Whole30 week 3: food prep + meal planning {Bonus: Whole Foods Paleo finds!}

Hi all!

I’m back again with some food prep and meal ideas for week 3 of the Whole30! Yes, I know, I am just as excited as you are! I was very proud of myself that I got the majority of my food prep done this afternoon and will finish the rest this evening. I really can’t believe I used to NOT do any food prep or meal planning, pre-Paleo. I can’t even remember if I even planned our dinners ahead of time or not. I know I used to make numerous trips to the grocery store every week. My “diet” was not that great either. Many people thought that because I ran that I ate “healthy”,  but in reality I didn’t, which was why my running sucked. I was very slow, I didn’t have very good recovery post-run, and I never felt like I had any energy for my runs. Being diagnosed with my autoimmune condition was a blessing in disguise. Of course, I could have done with out all the hives, fat lips/eye lids and the other symptoms that I experienced, but if I never had to deal with those than I never would have discovered the Paleo lifestyle. My only regret regarding the Paleo diet is that I didn’t discover it sooner.

Paleo Whole Foods Finds!

I mentioned, in a previous post, that I made my 2nd trip EVER to Whole Foods last weekend, but forgot to tell you the yummy food find’s I bought. They had 3 different varieties of “sweet potatoes” and one of those I had never tried before, the Japanese yam. They are a dark purple color and looks identical to their garnet yam cousin.

whole30 week 3 food prep and meal planning

One of the benefits of following tons of paleo bloggers’ on Instagram is that I find out about different products that I normally wouldn’t hear about. I kept seeing a product from Stumptown coffee roasters that make a cold brew coffee drink and have never been able to find it around my area. I found it at Whole Foods and knew I had to buy it to see what all the hype was. After tasting the cold brew I wasn’t crazy about it, don’t get me wrong it tasted good, not bitter, smooth taste, but I just wasn’t gaga about it. I had mine over ice with some half and half. Another product I was determined to find were sauerkraut and pickles that are Paleo-approved and made by Bubbies. I am officially obsessed with their pickles! The pickles are not Whole30 approved because of the sugar added but I am okay with it. Come get me Whole30 police!

Alright, let’s  get to the real reason you are reading this, food prep and meal ideas!

whole30 week 3 food prep and meal planning

Food Prep:

  • Grilled Peruvian Chicken (Nom Nom Paleo)
  • maple sage roasted butternut squash (Beyond Bacon)*
  • roasted beets
  • sweet potato hash (Nom Nom Paleo)
  • Paleo mayo (Well Fed 2)
  • Ranch dressing (Nom Nom Paleo)
  • hard-boiled eggs
  • garlic mashed cauliflower (Nom Nom Paleo)
  • cook bacon
  • roast broccoli

*I could only find this recipe in Paleo Parents’ book, Beyond Bacon. The link I provided is to the same concept of the recipe but they used sweet potatoes instead of the butternut squash.

Breakfast:

  • sweet potato hash w/ fried eggs + bacon
  • veggie omelet + avocado

lunch:

  • leftover dinners
  • {Applegate} Hot dogs + sauerkraut + pickles + black olives + Paleo deviled eggs
  • {Applegate} salami/turkey roll-ups + pickles + Paleo deviled eggs

Dinner:

snacks:

  • carrots w/ ranch dressing
  • Paleo deviled eggs
  • bacon + avocado
  • almonds
  • banana or apple w/ almond butter {check list of ingredients}

Emergency meals:

  • seasoned ground beef  + lettuce + mayo + avocado
  • sautéed kielbasa {check list of ingredients} + sautéed cabbage and onions + sauerkraut
  • {Applegate} deli meats + hard-boiled eggs

What are some ingredients that you always keep on hand, for quick easy meals?

What is one benefit of using Instagram?

Whole Food shoppers: What is one item that you always have to buy?

Don’t forget to follow me!

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

Pinterest

Whole30

This entry was posted in paleo, Sunday Food Prep, Whole30 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whole30 week 3: food prep + meal planning {Bonus: Whole Foods Paleo finds!}

  1. I’m obsessed with roasted beets with a little balsamic vinegar. I get all different flavors to add to salads. I like the Whole Foods brand whey protein powder. Their fruit is always way better too.

  2. Meghan says:

    Haha I can’t believe this was your second trip to Whole Foods. I do NOT shop there very much because, hello, I have a budget and Whole Foods does not fit into it. However, I do go in there for specialty products that I know I can find there. For a while, it was the only place I could find coconut flour (though, now, my local grocery store has it, so YAY!). Glad you found some good paleo stuff there!! And I love all the different kinds of sweet potatoes! 🙂 I actually prefer white ones to the orange ones (yams) but here in GA, sweet potatoes are mostly only known to be orange – so it’s a treat when I get white ones. Anyway, I use IG for motivation. 🙂 Perfect example – Friday night I was in between skipping a workout and going to bed or actually working out… I did my usual scroll through IG and saw so many posts about workouts that I got my big booty up and out the door for a run. And you’re darn right I was SO HAPPY about it. 🙂

    • haha yeah if I shopped at whole foods regularly I would be broke and my hubby wouldn’t be too happy either :/ I prefer the whites sweet potatoes too, I feel that they are less starchy than their orange counterparts.

  3. Annie Brees says:

    You’re doing such a great job! What are you Paleo Deviled Eggs? I love eggs, especially deviled eggs! Tell me more!

    • Nothing special, for the deviled eggs, hard boiled eggs and paleo mayo! I make paleo mayo using theclothesmakethegirl.com recipe. I love her mayo! Bring egg and lemon juice to room temp. Put all ingredients in a glass 2cup measuring cup and use an immersion blender. 15 seconds later! Done! You will never want to buy store bought again!

  4. Pingback: WIAW#16: What I ate….week 2 of my Whole30 | onemotherofaday

Leave a Reply

