Confessions! Kettlebells! Ragnar! OH MY! {Bonus recipe: Apple + Onion Chicken burgers}

Confessions! Kettlebells! Ragnar! Oh My! {One mother of a Day}

Hi Everyone!

It’s me, Lindsey! Don’t worry, my blog has not been hacked!

You need some convincing?!

I love coffee, coffee, coffee and oh more coffee!

Now, do you believe it’s really me?

Okay, now that we got that awkwardness out-of-the-way. On to the real reason why I am here gracing you guys with my presence, I have been up to some exciting things recently in my life and wanted to share with you all.

Confessions.

First, the boring stuff. I’m still on my Elimination Diet, day 37 to be exact. It definitely has gotten easier with time. I have accepted the foods I can and can’t eat, for the most part. I have to tell you something, though. I have been keeping this a secret…..

Confessions! Kettlebells! Ragnar! Oh My!

I have had more than one iced pumpkin spice latte. My first one of the season was on my birthday, last week. I shouldn’t have even had that first one. I was doing so good regarding my Elimination Diet. Once I had that first sip, there was no turning back. This week I have had one Every. Single. Day. It isn’t because I really crave the taste, it is more out of habit. Prior to my birthday, I was doing great, I wasn’t even going to Starbucks. At one point I had cut back on my coffee intake for a WHOLE WEEK! I know. It was the roughest week of my life. Let. me. tell. you. Per the Elimination Diet guidelines, they “suggest” cutting out coffee all together. I gave it the good ol college try. I figure one week is the same as forever. Right?!

Okay okay. That wasn’t my only confession. I also had ice cream on my birthday weekend, which I couldn’t even finish because I got a really bad acid reflex thing happening. One of the positives about being on this diet is when I do eat something that is one of the excluded foods, and I have a reaction to said food, I know exactly what food was causing the reaction.

Lesson learned. It appears from these 37 short days, dairy is not my friend. Which is a huge bummer, because that is one category of foods that I really enjoy. I’m not going to cut it out completely but, now have to be more aware of the amount of dairy I have in a day.

 

12 runners. 200 miles. 36 hours.

Confessions! Kettlebells! Ragnar! Oh My! {One Mother of a Day}

Yes, that’s right! I’m going to be running my very first RAGNAR this coming November. Vegas here we come! Months ago, when this particular team was forming, I told them to put my name down as an alternate runner. At the time, 5+ months away from race day, I didn’t want to commit to something like that so far in advance. A couple of weeks ago, I got the call!! Actually more like the Facebook messenger alert. I hate that FB messenger by the way. I am soooooo excited that I am going to be a part of RAGNAR VEGAS!

When I was explaining to my hubby about the whole concept of this relay race:

12 runners, covering 200 miles in a span of less than 36 hours, potentially having to run 6 miles at 2am, when not running, hanging out in a van w/ 5 other people (you may or may not know), with little to no sleep, may or may not be able to shower after each run (leg), all your belongings are packed in little Ziploc baggies, and pretty much living out of a van for 2 days.

he looked at me and said, “you really want to do this?!”

 “YES, it sounds so fun!!!”  {ME}

“okay…whatever you want to do” {hubby}

 “obviously, we have differing definitions of what ‘fun’ is.” {ME}

 “obviously.”  {hubby}

Don’t worry, you will be hearing more about my Ragnar Vegas in October when I start training for it 🙂

Body Back Instructor!

For those of you who don’t know me in real life and/or don’t follow me on social media, in August I became a certified Body Back Instructor through the Fit4Mom program. I started training this current session that began at the beginning of this month. I did a couple team-teaching classes with the owner. This week was the first time I was completely on my own. I planned out all 3 of the classes I taught!

Here is a brief overview of each of the classes:

Tuesday: “Deck of Cards” {rounds} class

Wednesday: Circuit class–12 stations (TRX, ab roller, cardio, equalizer bars, medicine ball, kettlebell,  hand weights, sand ball, Bosu, and a stability ball)

Thursday: “Half-marathon” themed {rounds} class–9 different exercises–each “mile” consisted of a certain # of exercises

Confessions! Kettlebells! Ragnar! Oh My! {One mother of a Day}

Obviously, Thursday’s class was my favorite. I loved creating these workouts and planning out the entire class from start to finish. I loved even more when the classes were a success. A successful class to me is when the girls tell me they are sore from a class they took yesterday or 2 days ago, then I know I did my job!

So, there it is. The newest happenings in One Mother of a Day’s world.

Oh, can’t forget the most important part of this post. NEW RECIPE!

I asked on social media almost a month ago what recipes you wanted to see me post first on here.

The results are in: 1. apple & onion chicken burger 2. egg-free mayo 3. Easy peasy tuna salad 4. roasted Italian sweet potatoes 5. “fried” rice (egg-free) 6. homemade cashew milk

Voted by the readers, first up: Apple & onion chicken burgers!!

{Paleo} Apple & onion chicken burgers

{Paleo} Apple + onion chicken burgers

Final Product!

{Paleo} Apple + onion chicken burgers

Have you ever done a Ragnar Relay race? If so, which one(s)?

Is there a certain food you love but, your body does not? which one(s)?

Don’t forget to follow me: Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest

This entry was posted in Autoimmune Urticaria, Integrative Medicine, New Recipes, paleo, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Confessions! Kettlebells! Ragnar! OH MY! {Bonus recipe: Apple + Onion Chicken burgers}

  1. I did Ragnar Chicago in June, it was AWESOME and I can’t wait to do another one! Those chicken burgers look amazing as well. I love the sweet/savory things!

  2. fitnessmomwinecountry says:

    Congrats on Ragnar. I so want to join a team here in my area, so keeping my fingers crossed for next year. I love the deck of card game, that is one we do in boot camp class. I make turkey burgers or meatloaf for us and “hide” all kinds of great veggies in them that the kids don’t know about. 🙂

  3. Debbie @ Deb Runs says:

    You will love Ragnar! After just running Ragnar DC, I’m already ready for another one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

