Friday Five: Most Memorable Races

Hi !

I’m linking up again with Mar, Courtney and Cynthia for their Friday Five series. I actually got my act together and am writing this the day before and not the day of.

Friday Five: 5 most memorable races

I know I have talked about some of my races that I have done but, haven’t highlighted the most memorable ones. Not all of these are good memorable. There is one that I wish never happened.

 

1. Disneyland Half 2009

friday Five: 5 most memorable races 1st half marathon

 

This was my very first half. I trained for this race but, had no idea what I was doing. I can’t even remember if I was following a training plan. I know I wasn’t doing as many long runs as I should have. The most I had run during a training run was 9 miles. This course went through Disneyland,  by Honda Center and through the in-field of Anaheim Stadium. I could have cared less about all those attractions. I still remember to this day how much pain I was in by the time I got to mile 9. My legs were in so much pain, they felt like jello. Oh how far I have come!

 

 

2. 1st Lt. Jared M Landaker Memorial Run for Freedom 15K

friday five: 5 most memorable races

Yes, you read that right, 7,000 ft. The race took place in Big Bear, CA.  I don’t know what I was thinking when I decided to sign up for this race. By this time I had run a few half marathons so, maybe I was getting a little too confident in my abilities. I under trained in all aspects. I ran all but ONE training run at 900 ft elevation. My only training run that was actually done at race elevation was just a 7 miler. I wasn’t getting in enough long runs and I can’t even say that I was even running 3x a week. My training was overall very poor and it showed on race day. This was the first race that I didn’t run the whole time, I had stopped to walk quite a few times throughout the race. I remember walking along side my husband on the course and crying, saying I just wanted to walk off and pretend this whole thing never happened. I did finish. It wasn’t pretty but I finished. Lessons were learned that day.

 

3. Surf City Half 2013

Friday Five: 5 most memorable races

This was my first race where I was eating Paleo. I didn’t know how my new “diet” was going to affect my race performance. I felt strong throughout the 13.1 miles. My legs felt good the whole time. Usually around mile 10 is when my body and mind start giving up and struggle to finish but, not this race. I didn’t hit any “wall”. I crossed the finish line not feeling completely wiped. I knew I made a great choice in my new “diet”.

 

4. OC Half 2013

Friday Five: 5 most memorable races

I had gotten the itch to run a marathon after the Surf City half. I knew before I started this particular race that it would be the deciding factor if I should start training for a full. The race went smoothly. I felt even better than I did in my last half. I finished strong and once I crossed the finish line I knew right then and there that I was going to train for a full. I was only mildly sore the following day. My recovery was one of the quickest I ever had. A couple of weeks after this race was when I registered for my first 26.2 miles.

 

5. Long Beach Full Marathon 2013

Friday Five: 5 most memorable races

Even to this day, I still can’t believe I completed a marathon. After everything that happened that lead up to race day, I was more determined than ever to finish this race. I got injured 4 weeks out from the race. I didn’t even run the last 2 weeks leading up to the day. I caught a little cold the week before. Two days before, I went to the doctor and was prescribed an inhaler and given a breathing treatment. During the race, at mile 14-15 (?) I got stung by a bee. I swear the race Gods were against me the whole time but, that just made me push more to finish what I started. And now I’m a marathoner!

 

What is one of your most memorable races? And why?

Is there one that you wish never happened?

Don’t forget to follow me!

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

Pinterest

 

 

This entry was posted in Marathon training, paleo, running, Top 5 Friday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday Five: Most Memorable Races

  1. i loved reading about your favorite races. and wow — you got stung by a bee while running your marathon? i’m not sure what i would do if that had happened to me while running. ouch!

    • Yes, I couldn’t believe it either! When it happened I let out a lil yelp and no one else around me reacted and everyone was still running forward so I just kept going too. Thanx for co-hosting this link-up !!

  2. I love your perseverance in hanging in there those weeks leading up to your first marathon. I’ve heard about people getting sidelined by everything from injury to sickness; I have to say I wasn’t that unlucky with my two marathons (knock on wood for future ones). My favorite race story is the 2006 Nike Women’s Half Marathon in San Francisco. I ran the same race in 2005 and the organizers did such a bad job in 2005 that the race started 45 minutes late. So in 2006, I thought I would outsmart the organizers and I showed up a bit later than the organizers recommended… and when I got there, not only had the race started, but they had taken down the Race Start. I had to run for two whole miles before I found the tail end of the race…but I did find the course and finish the race.

    • OMG! I can’t believe that!! At least you caught up with them! I can’t believe they started 45 mins late that one year, very terrible planning on the organizers part. I have heard the Nike women’s race is really fun! That is one that I would want to run, some day. Was the course really hilly?

      • I don’t know if the course has changed much since I ran it back in 2005 & 2006, but back then, the course did a good job of keeping near the water, which meant there were few hills. I haven’t run the race again since 2006 because the only way to get in is to win a spot through their lottery system or run with an organized group like Team in Training. I hope you get a spot one day if you really want to run it…it’s not a bad drive from SoCal to SF.

  3. OMG – a bee sting while running?! I think I’d have died (not literally). Good on you for keeping it going! I have so many fun and memorable races but there are definitely some I’d soon forget 😉 thanks for linking up with us!

  4. The 15k in the Mountains is the kind of race that makes you STRONGER! And getting stung by a bee?! That’s crazy! Way to push through it. Hmmm….the race I wish never happened was a tri in San Diego. The water was super rough that day and they almost canceled the swim. I could have opted out and done the du, but I was stubborn. So I dove into the waves and….I dislocated my shoulder! To this day I can’t explain to anyone what exactly happened. I must have tumbled and my arm hit the sand. So, I didn’t finish. My motto for tri’s is “Just come out unscathed.”

    • Very true! Looking back finishing the 15k did mentally make me stronger!
      OMG! You dislocated your shoulder, yikes! That is rough. We runners are stubborn! We refuse to give up😃

  5. Meghan says:

    I’ve recently wanted to do a Disney race but A) they fill up so fast and B) that’s a huge cost commitment for me and I just can’t afford it quite yet! One day, though – it’s a total bucket list item. 🙂 I love that Paleo has helped you with your fitness level – that makes total sense! 🙂 And had I gotten stung by a bee during a FREAKING MARATHON I would have quit. No.To.That. You are a real champion.

    • Yeah I think back when we did the Disney one it wasn’t as popular as it is today. We didn’t have to sign up months and months in advance. Now this whole Disney race craze seems out of control and really discourages me from running in them . But it definitely was cool running through the magic kingdom!

  6. What a cool idea for a post! I love the blurb about each race – you told the stories of each in such an exciting way. And yeah – stung by a bee and finished 26.2? Awesome!

Leave a Reply

