WIAW#14: What I ate before, during and after a 12 mile run

The last post I wrote in the Running 101 series was on proper fueling and now I am going to take you through how I fuel for a 12 mile run. This run was done a few weeks ago, but it is basically very similar to all my other long runs.

WIAW #14: What I ate before, during and after a 12 mile run

It is Wednesday and in blog world that means WIAW. So, instead of telling you about what foods I eat on a certain day I am going to tell you what foods fuel my before, during and after a long run, 12 mile long run to be exact.

Don’t forget to head on over to Jenn @peas and crayons for a whole link-up of other bloggers sharing their recent eats!!

WIAW Peas and Crayons

 

Projected start time: 6:15 am

Actual start time: 6:23 am

Sunday Morning

 

WIAW#14: What I ate before, during and after a 12 mile run

 

6:23 am: Started the run

WIAW#14: What I ate before, during and after a 12 mile run

 

Finished the 12 miles: 1 hour 57 minutes 2 seconds (pace 9:44/mil)

Within 45 minutes of finishing my run I made my new favorite post-workout/run protein shake.

I know what you are thinking, but protein powder isn’t paleo, is it?! Protein powder is another one of those grey areas in the Paleo World. You will have die-hard paleo followers say No way, is there any protein powder that is Paleo approved/friendly. Others will tell you, it depends on the circumstance in which you are using this protein powder. If you are using it after an intense workout and not as a daily meal replacement than it is ok, according to some.

The hard answer is Protein Powder is NOT Paleo!

The reason it is not is because it is not a WHOLE FOOD. The people who do use protein powder use the highest quality ingredients, grass-fed whey and no artificial and/or chemical additives. I have become one of those people.

Just in the last month I started researching high quality protein powder. I had tried a sample of RawFit that I bought at Sprouts and after drinking a shake using it I was coughing the rest of the night. I don’t know if it was a coincidence or not but, I felt it didn’t agree with me. So, I was on the hunt again. I came across a recent post by Juli @PaleOMG for a post-workout shake, the picture looked good so, I went and read her post and she had mentioned the brand (Formulx) of protein powder she used. I than found other posts where she used this same brand protein and decided to check this company out.

formulx

Their site said they offer a high-quality, grass-fed, and no artificial additives and/or chemicals protein powder. They seem to market mostly towards Paleo athletes. They offer pre, during, post and nighttime-based protein powders. I of course wanted to buy all their products but, decided to just try out their post-workout protein for now and see how it worked for me. It is safe is say, that I LOVE their product! I bought the vanilla protein powder and when I add a banana and coconut milk or whole milk and blend it up it literally tastes like a vanilla milkshake. I now look forward to after my long runs on Sunday and my 2 HIIT workouts that I have during the week because I know once they are over that I get to go home and enjoy my vanilla protein shake!

Here is a little shameless brand promotion (I bought this with my money. I was not given this to try out and review. I found this company on my own.): If you want a high quality, no fillers protein powder, than you NEED to check out Formulx! You wont be disappointed! They even have chocolate flavored protein, too, if vanilla isn’t your thing! Now if they only had a coffee flavored that would be the trifecta (coffee, protein, flavor)!!

I did write a post on this 12 mile run, here. If you want to check it out!

Do you use any protein powders?

What does your fuel look like before, during and after a long run?

Don’t forget to check out my other posts in the “Running 101” series:

Getting Started

Nutrition and Paleo

Proper Fueling

Don’t forget to follow me!

Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Pinterest

 

This entry was posted in running, WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to WIAW#14: What I ate before, during and after a 12 mile run

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    I have been enjoying reading your info on paleo and considering making some changes in my diet, which is already pretty healthy. I am pretty lucky that a breakfast can hold me over for about 15 or so miles. I just don’t like a lot of the fuel options. But I did use pocketfuel on a recent 20 mile run and loved the idea of nutbutter instead of gels. I am going to have to do some better research on the paleo diet 🙂

    • Yes you are very lucky! That is wonderful! I actually have a sample pocketfuel but haven’t tried it yet. Is it pretty easy to eat while running?

      • sarahdudek80 says:

        It is just like GU. My only complaint is that there is really 2 servings in the package and you can’t reseal it so it just gets trashed. My husband used it during a difficult 17 miler and said it pulled him through the run. I also had a 13 year old try it last Sunday on a 9.5 mile training run for an upcoming half. He loved it. You will want a swig of water handy.

      • Thanks for all the info! Maybe I’ll have to try it out soon!

  2. Meg says:

    I enjoy reading your recipes and meal prep info. I have nominated you for the Liebster Award since I think you’ve got a lot of great info!

    http://megsliferunning.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/liebster-award-pt-2-my-nominees/

  3. Pingback: Whole30 week 1: food prep and meal planning | onemotherofaday

  4. Pingback: Running 101: Proper Fueling | onemotherofaday

  5. Pingback: Running 101: Getting Started | onemotherofaday

  6. Pingback: Running 101: Nutrition and Paleo | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

