Run, like how you live your life, with no regrets.

Editor note: Pretend you are reading this yesterday, Sunday. I was going to write this up last night after Z went to bed but, I went to bed instead. Smart decision. I was tired. Okay, as you were. Read on.

_________________________________________________________________

Run, like how you live your life, with no regrets. onemotherofaday

 

This Sunday’s run couldn’t have gone any better, if I tried. Since last Sunday’s long run turned into a recovery run I knew today I had to run 10. I am glad I was forced by Mother Nature, to run only 6 last week. My body needed it and, most importantly, my mind needed the break.

Strangely, I look forward to waking up early on Sundays. I know that when my alarm goes off at 4:45 I will be very shortly running on the trail. The trail is where I run my long runs, where I test my mental, physical and emotional strength with each passing mile.

One goal I had on today’s run was to run 10 miles. Well, I take that back two goals. The second goal was to run pain-free. All last week I didn’t wear either of my compression sleeves for my knees which was a big WIN for me! There was only once that I used the #KT Tape on one of my knees. That was for my third workout of the day.Yes, you read that right! I must have been delirious that day or something. I never workout three separate times in one day. That is just crazy!

So, back to this morning’s run.

I started off feeling good. My first 4 miles were under 9:30 pace. My slowest was at mile 5 @ 9:42 (and that was the only one over 9:30). I couldn’t believe how good I was feeling through out. I kept waiting for something to hurt or even start to feel a little twinge or something. Again nothing. Not even the balls of my feet hurt which, they always do on and off, starting at mile 5-6. Nothing.

As I was getting closer to the last mile I started realizing that I could have the potential of breaking a sub-2 half, next month. Oh yeah, did I mention I’m running my 8th half marathon next month? I don’t know if I have, on my blog. It’s the OC half that starts in Newport Beach, CA and finishes in Costa Mesa, CA (@ the OC Fairgrounds). It’s a great course. This will be my 4th time running it, not consecutively.

I really needed this good strong long run. It has been a long time since I had a good one. It seems all my runs lately have been slow (compared to my average pace) and just not feeling it. It was actually refreshing to start strong and finish strong. This 10-miler was also my fastest long training run. All the stars had aligned for me this morning.

Run, like how you live your life, with no regrets Blog post

Of course, when you are out running for long periods you start thinking a lot which can be good and bad at the same time. My mind was racing with all sorts of regrets and questions.

Why didn’t I at least try to build up my base again?

Why now were my knees not giving me problems?

Is it too late to start training now for a June 1st full?

Ten miles later I knew what the right and smart decision would be. Not what I wanted it to be but the best logical decision. I know, we runners are not always logical when it comes to running. We always want to keep pushing ourselves and striving to be the fastest, against ourselves. We are stubborn like that.

Decision: The June (Full) marathon is NOT going to happen. There just isn’t enough time to build back up my weekly mileage.

Yes, I regret that it took me this long to even have a strong long run.

But, NO I don’t regret starting my training now and then risk injuring myself again; being in the same situation as I was for my first FULL. {Read a few posts on wrote leading up to my marathon last Fall, here here and here and here}

Things happen for a reason. Life is too short for regrets. Live your life, with no regrets.

My next short-term goal: RUN a sub-2 half at the OC race.

Have you ever had a training run go so smoothly?

Do you have any regrets when it comes to running? Any races you should have trained for but didn’t?

Don’t forget to follow me!

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

This entry was posted in Marathon training, running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Run, like how you live your life, with no regrets.

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    This is a great post. I think we can all relate.

  2. I am so excited for your short-term goal and wish you luck on running your next half marathon sub-2 hours. I remember reading on one of your posts that after you switched to a Paleo diet, your times were much faster, and I am keeping my fingers crossed that if/when I do get back to races, my times are a little bit faster. I’ve been running pretty fast on short distances (less than 4 miles), so I don’t know what will happen when I eventually build up to the half marathon distance. Love your enthusiasm for Sunday runs!

  3. Glad you had a successful long run! Your Sunday mornings sound marvelous!
    I also know you made the right decision. Wait until the time is right to do another full- when you have time to slowly build and when you’re body is completely healthy!
    Ah- I’ve signed up for a few big races and then had to back out due to injury. That’s depressing!

  4. AWESOME job! I’m glad to hear you felt so good. Yes, I can totally relate to being stubborn. Sometimes we (I specifically) get so consumed with getting “better” which often equates to faster. Truth is, we are constantly maturing as runners and in life. It’s not always physical. Good decision on the marathon. The training is intense and you have to be sure you have the time to dedicate to it. Can’t wait to hear how your crush your half 🙂

    • Thank you! I’m right there with ya, in terms of getting consumed with always wanting to get “better”!
      I forget that sometimes there are other aspects that are more important.

  5. Meghan says:

    Good grief I love runs like this – where you’re just feeling so empowered and wonderful and magnificent and you start to think you can do anything! That’s how I ended up singing up for this upcoming marathon – I was feeling strong and I was bored at home snowed in so I was like, yep, I’m late to the training party but I can do it… Luckily I wasn’t starting from scratch otherwise this would have been hell. But anyway, back you… Congrats on such an awesome run! I think you’re totally capable of a sub 2… If I can, you totally can! 🙂 Remember, we’re basically the same runners!! I am so excited for you to achieve that goal! It’s one of the best feelings in the world. Stick with pacers, that’s what helped me the most – was visibly seeing I was on pace the entire time. Three workouts in one day? Man! That’s fantastic!! Can’t wait for this race! And PS, super glad you aren’t doing the full – you need more time than just 2 months to train! 🙂

    • That’s a good idea to stick with a pacer! I have never done it but that’s a great idea. Like you said, so I can visibly see it. I’m glad I decided against the full too. Good luck on your next marathon!! Yay!!

  6. I love your sub 2-hour goal! We really should live closer since we seem to run at the same pace! I met that sub 2-hour goal on Sunday, so I know that you can do it, too! Good luck!

  7. Pingback: WIAW#14: What I ate before, during and after a 12 mile run | onemotherofaday

  8. Pingback: National Running Day 6.4.14 {I run because…} | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

