WIAW# 17: What I ate…week 3 of my Whole30 {Bonus recipe: Iced Buttered Coffee}

WIAW# 17 whole30 week 3 eats

Hi All!

It’s that time again! Time for another WIAW post. I’m linking up again with Jenn @Peas and Crayons for her weekly series.

Peas and Crayons

Along with the meals I ate I also want to share with you something that will change the way you drink coffee. In the Paleo world, Bulletproof Coffee is huge and is all over the Paleo community. The problem with Bulletproof Coffee is that it is expensive, initially, to buy the ingredients needed to make this drink. The original Bulletproof coffee recipe consists of MCT oil, grass-fed butter and Bulletproof coffee beans. The Bulletproof coffee beans and MCT oil alone can run you $40, at a minimum. You can read the details on these ingredients, here. Maybe one of these days I will spend the money and make a real Bulletproof coffee, but in the meantime I will make a more consumer friendly version with ingredients I already have in stock. I have come across numerous other recipes that followed a similar concept, so I wanted to try one too!

WIAW# 17 whole30 week 3 eats

Iced buttered coffee (adapted from Stupid Easy Paleo):

  • {Kerrygold} grass-fed butter ONLY!
  • brewed coffee {HOT}
  • cream/milk/coconut milk/any other milk alternative

Instructions:

  1. brew coffee
  2. I used about 1-2 tsp of butter for every 8 ozs of coffee.
  3. use your immersion blender until butter has emulsified.
  4. place in fridge until ready to drink
  5. pour your cold buttered coffee over ice
  6. add a splash of half and half or any milk of your choice.

WIAW # 17 whole30 week 3 eats

Benefits of using grass-fed butter vs. grain-fed butter:

  • Grass-fed contains more K2 vitamins (fat-soluble)
  • Grass-fed has a Omega-6 to Omega-3 ratio of 1:1

Since making my first Iced buttered coffee earlier in the week I am officially obsessed with this drink!! You have to try it!!

Enough coffee talk! Let’s talk Whole30 and food!

Whole30 week 3

symptoms/mood/cravings:

Days 15-16: still felt good. no digestive issues. High energy throughout the day.

Days 17-19: for most of these 3 days my energy level drastically dropped. It was a feeling I haven’t felt in a long time. Even after my coffee in the morning I had no energy, lethargic, and no real motivation to get things done. By the time the afternoon hit I was done for the day.

Days 20-21: Finally I felt like myself again! I don’t know what happened during those couple of days but I was glad I had my energy back.

Was there a correlation between my non-paleo foods I ate and my drop in energy? If there was no correlation that it was a huge coincidence. I will be the first to admit I have not been as strict as I wanted to be for this Whole30, but I am quickly learning what foods work against my body. I hate that I even have to write this but in the last week I have had some ice cream, a bowl of cereal, some of my iced caramel macchiato and few other bites here and there. I feel like I have let the people in my Whole30 FB group down. I was the one that organized it and I can’t even follow it for 30 days. I than remember that I am only human and my goal was to tighten up my “diet” to help heal my gut and find what really works with my body (not against). I believe I have accomplished that goal. I learned that diary (in excess), gluten, and grains makes me uncomfortably bloated along with excessive gas. I noticed that my sleep was disruptive, hard to wake up in the morning and when the afternoon hit I would have no energy.

 

WIAW# 17 whole30 week 3

1. Polpette di Vitello {Nom Nom Paleo} 2. kielbasa + sautéed cabbage/onions + sauerkraut 3. {Applegate} chicken/apple sausage + pickles + Paleo coleslaw {The Clothes make the Girl} 4. {Applegate} salami + Paleo deviled eggs + black olives + pickles 5. sweet potato hash {Nom Nom Paleo} w/ fried eggs 6. {Applegate} beef hot dogs + sauerkraut + pickles + Paleo deviled eggs 7. strawberries and bananas 8. scrambled eggs + sage maple roasted butternut squash {Paleo Parents} 9. fried eggs + roasted beets + bacon

 

Before you log off make sure to pop on over to the link-up host, Peas and Crayons!

Have you ever had butter in your coffee?

Have you been fortunate enough to have Bulletproof coffee?

What do you put in your coffee?

Don’t forget to follow me! Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest

 

This entry was posted in New Recipes, paleo, Whole30, WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to WIAW# 17: What I ate…week 3 of my Whole30 {Bonus recipe: Iced Buttered Coffee}

  1. Karey at Nutty About Health says:

    Yes, I do feel like we need to be friends!! You’re eating primarily Paleo & whole REAL foods as well – and you like fatty Bulletproof style coffee… YAY!!! Too bad you don’t live near me or we could have lots of fun foodie adventures.
    Love the look of the iced Buttered Coffee… I’ll have to try it that way sometime. As you probably saw, I like MCT oil & ghee in mine, with a pinch of cinnamon on top. Great looking eats – making me hungry! 😉

    • Do you feel it is worth buying the MCT oil? Have you tried the Bulletproof coffee beans? Maybe one day I will make those purchases. I would like to give it a try! Thanks for stopping by!!

      • Karey at Nutty About Health says:

        I feel like it’s worth it to buy the MCT oil. I think that it’s metabolized slightly better than the coconut oil or butter. I get a big jar of the Now brand for only $14 at my local health food store, so not bad. It lasts quite awhile too.

      • Ok thanks! Good to know! I’ll look for it next time I’m at Sprouts.

  2. I don’t drink coffee at all! Am I a freak or what? 🙂 But I’m loving what you ate on day 7. Yum!

  3. I don’t drink coffee so I’m not likely to try this. Ever. I’m still reading up on Whole 30 but it seems odd to me that caffeine is okay when it causes headaches and nausea, not to mention other symptoms in some people. It seems like it doesn’t follow their four rules at all. Hmmm…you gave me something to research! 🙂

    • They suggest coffee in moderation or limiting to one cup a day. Every body is different in how caffeine effects them. The whole30 is based on whole unprocessed foods and finding the foods that work best with your body. Every one will be different in regards to what foods agree with their bodies and what doesn’t. I just purchased a couple really good books on Paleo and they outline that there isn’t just one framework that works for everyone. One of the books is called “Eat the Yolks” by Liz Wolfe. The other book is “the Ancestral Table” by Russ Crandall. There is really so much information out there on paleo and whole30 that I too am still researching new things. Good luck on your research! Thank you for stopping by! Let me know what you find out!

  4. I LOVE butter in my coffee! My new boss at work spotted it the other day and I (red-faced!) had to explain it. I’m sure he’ll come round to it in time! An iced version is a great idea – totally trying it (when the weather warms up again over here!)

  5. I used to add soy milk to my iced coffee, but that was before I started this new Whole30 kick. I switched over to half and half, but I definitely do miss having the added sweetness of soy!

  6. I always drink my coffee black and have never tried bullet proof coffee but I would love to and this recipe for the iced buttered coffee looks really yummy!!!!

  7. lindsay says:

    I’ve never heard of bulletproof coffee or butter in coffee..but very interesting. I just use soy milk in my coffee because I like the sweetness it adds.
    Every single one of your meals looks delicious!

  8. Pingback: Chocolate Chunk Frozen Cappuccino

Leave a Reply

