“Confessions of a……Stay-at-home-mom”

Mom.

Such a simple word yet a much more powerful one once you become one. Your world is turned upside down. One day you are handed this baby and told to care for it, nurture it, raise it for the REST.OF.YOUR.LIFE! Talk about pressure. It is like being given an entertainment center from Ikea, with no instruction manual, and then told to put it together. Good luck!  Of course, there are many books out there on what to do when your baby does “this” or “that” but the problem is there are thousands of these books all with different answers on how to raise your child.

“Mommy Wars”

I’m sure you have heard the term before. I HATE that phrase. I cringe every time I see those 2 words peppered through out social media because I know nothing good will come out of it.

Breast-fed vs. formula-fed. Co-sleeper vs. independent. Pacifier vs. non-pacifier. Vaccines vs. non-vaccines. Cloth diapers vs. disposable diapers. Mainstream moms vs. crunchy moms. Cry-it-out method vs. non-CIO. Working mom vs. stay-at-home-mom.

The list goes on and on.

Every child is different. Every mother is different. What works for one may not work for another. STOP JUDGING! STOP CRITICIZING! You don’t know other mom’s reasoning for choosing to use a pacifier or to only formula feed their baby. You don’t know their background, history and/or circumstance so, don’t be so quick to pass judgment. Each mother is doing what is best for THEIR child and ONLY THEIR child.

Us, moms, have it hard enough. The last thing we need is another mom judging the way we are raising OUR OWN children. We are supposed to be on the same team! Instead, of fighting each other we need to come together and support each other.

***Disclaimer***I am using the stay-at-home-mom as a point of reference because I am a SAHM. I know nothing else. I am not saying one side is harder than the other. Each side has their strengths and struggles. If I were a working mom than this post would be titled, “Confessions of a…Working Mom”.

Now that I put that disclaimer out there, here is my perspective:

As a SAHM it can be tough. We are with our kids 24/7 and sometimes we just gotta do what we gotta do to survive each day and make it through to the next. I am guilty just like the next mom of doing, saying, and/or thinking some things just to survive. We get no assigned lunch breaks, no “coffee breaks” and we don’t get to clock in and out each day. We are on-call 24/7. We don’t have the option of calling in “sick” or using our “vacation time”. Most meals are eaten cold because by the 3rd time of having to re-heat it you just give up and accept the fact that you will never have a hot meal AGAIN. Our life revolves around spit-up, throw-up, poop, pee, food constantly being thrown at you, toys, toys and more toys. We get excited when we have adult interaction, even if it is with the cashier at Target. A mini-vacation consists of going to Target ALONE, with our Starbucks in hand, and being able to walk through each and every aisle slowly.

Now, don’t get me wrong yes it is hard work and can be very tiring but the reason why you do all this is because of those little kiddos that you carried for 9 months, birthed them and now raising them. It is all worth it. It is worth it when you baby smiles at you for the first time, laughs for the first time, grabs your hand for the first time, puts his arms around you for the first time, says Mama for the first time and every other milestone. Your heart melts and in those precious moments it is all worth it. Those moments you will never forget for the rest of your life.

With all that being said I do have a few confessions of my own that help me get through the day and here they are:

I will turn the t.v. on for my son when I just want to sit down or get some things done around the house.

If I don’t take a shower until the late afternoon I have to decide if I should put on new clothes after the shower or go straight to the pj’s. Most times it is the latter.

I wear the same “lounge-wear” multiple days in a row  (as long as they don’t look dirty). Hey, if I’m not going out in public, who cares? But, even then that doesn’t matter J

—One Mother of a Day

I went on my social media outlets to get other SAHM’s confessions. I know I have quite a few and I only have one kid so I thought it would be fun to hear from other moms, as well.

postcoverphoto

Here are their responses:

kami julie lisa   christina1

annieatstrongbrees

christina2

amanda

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

**side note*** Don’t forget to visit Christina @ Crazy Mama Runner FB page and Annie @ Strong Brees FB page and blog. I love following them on FB because they talk about living a healthy, happy, active lifestyle, motherhood and everything else in between.

For the working moms out there, do you have any confessions? Do you want me to do a post on “Confessions of a…working mom”? If I get enough feedback then I will do all the work in getting reader responses and if anyone has any interest in doing a guest post on here, I would greatly welcome it. Just contact me ( I plan to get an email for this blog soon, very soon!)  and we can set it up 🙂

I would like to do other topics in this series {“Confessions of a…”}. Which of the following would you be interested in: coffee addict, runner, paleo eater, ……?

If you are a SAHM, do you have any confessions you want to add?

This entry was posted in Confessions of a..., motherhood, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to “Confessions of a……Stay-at-home-mom”

  1. Great post. We are all out there trying to be the best moms we can be for our children. Sure we don’t always succeed. Maybe most of the time we don’t succeed. My heart still aches a little every time I realize I’m not the perfect mom I was hoping to be. But that’s life, and yesterday’s mistake is today’s lesson and hopefully we’ll do it better tomorrow.
    As for what others think.. well, we just learn not to care about what they think and not to hear their critics.. it takes time but we have to develop thick skin and do what works for us and for our children.

  2. Hello! I just wanted to say hi and thank you for checking out “Olive to Run’s” guest post on my blog! I actually asked 5 bloggers to guest post this month to lead up to a big announcement I have on March 1st 🙂 🙂

    BTW – I loved this post. I am not a mother but I hate when mothers/parents attack each other for the choices they make while raising their child. It is so sad. We should be on the same side. I had two friends on FB who “attacked” each other because one was sharing her breast feeding pictures and stories. My one friend was so outraged by this and caused such a ruckus. A couple of months later she announced she was pregnant. I wanted to be a b—h and ask her if she was going to breast feed since she made such a stink about it. But I didn’t because raising kids is hard enough 🙂

    • Thank you for stopping by! I am so glad Cori did a guest post on your blog, otherwise I would have never discovered your blog!!
      Yes, it is very sad when moms are attacking other moms. We as moms are constantly second guessing our own decisions all the time, the last thing we need are others telling us we are doing it wrong 😁 thank you again for taking the time to read and comment!

  3. GREAT post. Women can be so mean in general. We put so much pressure on ourselves then do the same for other women. Whether to work or not is such a personal choice and there are many factors – we can’t possibly know what goes into that decision for each person. Nor is it any of our business anyway. I am a SAHM. My confession: It is harder than I ever could have imagined. When I was working everyone thought for sure I would come back and never stay home. They thought I’d get bored. I thought it was going to be the easiest gig – I had visions of playing with my cherubs in a spotless house while a healthy dinner was perfectly timed every night. HA! My biggest confession is that I eat my words (my before-I-had-kid words) everyday. My kids watch TV – a good portion if I have a ton of stuff to get done in the house. We hit the drive thru. I’ve hidden in the bathroom for 5 minutes of silence before they find me. This is NOT easy but for our family, it is the absolute right decision and I wouldn’t change it. Thanks for reading my blog today and I enjoyed post!

    • Thank you for reading! Before I even got pregnant with my son I never thought I would be a SAHM EVER! I always had it in my head that I wanted to be independent and wouldn’t ever want to be stuck at home with kids all day, but things change, obviously. Actually, up until about 4 yrs ago I never wanted kids. I just didn’t want to be weighed down with having to care of someone else. May how things have changed and I couldn’t imagine my life without my son in it 🙂

  4. I’m so sick of the mommy wars. Don’t we all have a common bond? We should stand and support each other. Imagine the good that could come out of that!

  5. Thanks for this post. I am pregnant and I get judged by how I take care of my body for my baby. And I know it will never end ’til I raise my kids. I learned to ignore them. 🙂
    Do what’s best for you and your family. 🙂

    • Yes I know it is tough. I’m sorry to hear people are judging you on what you do while being pregnant. Just remember only you know what is best! Best wishes on a heathy, happy and active pregnancy!

  6. Great post– from 0-3 I was a part time SAHM and loved it but there is SO Much judgement out there! Women can me mean and nasty like back in junior high!

  7. Pingback: WIAW #11: Paleo Chocolate Smoothie + #mnbchallenge week 2 recap | onemotherofaday

  8. I loved this post and your perspective! It’s been a long time since I was home with two little boys (part-time). I always worked part-time at the gym so I had a taste of both worlds. I agree with the judging… Moms should stick together, not judge!

  9. I LOVE this! Thank you so much for putting it all into words and sharing. I love that you had other mothers share their confessions too! Genius!!!

  10. Pingback: My ONE year Blogaversary!! | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

