WIAW #11: Paleo Chocolate Smoothie + #mnbchallenge week 2 recap

week2coverphoto

Since I didn’t get around to do the week 2 recap of the #mnbchallenge over the weekend I figured I would just kill two birds with one stone and use this post as my WIAW since week 2 was centered around food (nourish). Win. Win!

If you missed week 1 of the challenge and how it all works go to my post here.

I thought this week was going to be easier than it was. I struggled with each days’ challenge because they all went against my whole lifestyle “diet” but, since I am participating in this #mnbchallenge I had to give them all a go at it.

Here is how week 2 {Nourish} went:

meatlessmonday

Mon. (2/10/14): Go Meatless! Skip meat today! Try vegetarian/vegan meals.

Well, if you have been following my blog for some time now you know that it is almost impossible for me to go meatless ALL.DAY.LONG! I follow a Paleo lifestyle and my body performs the best when I include meat in my daily “diet”. I only went meatless for breakfast which was scrambled eggs and my favorite breakfast sweet potato recipe.

takeyourlunchtowork

Tues. (2/11/14): Take Your Lunch to Work Today!

This was easy for me since my “work” is my kitchen since I am a SAHM. I had my new favorite go-to lunch: spicy tuna cakes + paleo deviled eggs + baby carrots!

trackyourfood

Wed. (2/12/14): Write it down! Keep track of what you eat today and share your eats through Instagram and Twitter.

6:40am: coffee w/ half & half; 8:00am: breakfast sweet potatoes w/ scrambled eggs; 11:30am: Iced Caramel macchiato; 1:30pm: spicy tuna cakes (Nom Nom Paleo) + paleo deviled eggs + apple; 3:00pm: cookies + Robin’s eggs + mini York patties; 6:15pm: Loco Moco (Nom Nom Paleo) + sautéed broccoli & bacon; 9:00pm: frozen banana treats- sliced banana + any type of nut/seed butter + macadamia nut and chocolate sauce drizzled on top (raw cacao powder + coconut oil/butter) and put in freezer until firm.

There have only been a handful of times in my life where I had to write down everything I ate on a daily basis. Those times were: gestational diabetes (pregnancy), autoimmune urticaria/angioedema (on my own- not doctors’ orders), post-pregnancy (to lose the baby weight or try to at least) and post-college (to lose the Freshman-25). Okay. Okay. Maybe a little more than a handful of times. I will occasionally go back and use the MyFitnessPal app to track a few days worth of food, just to get an idea of my caloric intake. I do not always eat 100% Paleo, some days it is closer to that 100 then others so, it is a good idea for me to get a handle on how many calories I am actually eating. It seems lately I have been eating like I am training for a marathon but, I am NOT actually training for a marathon so those extra calories I am consuming are not getting burned off as quickly.

 

smoothieday

Thurs. (2/13/14): Smoothie Day! Thirsty Thursday!

I normally don’t make smoothies because, for me, they are just extra calories. I would rather just eat the actual whole food to get the nutrients or vitamins or what ever it is I need to include into my diet. I will be honest with you though, I made a banana/avocado/cacao smoothie for this challenge and tasted really good. Z and I split the smoothie and since I made it that one day I now make one for him every afternoon when he wakes up from his nap and he loves it!

Paleo Chocolate Smoothie (serving size: 2)

  • 1 medium banana
  • 1/2 small avocado
  • 2 tsp. organic raw cacao powder
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • handful of ice
  • 1 TBL raw honey
  • 1/4-1/3 milk or coconut water or any other milk alternative

 

rawfriday

Fri. (2/14/14): Go Raw Friday!

This was probably the hardest of all the days. The only thing I could come up with was fruit (banana/apple) with my almond butter. I know, really exciting huh?!?

Can’t wait to see what week 3 brings. I am already 2 days in and will be interested to see how the rest of the week plays out.

 

**don’t  forget to head on over to Lorna Jane’s site and Move, Nourish and Believe, they have some great workouts on their sites.

**Last but not least, make sure to check out Jenn @Peas and Crayons for more blogger eats!

Which one of these days would be the hardest for you? the easiest?

Are you following me yet? If not, you are missing out! Don’t worry it’s not too late go check out my other social media outlets I use below!

Facebook

Instagram

Pinterest

Twitter

This entry was posted in Autoimmune Urticaria, Marathon training, New Recipes, paleo, Uncategorized, WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to WIAW #11: Paleo Chocolate Smoothie + #mnbchallenge week 2 recap

  1. Thank you for sharing the fun you are having with these challenges. Very motivating!

  2. Meghan @ fitnesscrEATures says:

    I told my man about those tuna cakes and I’m glad they’re your favorite lunch right now because I will gladly be making them ASAP. My boyfriend was super excited about the idea too, especially because we love paleo salmon cakes SO MUCH. I feel the SAME way about smoothies, I’d rather eat them in their whole form because sometimes they just turn into mounds of calories. And, to be fair, I don’t mind eating that much first thing in the morning but sometimes it leaves more to be desired and when you eat that much – you don’t want to feel hungry after, naturally. Wow that was a long sentence. 🙂
    Good job going meatless for breakfast! I’m sure that’s hard to do.

  3. Lindsey says:

    I LOVE smoothies! I eat them for breakfast (and let’s be real dinner) all the time in the summer 🙂 It’s kind of a pain to write down everything you eat, but it works for some people!

  4. runsaltrun says:

    Raw day would definitely be my biggest struggle! Meatless and smoothies? No problem. 🙂
    This challenge is so cool! I’ve seen it on a couple of different blogs and I’m sad I missed the start of it!

  5. You had me at chocolate smoothie- yum!

Leave a Reply

