Outrunning the rain.

picmonkey collage coverphoto

Waking up this morning I never would have expected my run to go the way it did.

My plan was to run 10 miles.

That plan completely went out the window at mile 2.5 into my run.

Like any runner, I am constantly checking the weather. Especially the night before a long run. The weather confirmed blue skies all morning. It wasn’t suppose to rain until Tuesday so, I wasn’t worried at all. Well, I was wrong!

I woke up a little after 5, and looked outside and the ground was wet and was still able to hear the rain coming off the roof and hitting our Bar-be-que. Okay, it wasn’t a full on down-pour (that will come in later), but a very heavy drizzle. Again, I wasn’t too concerned because according to the Weather Channel app, it was supposed to be CLEAR SKIES! I didn’t think too much of the wet ground. I went about my normal routine for the morning of a long run.

I had my running buddy join me at the trail. With the clouds looking dark and angry, we both knew there was going to be a good chance that it could rain on us. We both agreed to start anyways, we weren’t going to let a little sprinkle or two stop us from getting our run in for the day!

We weren’t even a half mile into our run when it started lightly sprinkling. I told my buddy that I was still going to do my 10 miles, no matter what. The light sprinkling soon turned into a light rain than to a medium rain and next thing we know, we are in a straight out down pour!! We hadn’t even made it to the 2.5 mile marker when the rain was literally coming down in sheets. I ran about a half mile in a complete down pour when I made the executive decision that this run was going to be turned into a recovery run. All three layers that I was wearing were soaked, my shorts were so wet they were glued to my skin. I probably looked like a crazy person out there! Luckily, the down pour stopped before I got to mile 3 (and my turnaround). The clouds opened up a little and the sun came shining through. The last 3 miles back was dry and sunny.

**The picture below was at my 3 mile turnaround point. That was when the rain had stopped and the sun was coming out. It was so crazy how drastic the weather looked! #nofilter

PicMonkey Collage2differentviewssamespot

 

Needless to say I only did a little over 6 miles. I know I wanted to do 10 today but, honestly I needed a short easy run. The last 3 Sundays I have been increasing my mileage so, ideally I really needed this Sunday to be an easy run anyways. I was a little disappointed at first but I really wasn’t feeling it anyways this morning. It all worked out in the end.

The last time I ran in a down pour was probably over a year ago. I remember it very clearly. I ran 8 miles in very heavy rain. I know. I know. Many of you reading this are like “A whole year?!?!”. We are very spoiled here in Southern California.

 

Did you miss my last post? I told my running story on why I started running in the first place! Go check it out, here.

 

When was the last time you ran in a down pour? 

What is your favorite kind of weather to run in?

What do you call when you have a gathering and cook out on the grill? BBQ or Bar-be-que or grill or cook out or _____?

Don’t forget to follow me!

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

Pinterest

This entry was posted in running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Outrunning the rain.

  1. Yes, I’m a bit jealous that you haven’t ran in rain like that in a whole year! 🙂 It seems like 90% of my races are in rain. I vividly remember my last downpour run as well. My headphones have never quite worked the same…

    • Oh no about your headphones 😕 I was worried about my garmin watch and my phone too, that it would get too wet and stop working 😩 I think I can safely say, I have never ran in a race when it has rained 😃

  2. Kimberly Morganstern says:

    My first run this Wednesday a lot drizzle, too much wind and peek-a-boo sun! And I thought I was nuts! I was so wrong, my run this morning was a real down pour, as I passed my 2 miles mark, I had to stop and take cover at a park on my fav trail. 6 mins later, no more rain, the sun came out and it was just another wonderful day and I continue to run close to 3 more miles! My greatest treat to share my runs with another person of the same passion! “Running in the rain”, that’s a first for me! I prefer to run in a light breeze and with or without the sun.

    Just yesterday I had some grilled yummys with some friends. I call it grilling and chilling! I only called it BBQ if I brush it on or dunk in it.

  3. Good for you for still getting in 6 miles!! I’m not much of a seasoned runner but I did just run in 30 degrees and snow the other day! I’d much prefer that to rain though! Not sure I could run for too long in a downpour. Ideally, I like to run in high 50’s low 60 degree weather. I HATE being hot and get overheated really easily. Oh & here we call it either a BBQ or more commonly a cook out! 🙂

  4. It poured rain here all weekend except for noon to 4 PM today when Mother Nature decided to throw sleet and snow our way! Usually I don’t mind running in the rain too much, but it was 34-38 degrees and I knew I would get really cold so I skipped my run.

    Growing up we called a gathering outside a cookout, but now I usually call it a BBQ or party, depending on the time of day.

    • Oh boy! You guys aren’t catching a break! My hubby is from Ohio and he calls it a cook out. Funny how depending on what part of the country we live in, determines what we call things.

  5. Karen says:

    I like your determination, rain kills it for me. I usually head to gym and treadmill it. I would take a 25 degree over rain any day 🙂

Leave a Reply

