Week 3: Food prep + Week 2 eats!

  1. You lasted much longer than I could ever do with a sugar detox. I happened to scarf down a bag of Twizzlers yesterday, I couldn’t help myself! I love the recipe ideas and will definitely take a look! Happy early birthday to your son!

Leave a Reply

