2013: My year of running!

Since 2013 is coming to a close I thought it would be nice too look back on my year of running.  I ran across this link-up from Miss Zippy’s blog and decided it would be fun to participate in. I love reminiscing about my races, best runs and anything else running related. This year was by far my best year, running wise. Within a 2 month period I had PR’d in the 5k, 10k, Half marathon and full marathon. This was the year where I ran my best races, the most races and ran a distance that I never thought I would be able to do.

Before I answer the questions, here is a quick “by the numbers” of my running this year.

PicMonkey Collage2013bythenumbers

*ok I officially am at 697 miles right now. I will make that 700 on Tuesday!! I will prove it to you guys when I do 🙂

 

Best race experience?

Running my first full marathon in October. This race was my biggest accomplishment for the year.  I never would have thought that I would have been able to accomplish something like that in my lifetime and live to tell about it. It still doesn’t seem real. You can read my recap of my first marathon here. Don’t get too excited I didn’t run my fastest at all. Prior to the race I was dealing with some knee issues which made my performance less than stiller.

racepic1

marathonmotivational1

sorry I just had to add this one!
(source-Pinterest)

Best run?

My very first 14 miler (June 2013). First time running more than 13.1 miles. It is a distance I never thought I would run. It was at that run that I realized maybe I can run farther than I thought.

PicMonkey Collage14miler

Best new piece of gear?

Compression socks. Are those considered gear? Oh well, that’s what I’m calling them!

compression socks

Best piece of running advice you received?

One piece of advice that my husband told me right before I crossed the start line of the marathon, “Never stop, just keep moving forward.”

Most inspirational runner?

Joy Johnson, 86-year-old marathoner (making her the oldest woman to run the New York Marathon), who ran and completed her 25th marathon in the New York marathon in November. She fall at mile 20 of the race but wanted to continue and cross the finish line. The following day she fall asleep in her hotel room and never woke up. During a pre-race interview she is quoted as saying:

“I always say I’m going to run until I drop,” she had said then. “I’m going to  die in my tennis shoes. I just don’t know when I’m going to quit.” (article)

Her sister said when she found her she was still wearing her running shoes. That is how I would want to go as well, doing something I love. Running until the day I die.

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be? Anything is possible. You never know what your body is really capable of until your push outside your comfort zone.

marathonmotivational2

(source)

I always love hearing your answers to my questions!!

Please answer and/or all of the questions in the comments below or write your own post on your blog and link up with Miss Zippy’s post, you have 2 more days to link up with her.

Don’t forget to head on over to Miss Zippy’s blog and check out all the other runner/bloggers out there and how their year of running went!

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2013: My year of running!

  1. You had a great running year! I love your “By The Numbers” box… great idea and very creative! 🙂

    I bought my first pair of compression socks this year and didn’t even think of them when I wrote my 2013 post. That’s a good choice!

  2. Whew- I didn’t know you PRed in the half, 10k and 5k on top of running a marathon- amazing! I love the story about the NYC marathon lady. I can only dream of running at that age!

  3. Congratulations on a great year! Everyone seems to love compression socks, I may have to buy some and see what they’re all about! I did not hear the story about your inspirational runner…all I can say is wow.

  4. decidida74 says:

    Congrats on the accomplishments!! At my second marathon, a couple weeks back, people at the finish all said I looked like I barely ran. I told them it was a fun run and walked away with a smile. =]

  5. Oh this is too cool to look back on! YOu really did kill it this year with running! 🙂 I’m so proud of you!!! I wish I knew how many miles I ran this year… How do people even keep track? Haha! 🙂 I can’t believe you PR’d in all those distances within a 2 month span – that’s incredible! I look forward to 2014 and what running will do with you next year! 🙂 Have an awesome NYE celebration beautiful!

  6. Pingback: Thank You | The Fat Girls Guide To Running

  7. Pingback: 2013: My year in Review (Picture Edition) | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

