WIAW#12: What have I been eating lately?

Hi there!

It’s me! I am still alive. I know I was getting out a couple posts each week for a while and then nothing for over a week. I promise I have a good reason. My son got sick over the weekend and then I caught a little of what he had as well. Since Z has been sick he hasn’t been wanting to take any naps during the afternoon. I know! I am going crazy over here. I really got spoiled with his 3-hour nap in the afternoon. If he doesn’t take one today then it we will be going on day 4 of no nap! And the nap time was when I would write my posts for this blog, catch up on blog reading, etc.

no nap time = no blogging time for this mama

I was looking through my phone’s pictures and had quite a few that I had taken of my meals over the last few weeks and thought it would be perfect to include in this weeks’ WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) series that Jenn @ Peas & Crayons hosts every week. If you follow me on Instagram then you may have already seen some of them but, if you don’t then these will all be new-to-you! Which reminds me, are you following me on Instagram yet?!?! If you aren’t, then what’s stopping you?!?

WIAW #12

Since everyone was sick here on Saint Patrick’s Day,I didn’t make my corned beef and cabbage dinner. I was just not feeling like spending all afternoon in the kitchen when Z was hanging onto me 24/7 and I wasn’t feeling so hot myself. Maybe in the next couple weeks I will get crazy and make our Saint Patrick’s Day dinner. I did manage to throw together a Saint Patrick’s Day green smoothie for Z and I to split. It was delicious!

Saint Patrick’s Day Green Smoothie:

  • small cup of ice
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1/2 medium avocado
  • 1 TBL raw honey (or any other sweetener of your choice)
  • 2 handfuls of baby spinach
  • gelatin (I didn’t use it in this one but, you can add it to get some extra protein)
  1. Blend together and ENJOY!

st patricks day green smoothie

Green Smoothie (see recipe above); Homemade Iced Latte (NESPRESSO)

Favorite lunch, snack and breakfast meals!

1. favorite lunch: salami + cheese roll-ups (Applegate brand), paleo deviled eggs, black olives

2. favorite treat: banana + almond butter {(cocoa + coconut) (Barney Butter brand)} + mini chocolate chips (Enjoy Life brand-paleo approved)

3.favorite breakfast: scrambled eggs + roasted beets + 1/2 avocado

Well Fed Pad Thai Against all grain meatballs

1. Family favorites: Pad Thai {(I added some julienned carrots )(The Clothes Make the Girl)} ; Sweet & Sour Meatballs (Against All Grain) w/ sautéed carrots and broccoli

Nom Nom Paleo Big-O burgers Paleo fried zucchini

1. Favorite Burger: Big-O burger (Nom Nom Paleo); Paleo Fried zucchini (see recipe here)

Before I go I have to tell you all something. A fellow blogger, Michele @Paceofbalance, saw my picture of my roasted beets on Twitter a couple of weeks ago, which inspired her to try beets for the first time!! She even included the beets in a recipe that she posted on her blog. Go check it out here and if you aren’t following her already on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram then what are you waiting  for! She recently joined IG thanks to yours truly. Let’s go show her some love on IG !!!

What have you been eating lately?

Have you tried beets? What’s the verdict? not the ones in the cans! Like real, whole beets.

Don’t forget to follow me!

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

Pinterest

Peas and Crayons

This entry was posted in Holidays, New Recipes, paleo, Uncategorized, WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WIAW#12: What have I been eating lately?

  1. I hope Z gets back to his 3-hour naps soon so momma can get some stuff done! 🙂

    I’m not a huge beet fan. I’ll eat them in a salad or dish, but prefer that they’re not the main part of the dish.

  2. I would be very unhappy if my toddler stopped napping. He doesn’t nap for 3 hours, but I am happy with the 1-1.5 hours I get. Hope Z is better again. Good to have you back. I’m new to your blog, but I am going through past posts for Paleo food ideas.

  3. sarahdudek80 says:

    Oh boy, I hope everything calms down in your home soon. Definitely missed your posts. By the way I love what you do with your pictures. What program do you use to make them look so fun?

  4. Welcome to Mommyhood says:

    Your Saint Patrick’s Day smoothie sounds delicious! I always need to serve spinach to my son in a way that he doesn’t realise it’s spinach – that’s perfect!
    We looove beets. Everyone in my home. I use them for just about anything – I’ve even put them in muffins and pancakes, a whole bunch of soups. I think I’m a little obsessed with them!

Leave a Reply

