My Running Story.

I can’t believe that I have had this blog for over a year and still have not shared my full story on why I started my running journey. I wanted to tell the story before I started my “Running 101” series.

Everyone will have a different running journey.

 Different reasons as to why they started.

Different motivations.

Different struggles.

Different triumphs.

The one common denominator for why we continue running, are all for very similar reasons. Those reasons are what unites us as runners.

my running story

 

Here is my story.

If memory serves me right, I began running in 2005 (roughly) but, didn’t run my first race until 2008.

I started running because I wanted to lose weight. I gained the infamous “Freshman 25”. Yes, that is right, that is not a typo. I had gained 25 pounds in college and that was only in the first four years. It took me 5½ years to complete school. Again, that isn’t a typo. It took me 5 ½ years and over $15k in student loans later I was a college graduate. Woo hoo!

2005. I joined a gym down the street from my parents house (where I was living). The gym had a 1 mile track on the second floor and of course severally treadmills. I don’t even know if that was the intent of joining the gym (to start running) but, that was what happened. I started getting on the treadmill and running or if the treadmills were all taken then I would use the indoor track and ran until I was too tired. I would just use the clock that was in the gym to get an estimate on how long I had ran for. I wish I had done some research on how to properly start running. I wasn’t following any training plans or any types of running methods. I would just run. I didn’t even have my Garmin yet. Honestly, unless I was using the treadmill I had no idea how fast I was going or how far I was running.  I did the whole gym thing for a couple of years until I stopped going and finally had the courage to cancel my gym membership. I definitely felt like Chandler Bing and Ross Geller at the time. Don’t worry I hadn’t stopped running. I moved closer to the local university that had an actually outside track that I was able to run on. I continued using the outside track to work on my short sprints and ran the hood for my longer runs.

Fast forward to 2008. I registered my hubby and I up for our very first race, a local 10k.

Six months after that we ran another local 10k together.

September 2009. My hubby and I both ran our first half marathon. It was pretty miserable but, by the next day I was already looking online for our next race. I was hooked!

December 2009. I bought my very first Garmin 405cx watch which I still use to this day.

“College 25” = No more!

I did eventually lose all the extra college weight, about a year after I started running. It felt like it took me forever to lose the weight but, looking back in about a year span I lost over 30 pounds. Even though it took longer then some I did it the right way. I started to watch what I ate and started exercising. I know. Crazy, right?!? I truly believe the reason why I have been able to keep the extra weight off, for the last 9 years, is because I made my  new habits into a complete lifestyle change, not just a quick fix.  Of course, when I became pregnant I gained weight, obviously that is to be expected. After the first year of running when I had lost all my college weight, I was at my lowest weight that I had ever been EVER in my life, even to this day. Truthfully, I was too skinny and wasn’t happy with the number on the scale. Today as I write this I am 20 pounds heavier than I was at my lightest and feel that I am in almost the best shape that I have ever been in. That number on the scale is just that, a number. It means nothing if you aren’t happy with how you feel.

Nine years later, thousands of miles later, couple dozen shoes later and countless races later here I am. Stronger than ever!

What started as a weight loss journey turned into something I never thought it would.

A life long passion.

 

What is your running story?

Bloggers: If you have a past post on your running story, please leave the link to that post in the comments below! I love hearing how others started running!

Don’t forget to follow me:

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

Pinterest

 

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My Running Story.

  1. This was fun to read! I totally know what you mean about the number on the scale. In my 20’s I chased a number on the scale. I weigh about 5lbs more than my “skinniest” when I worked out twice a day. Yep, twice. My body composition is so much healthier now. I feel stronger. Anyway you recently read about me on Lil Mys Ninja, but here is a post that 1) got me into blogging and 2) got me BACK into running. http://www.annsrunningcommentary.com/the-smarter-stronger-runner/

    • Thanks! Isn’t it funny how we get so fixated on a certain number and become obsessed with it. I’m glad you found your happy and healthy weight! And most importantly that you feel stronger now! I will check out that post!!! Thank you!!

  2. Kimberly Morganstern says:

    I used to run a mile or less in gym class everyday in high school. After that I hadn’t run and never even care for it. It all started in October 2012 in an exercise class, one of the assessments was running a mile after like 10 other assessments. Needless to say I was super tired but, ran that mile in under 10 mins. On the end of the 2nd assessment I ran a mile at 7:56, by far my fastest mile ever. I got faster and felt less chest pain by running at night, just around my neighbor, that’s how I trained. Then I started to run with my friend who has been running for quite some time (you know who you are) in March 2013 and I ran my 1st ever 5 miles and then I just felt unstoppable! Because of her I signed up for my 1st half-marathon (Oct. of 2013 Long Beach) and I only had 3-5ks under my belt. I finished the 13.1 miles in 2:37:00 It was such a RUSH! The adrenaline rush I feel when I am even 5 seconds faster than the last mile, is just pure bliss! Running is also very therapeutic for me.

  3. I loved reading about your running story. You commented on my blog once and mentioned that you started running out of a desire to lose weight, but I hadn’t heard your full story. Fascinating! Mine can be found here: http://debruns.com/?p=9156

  4. sarahdudek80 says:

    So awesome. Thanks for sharing. Very inspirational.

  5. I, too, love hearing others’ running stories. You’ve inspired me to write a post telling my “running story”. Once I do, I’ll come back here and post the URL to my story. Thanks, Lindsey!

  6. I’m not sure I have a real running story other than that one day I just decided to go out the door and run. Truthfully, I don’t really consider myself much of a runner and all the 5k’s I’ve done, I’ve been challenged to do so by other people. Actually it was just suggested to me that I run a half marathon so I decided I’m going to. I haven’t started training yet because the weather here is still terrible but I have gotten in a run or two on done non snowy days. Anyway, maybe once I start training I’ll begin to think of myself as a runner. I really love the running community and I think it would be a lot of fun to become more active in it!

    Oh & totally agree with you about the scale! It’s just a number, I honestly don’t even own a scale and don’t have a clue how much I really weigh and I don’t care 🙂 I’m happy with how my clothes fit and that’s all that matters to me 😉

    • That’s awesome that you don’t even own a scale! I really need to get rid of mine! You are definitely a runner already!!! And once you cross the finish line of your first half, you will be hooked!!! Let me know if you have any questions! Thank you for sharing your story 😃

  7. And thank you for sharing your story. I really enjoyed reading it!!! Makes me want to run even more 🙂

  8. What a fantastic running story- thanks for sharing!
    I love that both you and your husband live a healthy, active lifestyle. Z most certainly will carry that throughout his life, too!
    I also love it when people are heavier than their lightest but feel (and look) so much stronger! There’s proof that the number on the scale doesn’t mean anything!
    i started running when I was in grade seven, joined competitive track in grade 8, and have never looked back! I can’t imagine my life without it.

  9. Pingback: Outrunning the rain. | onemotherofaday

  10. Pingback: Running 101: Getting Started | onemotherofaday

  11. Pingback: National Running Day 6.4.14 {I run because…} | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

