5 Ways I am staying healthy this Holiday Season!

The time period between Thanksgiving and New Years is notorious for gaining weight, creating unhealthy eating habits and losing focus on taking care of yourself. It is so easy to get swept away with all the holiday festivities:  indulging in all the yummy holiday treats, the parties with the endless amounts of food and everything else that comes with the holiday season.  I came up with several things that I need to focus on this season so, I don’t completely fall off the wagon.

PicMonkey Collagecoverphoto

#1stayingactive

Go for a walk, run, bike, hike, etc. Even if I say I don’t have time, I will make time! A 15 minute walk around the neighborhood is better than nothing.

#2stayinghydrated

I am actually horrible about drinking water. I even buy new colorful Camelbak water bottles, every so often, to try to entice me to drink more. I, now, always carry a water bottle with me so I have no excuses. During my marathon training to make sure I was drinking enough water I was using Nuun.  Nuun are hydration tablets that you plop into your water bottle, let it dissolve and enjoy! The tablets do have a little carbonation so it’s just like you are consuming a soda! No? not the same? Close enough!  My goal this month is to consciously be aware of how much water I am drinking on a daily basis.

#3cuttingbackonsugar

After I completed my 21-Day Sugar Detox I went a little crazy with the sweets! It wasn’t because I was craving something sugary, it was the fact that I was NOW able to eat whatever I wanted. My sugar induced  coma only lasted a few days because AGAIN I quickly realized how much sugar wore me down, gave me no energy. During this holiday season I will still indulge in some sweets but, will keep it in MODERATION. I will still eat a mainly Paleo “diet”.

#4notstressing

I’m not going to stress this holiday season. Christmas has become such a consumer driven holiday. Christmas seems to be all about buying the best gift, spending the most money, waiting in line for hours, etc. We forget to take a step back  from the chaos that is the Holidays and to just appreciate the things that are most important in our lives: family, friends and our health. The material aspect of Christmas shouldn’t matter if you surround yourself with loved ones.

#5laughingoften

There is a saying, “Laughter is the best medicine”. I always feel the best after I laugh so hard that my stomach hurts and can barely catch my breath. {Also, a great AB workout too!} We, as a society, are way too serious, too stressed this time of year! That needs to STOP! Make me a promise to call up/go see that person who you can count on for a “stomach hurts so bad” laugh. I promise you will feel so much better and everything else in life will seem much less important.

I know some of you may not agree with some of the statements about Christmas, buying too much, etc but, that’s okay with me. That is what is great about being YOU, you can have your own opinion too!

What are you going to do this holiday season to stay healthy?

What do you look forward to most during the holidays?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 5 Ways I am staying healthy this Holiday Season!

  1. Marlene says:

    Interesting post. I like it!

  2. Very nice! I especially love #5! 🙂

  3. Skye says:

    Love this post! Thank you so much for the inspiration.

  4. I love your philosophy and hope to incorporate all these as I survive the Christmas season!

  5. I agree with the water part. I am also bad at drinking enough water. I also commit to getting my workouts done before the day starts so I have no excuse later in the day when things pop up!

  6. It really is tough trying to stay healthy during the holidays. Those are some great tips.

Leave a Reply

